We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2012

It is really wonderful, charming, immaculate, interesting. Great substantial breakfast. And the staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful. When in Lancaster, check out Ma(i)son Urban Cookery, a fabulous restaurant within easy walking distance of the Lancaster Arts Hotel. Highly recommend that place too.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingnow82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 996 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

Service desk were very nice and helpful. We did the brewery package which was fun. Nice bonus is the hotel will hook you up with a cab with 5 miles for free. We ate at Checkers restaurant which was priced good and food.was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dexter67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2012

This hotel is completely worth the stay - it's easy to walk into town and the hotel facilities are top notch. We were particularly impressed with the room (I travel 200 days a year for business so tend to be a hotel snob) - the size, furnishings, linens, towels, service, breakfast offerings. Fabulous. Would stay here again definitely!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed here this week on a business trip. Enjoyed the architecture, the art, and the proximity to restaurants in town. The staff was very helpful.

One glitch-- the heat wasn't working properly in my room, so I had to move rooms after having unpacked. The room I moved to was fine.

Agree with others that the soundproofing isn't the greatest, but it's not terrible either.

Room Tip: Some in our party had rooms in the 'new section' and were envious when we described the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CindeeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This was our first time staying here. The architecture/ambience of this restored former warehouse got our attention and since it was located so conveniently to other sites that were on our "to see" and "to do" lists, we immediately decided that this was where we were going to be staying for our 3 day getaway over New Year's Eve.

To be honest, we actually were concerned that we would be "let down" when we arrived there as our pre-visit experiences with the staff were so unbelievably great. We thought that the visit itself couldn't match the service & attention that we received prior to our visit. We were wrong.........the staff was ALWAYS there to make dinner recommendations, to assist us with requests, and to pamper us throughout our stay. Whatever we needed, they provided..... plus more!

The room was beautiful.....the wall of original brickwork really added to its atmosphere. Each room is supplied with a wine refrigerator, but the staff provided us with a mini-refrigerator, so that was even better. There is a continental breakfast that is included in the rate......there is a good variety of foods/beverages offered, so that made an easy start for our days. With the economy, we have found that many of the hotels no longer provide a daily newspaper. There were newspapers available every day for us at the front desk. Turn-down service was offered each night with a special treat EVERY night....a pair of chocolates and a red rose! We were treated to hats, noise makers, and info about the local events for NY Eve. One small, but very noticeable, detail that I noted was that when we drank the complimentary bottles of water in the room, they were actually replaced daily. Usually once your bottle is gone, there is no replacement.

The hotel provides parking in their enclosed parking deck, so that was an added bonus. There are several great restaurants within walking distance of Lancaster Arts, so you don't even need to drive your car for dinner. Since LA provides complimentary taxi service within 5 miles of it (yes, that's what I said........unheard of, right???), you have a choice of driving, walking, or taking a free cab to local restaurants. What else can LA possibly do to top this?

Room Tip: If you like the brickwork, the rooms in the main building are the only ones that offer it. Also, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivinglifeinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The hotel itself looks quite nice and the rooms are appealing. There's beautiful art throughout the hotel. The breakfast is also quite good and the staff is great. Something to be aware of, however: the nice brick wall that makes up one of the rooms' walls is not insulated or soundproof enough to keep...noises...from neighboring rooms out. The poor soundproofing was our only complaint, though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TxAg03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here the week between Christmas and New Years because we had done the Amish sights many times but wanted to focus on downtown Lancaster's art galleries, boutique shops, churches, museums and Victorian houses. Like the other reviewers, we loved our the decor of our room (third floor) and the amazing bathroom with glazed glass doors, spacious shower, heat lamp, and fluffy towels & robes. These elegant rooms were complemented by a lobby with two leather chairs with backs shaped like tobacco leaves, and two couches with tables holding wooden tic tac toe boxes, chess set, art books to amuse guests. The conference room had stunning pictures lining it. They even had a Christmas tree with pink flamingoes! We had our own happy hour there drinking wine we brought with us.
This hotel is wine friendly, with not only real wine glasses but also a wine cooler with digital controls in the room. Very handy since a very nice Thai restaurant is a one minute walk out the front door, thru the garage on the left which is BYOB and also has complimentary wine glasses and no corkage fee. Parking is FREE with ample room and the Wi Fi is also FREE and not only works really well but you do not have to get some arcane password or do anything but click on the hotel's wireless network that popped up on our IPad.
The breakfast is also FREE and has cereal, bagels, burritos (there's a microwave) and even PLAIN yogurt (most hotels do not offer it) as well as the standard sugary fruit flavored ones.
Kudos also to Lancaster Arts for NOT penalizing guests who used Expedia unlike some hotels which restrict you to their worst rooms. We specifically asked for a room on the upper floors in the original warehouse and not the new ones over the garage and there was no problem. The staff was charming, friendly and eager to ensure your stay was pleasant.
I never trust five star reviews that don't acknowledge ours is an imperfect world, so be aware that our room had no closets, just a wardrobe armorie with limited space to hang clothes (we took out the ironing board and set it aside to make room for our coats) since it also has the only drawers in the room incorporated in the lower half. It was plenty of room for our one night stay but a week would have been challenging. Not a complaint since it did not affect us but a sign that I'm objective in my rating this hotel as EXCELLENT in every regard.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original warehouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CHARM2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
0.9 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#16 of 40 in Lancaster
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 40 in Lancaster
1,973 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Arts Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Arts Hotel

Address: 300 Harrisburg Ave, Lancaster, PA 17603-2938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $158 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Arts Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Arts Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing