We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Experience-Not Just a Hotel Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Fletcher, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Experience-Not Just a Hotel Stay”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Enjoyable stay for all including our 4 and 7 year olds. The art is so welcoming, love the wood floors and high ceilings. Everything needed is available and then some. Had a wonderful recommendation for eating with young children and able to walk to the restaurant. The sketch pads in the rooms add just a little something more. The breakfast is wonderful and well thought out. Can't say enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernLivingNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    210
    69
    28
    17
See reviews for
210
417
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a Saturday night in August. It was our first stay and we loved it. The rooms are top notch, the décor is above all standards when it comes to hotels. The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The staff was super friendly and helpful when it came to suggestions of where to go and how to get there. We had drinks in the bar which was pleasantly romantic style atmosphere for a hotel bar. Only 6 blocks walk from the center of downtown where the Amish market is as well as many unique restaurants and some shopping. Roughly 10 mins drive from the tourist trap outlets with all the people, but still worth a short visit. This place gets an A+++ in our book.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 312 which was a huge suite... if you can do it, stay in here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainFreedom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

we were four people travelling together so the woman at the front desk suggested we take the presidential suite. it was huge, lovely and sleek with a nice kitchen area, a flatscreen tv in each room, and a jacuzzi (in the bedroom, which was a little weird). the king-size bed i shared with one daughter was supercomfortable. on the other hand, the pull-out sofa and the rollaway beds were quite possibly the worst night was my 20 year-old daughter and 75 year-old father respectively ever had of their lives. i was irritated because it would cost less to take two rooms and everyone could have slept comfortably. also, while the restaurant - the john jeffries (owned by separate managedment) - was amazing, the breakfast provided by the restaurant was worse than what you get a hampton inn. there were little to no organic, vegan or gluten-free options. also, when i complained about the pull-out beds, the woman at the desk agreed that their mattresses were a little thin but didn't offer any compensation. on the other hand, it was nice to find a boutique hotel in lancaster. however, tragically, there was no pool and not much of a gym - though there seemed to be a yoga place next door worth checking out.

Room Tip: avoid the roll-out beds or the sofa-beds. unless you don't mind VERY grouchy travel companions t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ameenameer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in a suite for two nights with two young kids under 5. The hotel is beautiful. Room was really nice and clean. We had a king size bed and the kids slept on the pull out sofa. The sofa bed was terrible. it was sunken in the middle and mattress was very thin. Kids didn't mind but a grown person would have been really uncomfortable sleeping on it. We had a room facing the street which was a little noisy. There are train tracks right by the hotel. Also you can hear everything coming from the room upstairs. The quests were up from 4.30 in the morning and you could hear every step and every word. It ruined out stay. Breakfast was just ok. Choices were limited. Bagels tasted like from a plastic bag... definitely not from a local bakery as well as waffles which were not made fresh daily but rather defrosted. Elevator was really slow and we didn't have a chance to check out the restaurant because the dress code was business.. not really a place to eat with kids. I gave it 3 stars because the hotel is really beautiful but would not stay there again. Not getting a good nights sleep is a deal breaker for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arobaczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After reading many reviews, I booked this hotel and was not disappointed. We stayed on the fifth floor and found it to be quiet and very comfortable. In fact, I would say it is the most comfortable bed we have found in any hotel we have ever stayed in. When making the reservation online, my request included a fan and firm pillows. They were both there on arrival. In addition, there was a red rose and chocolates - totally unexpected. The previous reviews we read prior to arriving prepared us for the location so we knew what to expect. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The restaurant (JJJ) on property was outstanding!! if going, don't miss a trip to Central Market or Sight and Sound Theater.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandKFairhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Lancaster Arts Hotel

What an interesting reuse of this historical building originally used as a Tobacco warehouse. The interior design is modern and quirky.
We enjoyed our 3 night stay very much in this conveniently located hotel. It was ideal for visiting the fascinating Amish countryside.
Some of the touches that made a positive difference were: free WiFi, breakfast included in the tariff for all guests, bottled water, red rose and chocolate complimentary every day.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annagram09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIDGE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked this hotel so that we could stay in downtown Lancaster, park the car and wander downtown. I was told by a hotel employee that there was many things to do there. However, I wasn't told that the hotel was not in safe walking distance to downtown. We arrived to the hotel an hour before we were able to cancel with no charge and on driving to see where downtown was, I cancelled. We stayed in the Amish Lancaster instead. Maybe sometime in the future we will try again, but not this time.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#19 of 39 in Lancaster
324 reviews
6.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing