We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We'll Be Back!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Lancaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Lancaster to your Saves list
The Hotel Lancaster
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26 East Chestnut Street, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

What a great hotel. Clean, pretty furnishings, really quiet (we were across from the elevator and ice machine and heard nothing), very friendly and helpful staff. Thanks Tom!

Being downtown is much more interesting than being out in Amish Country.

We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    73
    42
    12
    15
See reviews for
59
68
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I loved, loved, loved this hotel, it was clean, comfortable, and completely accommodating. The staff was great and totally helpful as well. The best part is the location, it's surrounded by great restaurants, bars and the Central Market. Stay here

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraGPeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I arrived on the friday b4 memorial day & stayed until Monday morning. The room was extremely comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The staff were very professional and accomodating. I'd definitely go again if I had to stay in Lancaster. The location was ideal beacuse of the buzzing night life in the area a lot of great restaurants and bars that are a lot of fun.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 9th floor so I didn't hear any noise from the street level. The hotel doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very friendly staff. Nice room. Pleasant atmosphere. Great free breakfast. I had to take a cab to the train station and instead of calling me a cab one of the directors at the hotel drove me. Really down to earth great people. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here the weekend of April 25th, 2014. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, the beds were wonderful. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. Continental breakfast was comprised of foods from the area which we enjoyed. All in all it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice looking lobby. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Decent continental breakfast. Coffee was mediocre.

It's really convenient to everything in downtown Lancaster and easy to get to places outside of the city as well. A very friendly man chatted briefly with me in the the lobby only for me to find out later he was the owner! It was nice to see the owner is hands on and works there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our local non-profit held a Regional Training event at the Hotel this past weekend and it was a great experience! Our out-of-town guests were extremely pleased with the quality of service and the accommodations, and the conference area and service were wonderful. John and Lori were there to answer any questions and to meet our every need. I would encourage anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in the heart of Lancaster, to try the Hotel Lancaster.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
0.5 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Property: The Hotel Lancaster
Address: 26 East Chestnut Street, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Odigeo so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing