We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids and adults”

Lancaster Marionette Theatre
Ranked #18 of 72 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Lancaster Marionette Theatre is one of the few marionette theatres in America, located in Historic Downtown Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Robert Brock, the founder and Artistic Director, keeps this unique art form alive and well. He creates all the marionettes used in HIW productions, writes the scripts and music and performs in his unique one-man style. His humor appeals to children, as well as grown-ups. The John Durang Puppet Museum is open before performances. John Durang was the first puppeteer to be born in the USA. He was born in Lancaster in 1768. Backstage tours are given prior to every performance.The Marionette Theatre welcomes field trip groups. We hope to see you soon at one of our exciting shows. Thanks for visiting!
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Loved the backstage tour, the show was awesome and it was fun for BOTH kids and adults!! Rob Brock and the Hole in the Wall Puppet Theatre are a must see for anyone living here or visiting the area. Hats off to this gem!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
1 review
“Our first but not our last visit. ”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited the Theatre in December and we loved it! We highly recommend everyone to go and experience this Jewel in Lancaster.

Helpful?
Thank Edwin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If my brother and nieces didn't live in Lancaster, Hole in the Wall would be worth the return visit by itself. Robert Brock is brilliant.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Khcarls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a great show!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went and saw Cinderella's Christmas and the show was wonderful as usual. If you happen to live in Lancaster or are just visiting, this is a fun, unique experience for you and your children. It is very quaint and a "throwback' to simpler times but Robert always makes the stories/songs upbeat and up-to-date. You will be sure to laugh!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oncdoc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This theatre is singular. All the marionettes are made by hand by the proprietor Robert, who is also the performer. The theater is vest-pocket size and very friendly. They do many children's performances, and have occasional adult-oriented shows. Those are not XXX, just not characters appealing to kids. I saw his version of Judy & Liza, with both marionettes and human performers, and it was a lot of fun. It is so cool when someone finds a unique role in this world as Robert has done!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Imabizzybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancaster Marionette Theatre also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Lancaster Marionette Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing