We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
539 results
Traveler rating
512
21
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
21
4
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bother guestswonderful hostshauck roomheated tile floorslancaster areabreakfast was delicioushome away from homegas fireplaceamish countryhomemade cookiesoatmealloved our staypoached pearpretzelswonderful weekendsitting room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
375 - 380 of 539 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed at the EJ Bowman House for 2 nights at the end of June. We were greeted by Diane, one of the owners, and taken on a tour of the beautiful home and learned some of it's history. The property is beautiful from the warm, cozy rooms to the outside garden area. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. Both Diane & her husband Scott were welcoming and very helpful with suggestions to help us get the most out of our stay. The location is perfect, close to just about everything there is to do in the area.
The 3 course breakfasts were fabulous! What else could you ask for in a B&B?
I definitely recommend the EJ Bowman House to anyone looking for a great place to stay while in Lancaster!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ritabn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for the very kind review. It certainly makes us happy that our love for what we are doing comes through from the time that you walk through our door. We also were quite surprised at the Sunday breakfast that you weren't the only ones that heard you know what...............Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife & I had never been to a B & B , so we didn't know what to expect . It was AWESOME ! Our hostess Diane was so friendly . She made us feel right at home . Her cooking was amazing .Our room was warm & friendly . The entire experience was wonderful .We would definitely stay there again . Again , Diane thank you for an unforgetable stay . Jim & Doris Mushrush

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdm317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you for the review, but it was our pleasure to open our home to you. It's always exciting to meet new people, especially when it's their 1st B & B experience. We are so glad we could make yours a memorable one. Please come see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The house is exquisite with beautiful antiques everywhere! You will want to also enjoy the lovely garden and its active fish pond. Your room will be very inviting with its charming appeal and private bath. The breakfasts are scrumptious with their imaginative servings! Snacks and drinks as well as movies and books are readily available all day long. You can even get an hour-long massage at a very reasonable rate. Diane and Scott are wonderfully friendly hosts and make you feel welcome the minute you arrive at Bowman House. Our visit was relaxing and refreshing, and a memory we will not soon forget!

Ellen and Randy

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for your review, and yes we remember that weekend well. We had a great group with lots of conversation around the breakfast table as well as around the outside grounds. You both were a pleasure to have stay with us and we hope that you come see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We are used to staying at B&B's when we travel in PA but the place we wanted to stay at during Memorial Day would only let people book for 2 nights and so on a whim we came across this place and I must say that we couldn't have been luckier. There is a beautiful garden outside, the inside is well decorated and words can't describe how amazing the breakfast was. We were welcomed right from the start by the owners who were very friendly. Plus during our tour it was pointed out that we could grab refreshments or snacks for free and watch one of the many movies in the sitting room which made you feel like you were staying with a friend instead of at a business. We are going to definitely stay here from now on when we are in the area. You have to be careful when you are getting here because it is tucked away a little and the area to park is hidden but that is what makes this place a hidden gem : )

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinLady11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

There are many fine bed and breakfast in Lancaster County, but we are very glad you chose us for your nights stay. We are also glad that we came through, not only from what E J Bowman House offers inside and out, but that our wish for you to feel that this is your home while you stay with us came through as well. Thank you for the very kind review, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in. The house, halfway between downtown Lancaster and Lititz, was lovely, with a beautiful garden in the back where you could sit under an umbrella table and watch the fishes in the koi pond. The rooms were spotless and elegantly decorated but with modern amenities such as a flat screen TV. The breakfasts were gourmet quality: baked pears, saturated French toast, fresh sausages and more. And the hosts could not have been more gracious or welcoming. As far as I'm concerned, this is the only place to stay in Amish country!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rbakerny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeandScott, Owner at EJ Bowman House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your more than gracious review. It's a lot of work to keep up with the house and gardens, but when you get reviews that compliment your hard work it more than makes up for the time you put in. As always though, the best part is in sharing conversation with guests, and we hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews