We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Interesting and fun stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Arts Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting and fun stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We decided to get out of town for a weekend and heard good things about the Lancaster Arts Hotel. The staff was friendly upon our arrival, and the rooms were nice with fun decor and good amenities. The food for breakfast is basic, but a great way to start the day. As other reviewers have pointed out, the one issue is the noise. You can hear people in the halls and in other rooms. Our view was also over the parking garage, which if they put a green roof on would definitely help the view. They encourage everyone to add their own artwork to the hotel collection too. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garett_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    190
    63
    22
    15
See reviews for
177
371
40
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel looks great! Common areas and rooms are stylish. Food was great although curiously slow. Daytime staff were great.

Late in the day we had to change rooms because the cigarette smell in our first room was too much, and the second room we were assigned was musty. Staff seemed displeased that we complained of the cigarette smell, so we didn't complain again..

The design of the hotel is very cool, but there are huge trade-offs. The walls are paper thin, so we could hear everything from every direction: the doors down the hall slamming will wake even sound sleepers. I have never had a problem sleeping - ever. Yet, the tv's in adjacent rooms were loud, babbling until late night. Some time after 1am I went online to look for another hotel, but I decided to stay and get work done and could sleep when return home the next day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMat1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a great place to stay, particularly if you have business at Franklin & Marshall College or the Lancaster Theological Seminary. Very close to both and within reasonable walking distance of downtown. It's clean, the staff are attentive and there are a lot of amenities (YMCA, breakfast, wifi.) Some people have complained about the noise caused by the Norfolk-Southern switching yard that's across the street. That will be going away soon. This part of Lancaster was once heavily industrial. In fact, the hotel itself and the buildings that surround it are reclaimed warehouses, foundries and the like. The railroad yard was a feature of those industries and is just about to be totally moved outside the city. Hang on! Soon the only noise will be the cheers from the 2 block away baseball stadium.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Argon321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland oh usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 5 days this fall. It was still baseball season, so i took advantage of the complimentary tickets to the Lancaster barnstormer's baseball game - about two blocks from the hotel. They also have complimentary access to the YMCA across the street. This YMCA branch is quite new and very full featured. A hidden add-on to the hotel. My room was small, but it had all the amenities I needed. A good high-speed WIFI (free), clean and quiet. Behind the hotel is a small set of shops and there are some very nice dining options within walking distance. The car park was a two story building attached to the hotel - if the ground floor is full there are lots of spaces on the second level. Also some spaces outside - all free. The complimentary breakfast was European - with food set out on a table - breakfast burritos could be microwaved for a warm meal - many juices, coco, pastries....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sogeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penndel, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent three nights in this hotel in July. Wow! Was I impressed. Great customer service. Free convenient parking. Complimentary taxi service. Free continental breakfast daily. Free use of the gym across the street. Room was unique and I just loved the complimentary toiletries. They even give you a make up removing wipe. I've never seen that before. Quiet, pleasant atmosphere. Adorable little bar, wish it stayed open a little later since we attending a local convention center every day and normally didn't return from the convention until midnight. Also the restaurant closed early every evening so I never got a chance to try it. Would have loved to try one of their August specials where they give you free tickets to their local minor league baseball game. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie_kalatucka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

First of all, the service sucks. We spent about 10 minutes waiting to be checked in. There was no line, just a man on the phone. Then we go to our room, its okay. At night there is an incessant banging sound coming from the railroad station down the road. So if you are facing the road, you will hear it. Don't forget about the paper thin walls. I could legitimately hear the conversation going on in the room next door. After complaining about the banging noise, while we are trying to get to sleep, the front desk decides it would be a good decision to call us at 10:15 telling us they didn't fix the problem. Service sucks, and you won't be able to fall asleep unless you are on heavy duty sleeping pills. Yea, its all artsy, not worth the price or what you get out of it.

Room Tip: Don't get one facing the street, you will be up all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington1, Director of Sales at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review. It is important for us to receive feedback, good and bad, so we can continue to strive to excel in meeting our guests' needs. We are truly sorry for what sounds to be an unpleasent experience at our hotel. We are in the process of taking action on the points that you address. We would like to extend an offer to come back at some point to give us another chance. You and all of our guests deserve to have a positive experience when visiting Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Sgtayed for two nights (Oct 10 &11). We were supposed to stay three but this plac e just didn;lt resonate with us. As previous reviewers have noted, there is the noise issue. While the rooms are nice, the couch is older and not particularly comfortable; the lighting is hardly adequate; and the bathroom amenities are limited. The shower is nice and big; love that you can open the window (as long as you don;lt mind the street noise); and the room was clean. Our reservation was messed up so check in took some time. And ;parking is a disaster (they share their garage with the adjacent restaurant...good luck in gthe evening finding a spot!).
Not a place we will hurry back to but for some, I am sure it is fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nhcouple090909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington1, Director of Sales at Lancaster Arts Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear valued guest,
We sincerely apologize that you did not have a complete positive experience with us. We want you to know that we are addressing your concerns, and are glad that you brought them to our attention. Should you find yourself in Lancaster again, we would enjoy the chance to make it up to you. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 1,767 reviews
5.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.5 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Property: Lancaster Arts Hotel
Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing