We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

The desk staff were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The room was nice and the beds comfortable, but I have to agree the bathroom is a bit small. It was really nice to have the fridge though I wouldn't have wanted to put a large takeout box in it. I did miss having a microwave available but hopefully that will change as the renovations continue.
The continental breakfast was a bit sparse but hopefully will expand a little as time goes on. Maybe hard boiled eggs, a few more cereal choices, and other fresh fruit. I did enjoy the banana that I grabbed on the way by. The muffin I had was excellent.
It was a nice moderately short walk down to the convention center so I didn't feel I had to incur lots of extra parking charges driving there. I also enjoyed eating at a couple of the local restaurants. One minor frustration was no Queen St. entrance and I got a little lost my first time I headed out walking.
I too wasn't happy with the "event" going on at I guess a local bar's back yard because I could hear words well inside my room and the bar was 2 blocks over and 7 stories down!
I would definitely return.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
2  Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 349 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

Have stayed here before - it's a very convenient location - the hotel itself is clean and the staff hospitable and helpful. Rates are reasonable and with the convenience of a mini fridge in the room, a trip to Central Market is essential!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suesboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

I booked this hotel after seeing it and the reviews over the internet for a group of 48 people. Very nice and clean hotel. John Thomas and Tom Showalter were very helpful in assisting me with our group reservation. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful as well. A few of our younger travelers were disappointed that there was no pool, but we made it up to them by taking a walk and seeing some of downtown Lancaster after the sun went down. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Irene622014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Awesome staff, Clean rooms, Hospitality was Amazing, Front desk was very Helpful and Courteous, and the BEST part for my Group was Biker Friendly. A HUGE plus for my group considering we travel a lot across this Beautiful Country.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The front desk was very courteous and helpful...definitely the highlight of our stay. Our room was spacious and equipped with a mini fridge which was a plus. The king size bed was decently comfortable . However, the bathroom was a little tight and the TV was seriously outdated. The location was close to many restaurants and right across the street from a coffee house. But there were some "shady" parts close by. The courtyard adjacent to the hotel and public parking seemed abandoned and wasn't really kept well. For the price of the room, it gave us just what we needed...nothing more, nothing less.

Room Tip: Try to request a room away from the elevators. My room was across from them and I can still hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Adam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for only one night as we visited the Amish area of Pennsylvania. We arrived mid morning after a short drive from Washington DC, and as expected we were too early to check in. No problem the staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful. We had planned to do an organised tour but the guy on reception gave us a detailed map and directions which meant we probably saw more driving ourselves than if we had paid for a tour, he even rated restaurants for us to stop in for lunch.
The hotel itself was great, the rooms clean and comfortable and very spacious, we had a room with 2 queen size beds and lots of room to spare.
Across the road is the 'Federal Taphouse' bar a nice clean friendly place for a drink and dinner.
Being an inner city hotel there's no parking onsite, but there is a multi level car park right next door that charged $17 or 24 hours or there is free street parking, we took the $17 option.
If there was one thing that was a little below par it was the breakfast, not the greatest even for a continental breakfast, but it is free and it filled a gap.
We enjoyed our stay here and would have liked to have stayed longer, definitely recommend and will be my first choice if we return to the beautiful Lancaster County.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The best staffs I have ever met! Considerate, attentive, efficient. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable... Just the kind of hotel you'd hope for after a long drive. Yes, there is a pub across the street, but if you'd like to enjoy the downtown and stay in the center of the city, this may be something you need to tolerate. The breakfast is simple, but they serve local bread and yogurt which I think it's very unique and genuine! I will definitely recommend to anyone looking for a stay in Lancaster.

Stayed: July 2014
5  Thank Michie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
584 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
819 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Address: 26 E Chestnut St, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602-2702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $113 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing