We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Lancaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Lancaster
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel is fine, clean, quiet with recently renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. But the king-size mattress felt old, and the heat was excessively noisy. The hide-a-bed mattress was in terrible condition. No free breakfast. In fact they ask $10.95 for an average breakfast buffet. On the flip-side, the coffee was great. I'd return but maybe better hotels in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeMySamaritan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear BeMySamaritan,

Thank you very much for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are glad that you liked the renovated lobby and restaurant/bar. I apologize for the state of the bed and the sofa bed. I can tell you that we are currently in the process of renovating our rooms which includes brand new sofa beds, so we would love for you to come back and tell us what you think. We strive to make every guests stay extraordinary, and any thing less is troubling. I would love to get a chance to speak with you about your stay. The number that you can reach me at is (717) 393-3600; just ask for Jeremy Geib. Again, Thank you for your feedback and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    139
    43
    4
    3
See reviews for
167
85
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for an incredibly cheap AAA rate on a Friday night ($88). Easy to find, check-in was smooth and the property was very clean. Was offered points of amenity at check-in as platinum, as well as given a coupon for a complimentary drink from the bar (open until midnight.) Room was nice, had a mini-fridge and lodgenet (huge plus for me). Good offerings in the pantry. Only (minor) complaint is that there was no adjacent food offerings, fortunately I had a big lunch and the pantry offerings were above average.

Fifth floor is currently (as of 12/21/12) closed for renovations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Andrew C,
We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It’s always great to hear when a guest truly enjoys their stay with us! I see that you were not made aware of our Bistro Amenity. I apologize for this. For future reference we do have a Bistro in which guests can purchase specialty Soups, Salads, and Sandwiches. It’s open every day from 5 pm to 10 pm. When you come back to stay with us we do hope that you try it and tell us what you think! As always we thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Have frequented the hotel on numerous occasions - silver Marriott rewarder. Usually quite pleased with facility and service. However, on our most recent business trip our buffet breakfast -scrambled eggs, etc. turned out to be ice cold. When I complained , I was told by the employee in charge that it was unfortunate, that she could have cooked us eggs by order. No offer to not charge or even reduce the charges were made. Several days later i receive a very lengthy Marriott survey to complete. I do so and therein outline the breakfast problem and never hear anything back from the Marriott management

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank greybees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Greybees, I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the members of TripAdvisor. It is disappointing to hear that we failed to meet your expectations during breakfast. While I am happy to hear that the Bistro attendant offered to remake your eggs, which would have corrected the problem, we should have followed that up with an offer to take care of the charge for breakfast. We try extremely hard to make sure all of our guests have a great experience while staying with us and it sounds like you have experienced that before. I would like the opportunity discuss this with you further to make up for your less than satisfactory stay with us. Please feel free to contact me at the Courtyard at your earliest convenience at 717-393-3600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio
Level Contributor
86 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Overall, everything was fine. The rooms were roomy and clean. The Bistro was especially nice and the food was quite good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's a bit far from town, but the direct route to downtown only took about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Paul S,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. While we are not located in Downtown Lancaster, we are glad that you found your way there with ease. We do hope that you were able to use are pre-printed direction cards to get to other areas that we are closer to our location. We appreciate you staying at our hotel and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Enjoy Lancaster in style.

The best part is the downstairs common area. The hotel offers sitting areas making it perfect groups. There are TVs incase famiy members can't agree and large tables for board games. There is on site bar and breakfast/Bistro.

There is a gas station with Subway, making it a great place. Try Mr. Sticky!

It meets all the Marriott standard, clean & comfortable beds/rooms, friendly services, well-kept pool and common areas.

Room Tip: Even when the hotel is full; don't worry, common area is large enough it still feel private. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear WGM12,
Thank you for sharing your great experience with the Trip Advisor Community. We are thrilled that we enjoyed our newly renovated Bistro/ Lounge Area. We strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible as they are away from home and we are so pleased that we were to accomplish this during your stay. We do hope that the next time you are in Lancaster, you chose to stay at our property again. Again we thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine FL
Level Contributor
639 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is another nice Marriott property that is close to some shopping and only a few miles from downtown. I found the staff to be friendly and well trained.

I stayed in one of there one bedroom suites. It had a frig and microwave.

I will keep this on my list to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregbooras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear gregbooras, I wanted to thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. We agree that our location provides quick and easy access to all of the great things to do in Lancaster. As a Platinum Marriott Rewards member, you surely have had the opportunity to stay in many different Marriott properties and it is nice to hear that we met the expectations you have for the Marriott brand. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Lancaster.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed three nights here just prior to Thanksgiving 2012.

The hotel appears to serve primarily business travelers as there are mostly businesses and offices nearby.

Being a holiday week there were few people there beside us and the hotel was very quiet.

While it is located in the Lancaster area and is very nice it is probably not the best choice for people who wish to be near the tourist areas just east of the city.

The hotel was very clean, in a [n otherwise] good location and what little interaction I had with the staff was very positive.

We discovered after checking in we were supplied with only one bath towel and the young man at the front desk was more than happy to track down a few more for us.

Speaking of towels, I guess my only [slight] negative is that while new the towels were amazingly thin and cheap looking.

The front desk also had a nice policy where they would give guests a printed card with directions and contact information to area restaurants, attractions, stores etc. This was very handy and they seemed to be able to pull out a card for just about everything.

There were several computers in the lobby area with free internet. There was also a printer for airline boarding passes and that service appeared free also. Compare that to huge add-on charges for these things in places like Vegas and LA.

The hotel has a pool but being November we weren't exactly interested and I think it was closed for the season anyway.

There was plenty of free parking and the room and bathroom were reasonably spacious and there was a sofa bed in addition to a king.

For a great dinner I recommend the nearby Greenfield Inn.

I don't pay full rate for anything so I doubt I'd come here again unless I got another good hit on Priceline.

I definitely recommend the hotel and while it is acceptable for tourist travelers it seems more appropriate for business travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MT5211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy G, Manager at Courtyard Lancaster, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MT5211, Thank you very much for sharing your review with the TripAdvisor community. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us before the Thanksgiving Holiday. The direction cards are actually a Courtyard standard that we have taken full advantage of. We do seem to have a printed card for just about everything in Lancaster which makes it easier for our guests to experience all of the joys our county has to offer. The next time you are staying with us, be sure to pack your bathing suit as our indoor pool is open year round and kept at a temperature of about 86 degrees. The boarding pass station is yet another great amenity that you will find at all Courtyards. Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#3 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
5.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
#11 of 37 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Lancaster

Property: Courtyard Lancaster
Address: 1931 Hospitality Drive, Lancaster, PA 17601
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Pennsylvania Dutch Country and the surrounding area, choose the Courtyard by Marriott, Lancaster, PA, a hotel that offers spacious accommodations and award-winning service for a truly relaxing hotel visit. Located just moments from some of Lancaster, PA's most popular attractions, we offer a newly redesigned, modern lobby and free high-speed WiFi, both within and immediately outside of the hotel. Start your morning with a Starbucks coffee and tasty breakfast at The Bistro, or enjoy a signature cocktail there after work. Our state-of-the-art fitness center is the perfect place to lift weights or go for a run after a busy day in Lancaster, PA, and we're pleased to offer a heated indoor pool and spa, too. Corporate travelers will appreciate our hotel's close proximity to local businesses, including Lancaster General Hospital, RR Donnelley, Alcoa, and Armstrong. We're also convenient to Franklin & Marshall College, as well as great outlet shopping at the Tanger Outlets. We're the perfect choice if you're looking for a great hotel near Lancaster, PA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Courtyard
Lancaster Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing