We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Lancaster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff and great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I arrived on the friday b4 memorial day & stayed until Monday morning. The room was extremely comfortable, clean, and well maintained. The staff were very professional and accomodating. I'd definitely go again if I had to stay in Lancaster. The location was ideal beacuse of the buzzing night life in the area a lot of great restaurants and bars that are a lot of fun.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 9th floor so I didn't hear any noise from the street level. The hotel doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    73
    42
    12
    15
See reviews for
60
69
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very friendly staff. Nice room. Pleasant atmosphere. Great free breakfast. I had to take a cab to the train station and instead of calling me a cab one of the directors at the hotel drove me. Really down to earth great people. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed here the weekend of April 25th, 2014. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, the beds were wonderful. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean. Continental breakfast was comprised of foods from the area which we enjoyed. All in all it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Nice looking lobby. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Decent continental breakfast. Coffee was mediocre.

It's really convenient to everything in downtown Lancaster and easy to get to places outside of the city as well. A very friendly man chatted briefly with me in the the lobby only for me to find out later he was the owner! It was nice to see the owner is hands on and works there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Theresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Our local non-profit held a Regional Training event at the Hotel this past weekend and it was a great experience! Our out-of-town guests were extremely pleased with the quality of service and the accommodations, and the conference area and service were wonderful. John and Lori were there to answer any questions and to meet our every need. I would encourage anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in the heart of Lancaster, to try the Hotel Lancaster.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingdale, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I booked the Hotel Lancaster because it was close to the venue where I was seeing a band. The hotel staff were very friendly and told us about good places to eat. The hotel was clean and the room was clean. If I had one thing to say it would be that it is a smoke free hotel. Other than that I had an enjoyable time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is a terrible choice. I am usually pretty easy going and relatively easy to please but I have never been so poorly treated in such a poorly run place. First off, they would not honor a pre-arranged group rate - the owner would not get off a nearby couch to even talk with us and the other manager would not come down to the front desk from an upstairs office. Really poor/non-existent customer service! The linen was dusty. The carpets were stained. The window was filthy with bird poop on the outside. It was also terrible quality so we listened to noise from the bar down the street all night. The television was tiny with poor reception. One day, they made one bed but left the other unmade and only half the room cleaned. Both days, they did not take out the garbage. The elevator outside our door was very noisy and stopped randomly on floors. The staff does not seem to know the basics about customer service. Save yourself a terrible, sleepless night and book somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LisaMM1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S, Guest Services at The Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Ms. LisaMM1997,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are sorry to hear you feel you received terrible service. As you can see from previous reviews that is one of our main focus, good customer service.

We are sorry you feel that we would not honor a pre-arranged group rate. Typically when we block a group of rooms there is a required cut-off date for guests to book their rooms in order to receive the group discount. During your conversation with one of our managers on the evening of your check-in about the rate, one of the coaches for your teams was present and stated there was a block of 20 rooms and had you booked on time you would have been able to receive the group rate as it was first come first serve. When the coach decided to move things around and put you in one of the already blocked group rooms you were informed at that time that it was past the cancellation for your original reservation and would be charged the cancellation penalty. It was mention you were going to stay Sunday evening and would it be possible to just move the reservation there which was done.

I personally inspected the room you stayed in and did not see any stains in the carpet.

I am not sure how your room was only cleaned half way since your Do Not Disturb Sign was up for the days of your stay making it impossible to get into your room to clean it. Our Housekeeping Manager made several rounds throughout the day inspecting rooms and notes all Do Not Disturb Signs and the time of day they were on. Before they leave the floors each day, they verify Do Not Disturb Signs.

Ms. LisaMM1997, I was prepared to speak with you about this at check-out but, you dropped your keys off and left. I would sincerely like to discuss this further with you if you could contact me directly.

Tom Showalter
Guest Services
The Hotel Lancaster
717.394.0900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
0.5 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
3.5 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Lancaster

Property: The Hotel Lancaster
Address: 26 East Chestnut Street, North Queen & Chestnut Streets, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Downtown Lancaster and stay with us, The Hotel Lancaster! We're the perfect location for your business, leisure and romantic trip to Lancaster. Enjoy free WIFI, a free "Lancaster" continental breakfast and our crisp newly designed and spacious rooms. Relax in our bright new lobby and enjoy the very best of our historic Lancaster neighborhood, featuring dozens of restaurants, museums and cultural sites! Plus, The Hotel Lancaster is the closest independent hotel to the Lancaster Convention Center, and footsteps to the Fulton Theater, Central Market and many nearby corporate Headquarters. Spooky Nook, Sight & Sound, Amish attractions and outlet shopping are minutes away from The Hotel Lancaster! Come be our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your The Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing