We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a cookie cutter hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Terra Alta, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a cookie cutter hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I chose to surprise my husband with stay at the Lancaster Arts Hotel for a Valentine's weekend getaway. We purchased the romance package and everything was in the room exactly as described. The room was amazing and unique. The room was beautifully designed and the hot tub in the Loft Suite was so relaxing. The bed is so soft, fluffy and comfortable. If we get away again, we will definitely stay at the Arts Hotel! My husband does not really like to stay in hotels and he loved everything about it. Thank you for making our weekend special!

Room Tip: We had a suite right across from the elevator on the fifth floor and there was no noise for us. It i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    191
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
177
371
40
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DarienJim
Level Contributor
150 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I spent the night at this hotel recently when I have to go see my son at Franklin and Marshall and give a presentation. I was pleasantly surprised how large the room was spacious the bathroom was compared to other hotels. The staff was very accommodating when I checked it. Parking was east with a first floor parking garage attached to the hotel. My only complaint was that room 400, was facing out to the main road, which was very busy during the evening. I specifically requested a very quiet room since I have trouble sleeping, and this is the room the assigned me. Additionally, the walls seem to be particularly thin, as I could hear the person next to me talking on phone in their own room. Pleasant surprise was the bar adjoining the main lobby. Steve the bartender was particularly verse in the single malt scotches and set me up with excellent flights of scotch and local cheese. Made for a fun ending to the night. The bar surprisingly is open to midnight although it was very quiet on a monday night.

We have stayed at some other local hotels when we need to see our son at F&M and I will give this another try. Just need to get a room facing away of the main road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarienJIm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I very much enjoyed a few nights here. Great building/warehouse conversion. Exposed brick, glass, very nice finish. Felt like New York, without the pretentiousness!
Excellent restaurant also. Covered parking was nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scooterHat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great modern decoration - with art (for sale) all around. Rooms were very spacious. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Vending machine was a little hidden (had to ask front desk where it was) and a little tricky to use (folding doors I had not seen before) but sodas were only 75 cents.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LWS-NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, pa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you want something better than a change hotel this is the place, great unique hotel and close to everything. each room offers different things and the thai restaurant down the block is wonderful
A great town and an enjoyable place to stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster Arts Hotel for an overnight stay. I thought the room was very welcoming,inviting, and a good size. I loved the old brick walls and the wood floor. The room was very clean. I really liked the bathroom. Nice vanity area to store your stuff. There was some mold on the shower tiles. I have come to expect some level of mold in the bath area, though this was not excessive. I had read other reviews where they mentioned the thin walls. I do agree with that comment. Our stay was on a weeknight and excessive noise was not an issue, though we did hear the shower running from the room next door. The bed was a little soft for my taste. The room does have a wine fridge, which I have little use for. If I stayed longer, I would have requested a mini fridge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central n.j.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first visit to Lancaster as we came up for a family reunion. The room was spacious { you could have fit three New York City rooms in it] and very clean. I like the features that it had two sitting areas,windows that open[ I have sinus problems]and a very comfortable bed. I did not have to use my own pillow that I always take with me.The artwork and the special lightning added a nice touch.

One review stated that the hotel was too far from the city attractions.but I disagree. I am 80 years old and had no difficulty walking to the downtown areas and later to the college which was in the opposite direction.

I could not hear the trains from my room but wonder why the engines had to running when not being used.It seemed like a waste of fuel.

The breakfast buffet was better than most European types that I have had in the past.

I like the city and will stay at the Arts Hotel when I do.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arayCentralN_j_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington1, Director of Sales at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review of our hotel. We do our very best to make each guest experience here a great one! We love being part of downtown Lancaster and all that it has to offer. There are so many unique boutique shops, restaurants and art galleries, we feel proud to be a part of this vibrant City. Please come back and visit--we will wait for your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 1,770 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing