We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Labor Day visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Circle M RV & Camping Resort
Fairfax VA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Labor Day visit”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I had read about Circle M campground via the internet. As we were taking our 11yr old grandson with us camping, Circle M sounded like just the place for him with it's indoor waterpark and other amusments.
As it was Labor Day weekend we were told to arrive early as getting a RV site would be on a first come first served basis. I had made reservations for us four months earlier through Circle M's website. I had no trouble checking in, front desk very nice, but busy.
Upon arrival it was plain to see that the campground was very crowded. We scouted out a site along side the river that could take our 36ft 5th wheel trailer. There weren't many sites available for our rig with full hook-up, so we settled for water and electric only.
The campground itself shows that it is used constantly and therefore shows age. The sites are generally not very level and can be muddy after rain, but that's camping. Sites away from the river were crowed and hap hazard in appearence. Many trailers are to close to one another for any kind of privacy and gave the look of being more of a trailer park then campground.
We took our grandson to the indoor waterpark where he had a great time using the water slide and other persuits offered there.
The indoor pool was full of kids doing what kids do, make noise and splash each other.
We were concerned that no lifeguards were watching over the pool area. We saw a few teenagers out of control using the pool who kept running and jumping into the pool without looking out for others. A few times small kids were hit by these kids.
The hot tub was overly hot and was full of foam. It looked terrible, and was always full of teenagers.
The mini golf course was old and beaten up, but one could still play a game.
We didn't use the outdoor pool or the arcade so can't comment on those.
All in all the campground was what we expected.
It was chosen because of the waterpark, not it's overall look.

Room Tip: Arrive early at campground. All sites all on a first come first served basis. Larger rigs may have h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank deedeeFairfaxVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    88
    65
    33
    34
See reviews for
233
60
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I booked a reservation for Labor Day Weekend, as you can see by my post tomorrow starts the weekend. I made my reservation on 7/7/11. We were to arrive originally on 9/2/11 and checkout on 9/5/11. Upon checking my work schedule I realized we could arrive 9/1/11 instead. I called and added the extra day and was told no problem. I was also told sites are picked on a first come basis but Thursday should not be a problem. When we arrived at the campground earlier today they only found my original reservation and insinuated that I lied about adding an extra day. They told us to go pick out a site and return to tell them which site we picked. After riding around the campground 2 times we did not find any open sites. We went back to the office and told them we couldn't find a site and were asked if we looked at the river sites.
The only other roads we found were small roads that we could not even drive our 38ft MH on safely without hitting low lying branches. We returned to the office and one worker asked if another worker would be able to help us find a site. He then ignored us and didn't offer to help. I asked them what sites were still available and they said they have no way of keeping track of that. Although they do keep your driver's license until you come back and tell them what site you picked. I said to the manager why don't you just keep a campground map and when people return cross out the site so you know it is taken. She said even if we did that we wouldn't know if your camper would fit on them, DID THEY EVER THINK OF MEASURING THEM? I don't know, other campgrounds don't seem to have a problem with this. We then demanded our money back, which was returned promptly (of course I haven't seen my credit card statement yet).
One of the workers said well we did just show up early, I again explained to her I called and added a day and she again insinuated I lied. My 9 year old son was devastated after seeing the pictures of the pool complex on the web site. Here it is 10:00 PM the Thursday before Labor Day and there is not a site to be found at any campground. We spent 2 hrs to get there and 2 hrs to return home. What a great way to spend the final holiday before my son has to go back to school. Oh by the way, the sites were not level, small, hilly and as another person stated, trailer parkish, especially with the storage area in the middle of the campground. TRUST ME IT IS NOT WORTH THE EFFORT. I even called Encore resorts and told them this campground is going to give them a bad reputation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Disappointed52598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

fayetteville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

we we're vacationing with 12 people total....had arrangements in advance tickets bought at area attractions everything planned for a wonderful vacation....before we got to circle m the GPS was tryin to turn us into a corn field...should have taken the hint....after arriving was to have 2 cabins as close as possible because of the kids with us....1 cabin was at the front of the campground the other at the far back of the camp ground.when asked to speak with the manager was told 1 would not be in until monday(the next day)..after finally finding the cabins the first had an odor also was very small....the second one though K 13 smelled as though something was decaying in it....how you would expect anyone to stay in it is beyond my wildest dreams....we had asthmatic people with us was the really bad thing...the 1 that did go into the second cabin had an asthma attack actually... after returning to the main office a manager did appear...the staff was very unconcerned about everything....actually was told that the cabin was just cleaned n also that the odor was because of being in the woods n it had just rained....i live in more woods than what is at the campground actually n i have never had an odor anything like that before.....so there we are using GPS's to try n find some where anywhere to go in the middle of an unknown area to us....not fun.....We did find a wonderful hotel though the Holiday Inn Express..would greatly not recommend this campground to even my worse enemy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kbergerFayetteville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Had never been here before. Sites were very uneven, hard to get rv level. Pools extremely overcrowded. No supervision in pool area. Tons of kids running & jumping over our heads into pool. Kids area closed at 8;00, way too early. Outside pool was not even a possibility due to so many people. Very very run down facility. Putt-putt course needs replacing and some care. On the upside, staff was very friendly. If you just want a place to stay, this is fine for that. Campground in the area where we were, was very quiet. We picked this campground for our grandchildren to enjoy the facilities, but this was not possible. Convenient to Dutch country. Very scary exit onto busy and blind road.
Will not visit again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank shergar32495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upland,pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I have been a master member since 1991. i have enjoyed going to outdoor world in the past. As the years have gone by my enjoyment has gotten less and less. They close the pools, store everything earlier than they used to. It seems that all the money they make off of campers they would fix the things that need fixing. miniature gulf has been falling apart for years. the only thing besides the pool that the kids can do, they cant play there(the playground). It is always infested with bees. I have complained for the last 3yrs. about the playground, game room, mini gulf, the cleanliness of the outside pools and trailers. I will be going there soon and i hope someone has attempted to fix these problems.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank eileenUpland_pa_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

It is a shame to see the neglect. Been here several years back and it showed signs of wear. Now totally deteriorated.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank NCPAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

It's so sad to see a place that used to bring so much joy and fun in to a family's life disintegrate.

Where they used to have a Kid's club is now closed. Membership camping only, keeping it safe and not over used, now open to the public and abused. Enjoyable pool time, now shoulder to shoulder with the general public (covered by the excuse of members using it for day use.... please, u'r in the middle of nowhere, people aren't going to come for just a portion the day for an over crowded pool).

It doesn't matter that the mini golf is in a covered area, the playing area floods when it rains, broken~unusable games in the arcade, Shorter pool hours, shorter trading post hours, minimal activities where, in the past, you have to bring your kids home just to remember what they looked like. Shorter camping season when they used to be open Year Round. Bathhouses neglected. No longer using a signoff sheet to know when it was last cleaned. That must be nice for the maintenance crew.

It's all just so sad....

Room Tip: look in2 the multitude of other camps in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happycamper0082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
4.5 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
6.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
5.4 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 39 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Circle M RV & Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Circle M RV & Camping Resort

Property: Circle M RV & Camping Resort
Address: 2111 Millersville Rd, Lancaster, PA 17603-9553
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Circle M RV & Camping Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our western-themed Circle M RV campground in the heart of Amish Country is one of our largest with a long list of nearby attractions and on-site amenities. There are many organized children's activities choices at Circle M RV Campground. Whether you want to sit back and relax or take an excursion to a local attraction, you will find Circle M RV Campground conveniently located. We have easy access sites, some with three point hook-ups. Be sure to plan a trip that includes a stop at Circle M RV campground and you'll fall in love with the beautiful stream-side settings and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Circle M RV & Camping Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outdoor World Circle m Campground Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing