We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Lancaster
Ranked #6 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Courtyard”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stay at Courtyard as often as possible when we travel because of their usual high standards. We were, however, very disappointed with the Courtyard in Lancaster. Check-in was done with Courtyard’s usual high standards. Leah, at the front desk, was very friendly and a pleasure to do business with. From there things went downhill. In our first room, the AC/heater had a very loud squealing noise. They moved us without question and comped the room. At that point we would have given the hotel the high marks we usually give Courtyards. However, when we arrived in our second room, the stopper on the bathroom sink was stuck shut. It appears this Courtyard depends on the reputation of others and delays maintenance as long as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vance2644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Vance2644, I want to thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I also want to apologize for the unacceptable state of the rooms that you were checked into. I can assure you that, as you said, not only does this not meet the standard of our brand, but does not meet the high standard to which we hold our property and our staff. Your feedback has allowed us to address these issues and to further coach our staff to see and anticipate these issues before they cause an inconvenience to our guests. I would really like the opportunity to discuss this with you in person so that we can make up for your less than satisfactory experience. The hotel’s phone number is 717-393-3600. I hope that you will be willing to give us another chance to earn your business the next time you are in Lancaster. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    152
    45
    5
    3
See reviews for
192
94
13
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We found this hotel to be extremely attractive. Our room was perfectly cleaned. The contemporary design was delightful. Our room was very quiet. The blackout curtains were the best we have ever experienced. Our only two criticisms are 1) we would have liked more coffee/tea in our room; 2) we thought the breakfast buffet very overpriced and chose to forego that service.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet location and our room was very quiet.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yucatan-Admirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was spacious and beds were very comfortable. The lobby area was really nice. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The courtyard area was really nice to relax in. Would not hesitate to stay there again. The linens were also very plush.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jeff264,
Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your interaction with our staff and the comfort of our rooms. We hope that you had a chance to enjoy the use of our fitness center and our newly renovated indoor pool during your stay. Thank you again for your willingness to share your feedback. We look forward to seeing you during your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatontown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was in the Lancaster area for a wedding. I had a regular room, 2 double beds. The room was spacious and clean. There was a mini fridge as well. I also was able to see the suite where the bride and groom were staying. Really nice with a private outdoor courtyard area. The front desk was very nice. The lobby bar closes too early though!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KP_SpeakerFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We really like the new look Marriott properties. This one fits the bill and is well located, although a bit tricky to find when exiting the highway. If you have a few bucks, eat at The Greenfield instead of the Route 30 joints.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Peter S,
Thank you for providing your feedback for the members of TripAdvisor. We apologize if there were any inconveniences finding the property, but we certainly are happy that you enjoyed the location and your stay once you were able to locate the property. The Greenfield Restaurant is a local jewel, and definitely a convenient restaurant, within walking distance, to enjoy a great dinner. We hope that you were able to enjoy lunch or dinner in our Bistro during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your experience. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have recently been staying a Courtyard hotels in the PA/NJ/NY area and really like them. We usually have a king room, which has included a sofa bed also. The design is very spacious. The bathroom also had a lot of space. Very nicely appointed. I also have to remark that this brand has the most outlets out in the open then any other hotel chain at which we have stayed in the recent past. I love not having to move furniture to plug in my cell phone at night or have it across the room on the desk.

The lobby is large with areas for relaxing and watching TV and their business center. There is a bistro that serves meals and has a bar.

The halls are well lit and welcoming. The staff friendly.

We are in the Lancaster area often and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArcheryFamily-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Took a drive up to Lancaster for the night and this was the only hotel that was not booked when we arrived. Once we got there, I was very excited to be charged a lower rate then I was quoted over the phone. Went into our room and it was perfect. More than enough room for my husband and I. The bed was comfortable and we were even able to sit together on the couch and watch TV for a little bit.
The bar was nice and we had a couple of drinks and had several options in which to enjoy them. At the bar, in the lounge with TVs in the booths, outside in the courtyard...
There wasn't any scenery to look at, but you don't really go to Lancaster for the scenery do you.
Great stay overall, will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorreaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear LorreaS,
Thank you for taking the time to share your “excellent” experience with the TripAdvisor community! We are glad to hear about your “pleasant surprise” at check in, and that you were able to enjoy our Lobby Bar. The access to the courtyard from the bar area is a wonderful feature when the weather is nice! I hope that you had a chance to enjoy dinner at our Bistro during your stay. We are very glad to hear that you plan to come back, and we are looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lancaster

Property: Courtyard Lancaster
Address: 1931 Hospitality Dr, Lancaster, PA 17601-6768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard by Marriott, Lancaster, PA, a hotel that offers spacious accommodations and award-winning service for a truly relaxing hotel visit. Located just moments from some of Lancaster, PA's most popular attractions, we offer a newly redesigned, modern lobby and free high-speed WiFi, both within and immediately outside of the hotel. Start your morning with a Starbucks coffee and tasty breakfast at The Bistro, or enjoy a signature cocktail there after work. Our state-of-the-art fitness center is the perfect place to lift weights or go for a run after a busy day in Lancaster, PA, and we're pleased to offer a heated indoor pool and spa, too. Corporate travelers will appreciate our hotel's close proximity to local businesses, including Lancaster General Hospital, RR Donnelley, Alcoa, and Armstrong. We're also convenient to Franklin & Marshall College, as well as great outlet shopping at the Tanger Outlets. We're the perfect choice if you're looking for a great hotel near Lancaster, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Marriott
Lancaster Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing