We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all good”
Review of Gibraltar Grille

Gibraltar Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Gibraltar Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 579 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Race Avenue
Description: For twenty years Gibraltar has delivered extraordinary dining and magnificent memories, offering the ideal setting for the perfect special occasion, or no occasion at all. Casually elegant, inspired, fresh and ever changing, we’ve refined the traditional Gibraltar style you’ve come to love, and invite you to experience the evolution. Gibraltar offers a stunning wine bar and lounge area, where good company abounds, and new friendships await. Enjoy 25 wines by the glass, a unique wine list, expertly crafted seasonal cocktails and a selection of fresh, local craft beers on tap to enhance our celebrated raw bar, bar menu or full dinner menu. Join us in our relaxing, contemporary new home, conveniently located in the Shoppes at Worthington, just off the Oregon Pike
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“It's all good”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Four of us ate here last night. The food, wine and service were all excellent. It was my 4th trip to Gibraltar in the past few years and each time it was a memorable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    55
    25
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Overall very good.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Quite a nice place near the college, located in ground floor of on office block so high ceilings and windows which can give a place a barn-like feel. However it was nicely divided up and there was the option of an outside table well away from the busy street.

Service was friendly and attentive but we did have a very long wait (close to an hour) between our appetiser and our main.

Our appetisers of shrimp cocktail comprised 6 large succulent shrimps with two dipping sauces – classic spicy cocktail sauce and, I think, a tartare sauce. My wife enjoyed very much her entrée of crusted halibut with basil potato. My rack of lamb was large (5 large cutlets) and done perfectly. I wasn’t crazy about the accompanying potato dish and broccoli shoots but that was probably just me.

Our Californian Syrah at $44 (Voss I think) was delish – there were many other less and more expensive options.

Overall very good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank El_Timon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED ILL PREPARED FOOD.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

First experence stay with you so hopefully this will be a warning to others. Went for lunch around 2pm and the restaurant had only a few patrons eating. We were seated and had to wait 10 minutes before we had a server come by. Ordered our food which were kobe beef burgers done medium and came with fries. Order took a half hour to arrive and the burgers were done so much it was like a hockey puck.
waiter never came back nor could be seen for 10 minutes. Ate most of it while waiting and when the waiter appeared he then asked how was everything and we both explained and showed him our puck and told him we didn't have time to wait another hour for a new burger. he said sorry and left.
That should have been our que but like awed fools we ordered desert ! Some people never learn---after that i hope i did !
Had way better service and 50 times better burger at a Red
Robin for half the price and 10 times quicker. Don't waist your money or time !
Jim T. Lititz pa.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fine food in a strange location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Gibraltar was very good. For the area it is more expensive than most, but it was worth it. Service was impeccable. The interior atmosphere is very nice, but the overall location seemed odd. It is in the back of an office building and the restrooms are in the main office building hallway which is located outside of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tonya and Gregg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Divine Dining”
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Do not miss this awesome seafood restaurant! We had calamari and tuna tartare for appetizers -- both to die foe, including the presentation. The heirloom tomato and mozzarella salad was a disappointment because the tomatoes were not ripe enough, but the arugala and endive salad with pears and candied walnuts was perfect. And then there was the main course -- Maine lobster fettucine. OMG best pasta I ever had. Good thing we split because even a half portion was generous. Why we thought we had room for dessert after all that is beyond me, but we did and happily so, as the red velvet concoction was beyond delicious. Our server was very good, and we dined outside so enjoyed the full moon, fireworks show at the nearby baseball stadium, and were intrigued by an orb weaver spider who spun a huge web as we dined. Amen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BGElisabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibraltar Grille also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Gibraltar Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing