We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Worth The Hype”
Review of Bob Evans

Bob Evans
Ranked #318 of 572 Restaurants in Lancaster
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Discover Farm-Fresh Goodness
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
408 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Hype”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

So this was another restaurant that I had to try if I ever saw since I'm a huge fan of their frozen mashed potatoes. Luckily, I was on a vacation in Pennsylvania and had my pick of them! I ended up stopping at the one in Lancaster because it was next to some interesting outlets.

It really reminded me of a cheesier version of IHOP and a lesser version of Cracker Barrel. The menu was not that extensive, but the prices were cheap. My friend's meal looked like a frozen tv dinner and was gross. My meal looked like they dumped a boiling hot cup of chicken noodle soup over a mound of coolish mashed potatoes. Gross. I have no idea how this place is so popular.

Would I go back? No thank you! Will I continue to buy the frozen mashed potatoes? Definitely!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank quiet_wave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    5
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“good dinner”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We ate there on a busy Sunday before going to the American Music Theater across the street for the Christmas show. We were able to be seated quickly. The meal was very good. Even our child enjoyed her meal. The price was reasonable. The waitress brought extra biscuits for the child even though it didn't come with her meal because we were sharing ours with her. We would eat there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bjt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not in my area”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We were in Lancaster and ate here. We do not have Bob Evans in our area. Great food and plenty of it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkInNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fine for a quick bite”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stopped for lunch on our way into Lancaster. Restaurant was cute and service was quick. Nothing special, but affordable and decent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GraceAnnsMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whiting, New Jersey
Level Contributor
127 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Uninspiring”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is our second dissapointing visit. We love their restaurant, but this one is not up to their standards.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Evans also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Bob Evans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing