We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the Line Menu with Prices to Match!”
Review of Gibraltar Grille

Gibraltar Grille
Ranked #45 of 569 Restaurants in Lancaster
Price range: $23 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Race Avenue
Description: New American, Mediterranean Influenced, Locally Inspired... Gibraltar delivers an extraordinary dining experience for every occasion or no occasion at all. Casual elegance in a relaxed manner reminiscent of a seaside Mediterranean resort, spacious, window-lined dining rooms and a beautiful garden patio provide a perfect setting. Boasting a superior ZAGAT food rating of (26/30 - '13 Philly Survey) the cuisine is as beautifully presented as it is delicious. Inspired by the seasons, utilizing the best ingredients, at the peak of freshness, from the fertile PA Dutch Country and around the globe, line-caught, wild fish and shellfish flown in daily, prime beef, local organic poultry, lamb and fresh local produce, Chef Vitale and his staff create delicious and inspired dishes. An award winning wine list offers nearly 250 selections to further enhance your experience.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top of the Line Menu with Prices to Match!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Gibraltar bills itself as Lancaster County's only Zagat-rated restaurant. It is quite excellent, the menu is loaded with outstanding choices, from beef and lamb dishes, to a wide range of seafood choices. Our waiter was attentive from start through finish, and was very knowledgable about the wine list.

However, the prices are out of control!! At $31-$50 per entree, this is probably a special-occasion rare treat for most folks. I am amazed that a place like this, with prices more in line with Center City Philadelphia or NYC, manages to stay afloat in these economic times in a smaller PA 'burgh like Lancaster. It's convenient to the heart of the F and M campus--certainly the students can't afford to eat here;-)!

Food is delicious, but think they could do what they do just as well by pricing entrees a little lower! We had a great dinner, but for a family of 4 (with 2 teenagers), it was not exactly in our budget. Given the gourmet menu and sophisticated ambiance, I would not recommend this place for anyone with very young children.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank familiaqueviaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    50
    22
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
662 reviews
378 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“good food, high prices”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Gibralter. The food and service are consistently very good, and the wine list is particularly excellent with many reasonably priced wines. (Our waiter needed a bit more training on the wines and to be reminded of the benefits of writing down the order.) The rack of lamb was disappointing, however: 3 under-cooked lambchops for $34. The vegetables, salads, and octopus were terrific, as was the fish special ($28 but worth it).

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank X-NYr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Gibraltar”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This restaurant is a Lancaster favorite and mine too! Food is always good, impeccable staff and friendly, easy going atmosphere. Try the seafood dishes. I have never been disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific food; lousy service”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I went to Gibraltar this evening, our first trip to this restaurant. When we arrived, everyone was friendly, and we found the atmosphere inviting. The only negative to the ambiance was that it was really cold in the restaurant, which made it somewhat difficult to relax and enjoy the experience. However, the food, from appetizer to dessert, was terrific! We shared the grilled octopus appetizer, which rivaled the grilled octopus we had had in Greece. My wife had the tuna, and she raved about all the food on her plate. I ordered the lump crab carbonara, and it was great.

The major drawback to the dining experience was the service. Our waitress was pleasant, but very scarce. While we were in no rush to get out the door, we found the intervals between her few appearances to be entirely too long. It took a long time to get our initial drinks, and the time between appetizer and entree was excessive, but bearable. After we finished our entree, we waited quite a while until she reappeared and brought a dessert menu. We both ordered coffee, and it took a while until that came. I wanted a refill fairly quickly, but she was nowhere in sight. When we finally flagged her down, she said she'd bring more coffee. It was 15 minutes until she reappeared, only to tell me that she would bring my coffee "in a minute". Once we finished our dessert, it was once again a long time until we saw her again. She brought the bill, and it was incorrect (not a big deal). I asked her to correct it, and gave her the credit card. It was another 10 minutes of just sitting around -- empty coffee cup, with no hopes for a refill -- until she returned.

I'm hoping that this poor service is an anomaly. I'll give this place one more shot because the food was terrific.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Interimwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gem(Best) of Lancaster restaurants”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was on the business trip in Lancaster area last week and after successfully finished project decided to celebrate. Browsing the web for seafood restaurant found Gibraltar in Lancaster on 931 Harrisburg Pike. I placed the reservation online through http://www.opentable.com/gibraltar?scpref=114. It worked great. Staff was friendly, accommodating and professional. Staff provided superb and prompt service. Wine list was outstanding. I ordered whole fish (Whole Adriatic Sea Branzino (cooked mediterranean style, on the bone, to preserve flavor & served whole or filleted with roasted yukon gold potatoes, grilled asparagus & local tomato/olive/white wine sauce)). Fish was amazing. Will definitely come back when will be in this area.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibraltar Grille also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Gibraltar Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing