We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A higher end Courtyard for sure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Lancaster
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I admit I am a "Marriott Guy" bur have certainly written some scathing reviews when necessary. I am happy to say this is not one of them. This Courtyard is an excellent hotel. Very clean, very quiet, and a VERY friendly staff to accommodate your needs. I do wish there was more within walking distance, but even then the hotel offered to drive me where ever I needed to go.

One of the larger Courtyard lobby's I have seen and they offer both the new menu for breakfast as well as a buffet (I have not seen this before) .....

Do not hesitate to stay there

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear David P,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It’s always a pleasure to hear that a guest enjoyed their stay, but it truly thrills us when a guest recommends us to others. Thank you for your glowing review. Being in a business park, we aren’t within walking distance of shopping and other forms of entertainment, but we are in a wonderful location that boasts running trails and a beautiful park. Thank you for your compliment about our Bistro and Buffet. We are one of a few Courtyards’ that still have the buffet option and it’s great that our guests enjoy this amenity. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope that you return to stay with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 551 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at this Courtyard after a trip to Harrisburg/Lancaster and were pleased to find that the rooms are being renovated! This is one of our favorite hotels in the Lancaster area and this stay did not disappoint! The staff at this Courtyard are always very pleasant and helpful, the public areas are clean, and most of the rooms have been recently updated with new carpeting, wall treatment, and accessories. The room colors feel warm and cozy! The hotel is located away from the busy outlet traffic but is still close to shopping and restaurants. We are always pleased with the quality of this hotel and will continued to stay here when we are traveling to the Lancaster area!

Room Tip: King rooms with sleeper sofa have lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear McKatz,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. First off, Welcome back! We love when our guests return to stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We have been very fortunate to undergo renovations and it’s always great to see that guests love the new look. Thank you for continuing to make the Courtyard by Marriott your hotel of choice while you stay in Lancaster. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel provides a good experience overall. The lobby area is very active with meeting and eating locations. The evening offered a full bar and a knowledgable bartender, who suggested a great restaurant a short drive away. I thought the breakfast offered included a variety of healthy options. The rooms were well equipped and the workout room was very nice as well. The swimming pool was closed for renovations during my stay, but overall, I was pleased with this offering. The only thing I would change would be to suggest towels that were a little more plush! Overall, very good!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear jlearn,

I truly appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor Community. We here at the Courtyard by Marriott strive to make every stay a positive and memorable experience, so we are very pleased that we were able to accomplish this during your stay. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our healthy food options offered in our Breakfast Buffet and Bistro. I also wanted to let you know that we have finished our renovations on our pool so the next time you stay we do hope you take full advantage of this amenity. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we do hope that you stay with us on your next trip to Lancaster!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After traveling through the snow, we were warmly greeted at the Courtyard by Marriott. To our pleasant surprise, we stayed in a newly renovated room. They are currently working on renovating two more floors of their hotel Our room was very comfortable and had a very efficient layout. The decor was modern and the room was clean and inviting. Our room faced the morning sunrise although we would have never known this by the window treatments that kept the room darkened. Although we did not dine at the bistro, it was nice to know that there was food on the premises if we cared not to venture out in the winter cold.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcompoundsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear kcompoundsouth,

We thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay with the TripAdvisor community. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy their stay with us! We are very proud of our new layouts and we are glad that you find them comfortable and inviting. We do hope the next time you stay with us, you will take advantage of our Dinner offerings in the Bistro and enjoy some of our delicious Starbucks coffee. Again, Thank you for your testimony and we do hope that you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel was disappointing especially since we paid more for this hotel than others in the area, and expected more. Yes, the hotel seems to have been upgraded (the room was clean and upgraded) but it ends there. Breakfast was not included -- they charge $10.95 per person for a mediocre, at best, limited breakfast buffet (and some cooked items were truly gross). Otherwise, you can buy individual items at the Bistro. We tried to swim but the bottom of the pool was filthy. There is no excuse for that. Normally we take our own shampoo etc. with us when we travel but for the first time we decided to just go with the hotel's supply. That was a mistake. Yes, they have Paul Mitchell products but they give you 1 teeny tiny shampoo and conditioner (.7 oz) Really? One squeeze and you are done. There are no amenities for Gold members. There were absolutely no amentities justifying the higher cost for this hotel. We could have stayed at the Marriott/Fairfield Inn (which included breakfast) and/or had better value/amenity choices elsewhere in Lancaster for significantly less money. We won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hipNJmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear hipNJmom,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. I would first off like to apologize that your stay was less than extraordinary. The Bistro is a new addition to the Courtyard brand that we received during our lobby renovation in April of 2012 which features Starbucks coffee. We were one of few Courtyards that were also able to keep our breakfast buffet which gives our guests the option of an all-u-can-eat breakfast, or a made to order platter or sandwich. A large bowl of oatmeal with craisins, walnuts, and brown sugar is less than $4.00 and tastes great. I am disappointed to hear that you purchased something from our hotel that you were not satisfied with. I am happy to say that as of Friday the 1st of February, our pool has been completely resurfaced and is looking as good as the day it was built. What was perceived as dirt on the bottom was actually the plaster deteriorating and some iron stains. Our maintenance staff tests the pool daily and we have a company come in and test the pool weekly and we haven’t yet failed one of those tests for water quality. I do agree that it appeared dirty and that is the reason we decided to resurface it. The number of shampoos, soaps, etc. in each room is dictated by Marriott. We realize that they are almost single use sizes which is why we keep a lot on hand to deliver to our guests if they need more than what is in the room. A quick call to the front desk would have as many as you need delivered right to your door. With all of that said, it is still clear that you were not satisfied with your stay which to us, is not acceptable. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you about your recent stay and figure out a way that we can make it up to you. The number that you can reach me at is (717) 393-3600; just ask for Jeremy Geib. Again thank you for sharing your experience and I hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I always write a pros/cons list when staying at places and there weren't too many cons here.
We stayed here for what I felt was a fair rate. The rooms have been renovated recently and are nice- they even offer recycling which I love when hotels offer.
There was a nice seat in the shower to relax in and the lighting in the room was great- I don't comment on lighting often, but Marriott's lately have seemed to updated their lighting in rooms and it is really nice.
A beautiful courtyard that was really well kept, as well as the hotel in general.
After seeing the high price of their breakfast I went right down the road to a place that has the greatest Sticky Buns I've ever had. It is a little rig set up by the Visitor's Center- can't remember the name now, but you can't miss it, nor should you- GREAT!
Will stay here again when in the Lancaster area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovetotravel001_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Lovetotravel001_9,

We thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community and us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that our renovations are a success in your eyes. The sticky bun rig that you mentioned is called “Mr. Sticky” and they have the best sticky buns in Lancaster. While you did not have breakfast with us, its always great for our guests to enjoy one of our greatest local treats. Again thank you for sharing your great experience and we hope that you come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is fine, clean, quiet with recently renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. But the king-size mattress felt old, and the heat was excessively noisy. The hide-a-bed mattress was in terrible condition. No free breakfast. In fact they ask $10.95 for an average breakfast buffet. On the flip-side, the coffee was great. I'd return but maybe better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear BeMySamaritan,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad that you liked the renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. I apologize for the state of the bed and the sofa bed. I can tell you that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms which includes brand new sofa beds, so we would love for you to come back and tell us what you think. We strive to make every guests stay extraordinary, and any thing less is troubling. I would love to get a chance to speak with you about your stay. The number that you can reach me at is (717) 393-3600; just ask for Jeremy Geib. Again, Thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
829 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lancaster

Address: 1931 Hospitality Dr, Lancaster, PA 17601-6768
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $119 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard by Marriott, Lancaster, PA, a hotel that offers spacious accommodations and award-winning service for a truly relaxing hotel visit. Located just moments from some of Lancaster, PA's most popular attractions, we offer a newly redesigned, modern lobby and free high-speed WiFi, both within and immediately outside of the hotel. Start your morning with a Starbucks coffee and tasty breakfast at The Bistro, or enjoy a signature cocktail there after work. Our state-of-the-art fitness center is the perfect place to lift weights or go for a run after a busy day in Lancaster, PA, and we're pleased to offer a heated indoor pool and spa, too. Corporate travelers will appreciate our hotel's close proximity to local businesses, including Lancaster General Hospital, RR Donnelley, Alcoa, and Armstrong. We're also convenient to Franklin & Marshall College, as well as great outlet shopping at the Tanger Outlets. We're the perfect choice if you're looking for a great hotel near Lancaster, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Courtyard
Lancaster Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing