We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derwood, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Your search is over. Our stay here was delightful. Scott and Diane have thought of everything, and you'll feel right at home from the moment you arrive. We've stayed at several B&B's over the years and were wowed by our experience here. Plenty of thoughtful touches, delicious snacks, a lovely home and helpful hosts. And the location is perfect! Close to the charming town of Lititz, and convenient to Lancaster. Diane is a fantastic cook, so be sure to leave plenty of room for breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Loved your opening line! The both of you were delightful to talk with, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're definitely hoping to have you back as our guests again sometime soon, and now that you know more of all that Lancaster County has to offer, it will make your stay even better! Thank you for a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    19
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
81
275
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

Came for the weekend to see the countryside of Lancaster and absolutely loved staying at EJ Bowman house. Diane and Steve were such wonderful hosts and were extremely helpful with information about what to do in the area. They cooked a lovely breakfast and were so pleasant to talk to. We will definitely be back to stay! Would highly recommend staying here. (And the oatmeal creme brûlée for breakfast was delicious!)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonLK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing us. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests, and we would love to have you back anytime, there is a lot more to see here in Lancaster County! Good luck with your running, and the upcoming race. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sykesville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I visited this past weekend & had a perfect stay! Scott & Diane were extremely hospitable...they shared the history of the house & answered all of our questions about the area as well as offered shopping & dining suggestions. The breakfast was amazing and the availability of home baked cookies, snacks & beverages available during your stay was a nice extra. Our room was spotless, the bed was very comfortable and the extra touch's offered with the heated tile floor & gas fireplace made the room extra special. We look forward to a return visit & would not hesitate to recommend the EJ Bowman House to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
We are so happy that you chose us when you came to Lancaster county to visit. We also appreciate your kind words, and we really hope that you do come back again in the future. Thank you so much for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Joe and I stayed at the Bowman House shortly after it was opened. We have now been coming back for 11 years, several times a year, because we love it, and our grandchildren live about 5 minutes from the House. The Bowman House is a wonderful retreat at the end of the day. We have had each grandchild stay one night at "the big Yellow House" which they considered a very special treat. We love everything about it, its history, its warmth, charm, and Scott and Diane. Breakfast is always delicious and they will meet any special dietary need. We highly recommend the Bowman House for any occasion.
Joe and Vickie

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PowhatanJoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you very much for the review, but it was our pleasure to "inherit" you when we took over the Bowman House, and we always look forward to having you as our guests. Not only are you a wonderful addition to the conversation at breakfast, but we look forward to talking to you personally. Thanks again for all the years......and many more to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

My sister and I stayed there with our 8 y.o girls in top floor suite. When I made reservation I asked Scott to put an additional cod bed . It was all set up prior to our arrival. The service is great! The whole house was spotless. Very cozy. Diane and Scott were amazing hosts!!!! They were very accommodating for our low carb diet. We really enjoyed having great breakfast with other guests who traveled from different parts of USA and overseas. Our girls enjoyed so much having a jacuzzi bath in our suite. This is a home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yelena_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you so much for the review, and even though you stayed in August we remember the 4 of you. The girls were quite entertaining not only to Diane and I, but to the other guests as well. We'd love to have you back again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our second stay over Valentine's weekend with Scott and Diane at the Bowman House. We were e-mailed prior to our stay and were asked if we wanted to come a day early due to a large incoming snowstorm. Upon arrival we sat in the parlor and caught up with each other's life happenings in the past year like we were chatting with old friends. Overnight the area was hammered with 14" of snow resulting in everything in the area being closed that day. Never fear, Diane announced that lunch and dinner would be provided for all. As usual, the accomodations were impeccable. A delicious breakfast each morning was accompanied by interesting conversation amongst new lodgers and also two couples we met the previous year. We both feel if you lookup the definition of the word innkeeper in the dictionary, you would find a picture of Scott and Diane there. Barring unforeseen circumstances, we plan on visiting next year and in the years to come.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. We would accept any available room. The heated floors in the bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Reviews don't get much kinder than yours, and we thank you very much. It was a pleasure to have you with us those 5 days, and a chance to get to know you both better. We also look for the friendship to grow as each year goes by, and we already have a surprise for you to see on your next visit .......until then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Our stay here was absolutely lovely. The breakfasts made by hosts, Scott and Diane, were delicious. They were very accommodating to our vegetarian diet. It was also nice meeting the other guests during breakfast. Our room was so comfortable, we did not want to leave. The home is beautiful. The whole experience was amazing. We look forward to staying again sometime soon. Thank you Scott and Diane!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RSKESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. We really enjoyed meeting you both, and are very glad that you chose us to spend your Valentine's weekend. We really would enjoy having you back again, but of course there are bigger things coming first before another retreat! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.1 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
3.7 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast

Property: EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 2674 Lititz Pike, Lancaster, PA 17601-3724
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As your hosts, the O'Donnells welcome discerning travelers to where good tastes and elegance are at home for you in their circa 1860 Italianate home (big yellow house). 4 deluxe rooms and a suite (with whirlpool), modern conveniences, full homemade breakfasts and a lovely garden offer you the perfect Lancaster getaway with Hershey, Gettysburg and Philadelphia each a simple day trip away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing