We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would NEVER EVER stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would NEVER EVER stay here”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Completely military un-friendly. The "18 year old" that answered the phone at the Lancaster Arts Hotel was so completely rude I told her off (after being put on extensive hold twice and clearly inconveniencing her) and hung up on her. No one should be treated like that if they're willing to pay as much as she stated was "all that they had available" ($549/night---WHAT?!?!?). She's a liar b/c the website offered rooms for $199/night. All I asked her was if they had a military rate available and if there were any block rates left for a particular wedding? Seriously...that was all I asked. She acted like I was ruining her night and proceeded to treat me so rudely I wouldn't spend a dime in that hotel if I found a dime in the street out front. I have stayed all over the world and paid more than what they charge...and have never gotten such completely awful customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kegs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    214
    70
    28
    17
See reviews for
214
427
42
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I like boutique hotels, but not when they are too cliched, nickle/dime/expensive etc...

Lancaster Arts hits the mark. Beautiful restored factory building with high ceilings and interesting views in the rooms. very friendly and helpful staff. very nice free breakfast in the morning. Great thoughtful amenities in the room. subtle free parking garage attached, bar looked good. Very relaxing atmosphere. Great capture of the Lancaster laid back, friendly artisan culture. Building part of the architectural restoration renaissance of Lancaster. Location is in the F&M neighborhood, 2 min drive to campus. Away from the minor hustle of downtown.

Stayed in the normal Rt30 hotels across the years, but this will be my go-to hotel from now on.

Room Tip: The "suite" on the south end was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sachmogoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Checked in at 7:30 on an 80 degree night and no AC in room. Have stayed here dozens of times and never had a problem. The front desk response was wait 30 minutes and call back. The system never turned on, no one to fix it, no manager on duty, no relief. They offered a 50% discount if we stayed. It was truly uncomfortable and the staff was not able to change the room or cool the room. We left and went to the Marriott where we slept comfortably in a large, clean, quiet and cool room. Cancelled all future reservations. Goodbye Lancaster Arts. Hello Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wharton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed at the Arts Hotel while visiting Franklin & Marshall College with my daughter. The hotel is gorgeous and the room was very stylish. If we ever go back to Lancaster we will definitely stay there again. The breakfast is included and it was quite nice. We had lunch at The Fridge, right behind the hotel and it was excellent too. It was refreshing to stay somewhere nice that is not the same old cookie-cutter type of hotel. The only reason why I do not give it five stars is because the walls lack insulation and it is very noisy. Our room was next to the elevator, and we could hear it all the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with brick wall exposed and high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I want a comfortable and clean room with free wireless and a big tub. I need a place to work out, eat breakfast and park. Any problems should be handled right away with as little stress as possible. Is that a lot to ask for? Maybe, because usually I can find it. Yet somehow the Lancaster Arts Hotel was able to check every box on my list. They get it.

The room was immaculate and was kept that way throughout my 4 night stay. The hotel had an arrangement with the excellent Lancaster YMCA across the street that allowed me to never miss a workout. Every request was handled immediately and with a smile. Every question was answered honestly. This wasn't from just 1 person but from everyone who worked at the hotel.

On top off all that you get a funky room with interesting artwork on every wall. These guys should be hired by the big chains as consultants. Highest possible reccomendation

Room Tip: The lofts are very big. They could easily fit more than 2 if you are traveling with the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HecktorH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
520 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great and cool place, was skeptical that it might be amish chic or faux hipster but was it very comfortable and unique in a very good way. Brick walls, great bedding, nice suite type rooms, nice location, great restaurant with outdoor dinning, nice breakfast (complementary!) Bathrooms are clean and newer style, the bar is very nice and well stocked. good selection of microbrews. Neat minor league ballpark across the street and they were giving free passes the night we stayed. I highly recommend this place, you have nothing to lose. Great friendly and helpful staff especially the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here one night after a concert in Hershey PA. It was about 45 mins. from Hershey, but well worth the drive. The hotel and rooms are fabulous! Very artsy and charming. Room was clean, smart and we loved the original artwork everywhere. Our room also contained a sketchbook so you could contribute your own art to their collection!
Breakfast in the morning was really nice - more than 'continental' but with more than enough choices to satisfy.
The staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.
Unfortunately we couldn't really explore Lancaster but would love to come back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
561 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
6.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing