We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Parent's Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 22 Lancaster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oakton, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for Parent's Weekend”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a nice visit in a comfy room a bit outside of town. It was not too far from Franklin and Marshall's campus. As a bonus we got to see Bob and Lynne's daughter dressed up for Homecoming! The breakfast was delicious and we so enjoyed seeing the before and after pictures from their renovations. We look forward to going back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    32
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
234
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here overnight last week. It was my girlfriend's birthday and work was driving her crazy. This was the perfect place to just get away and relax.The room was incredibly clean, and the customer service was absolutely perfect! The bed was extremely comfortable, and gave us one of the best sleeps we've had all year. After a night of perfect sleep we woke up to a delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this place, and we will deffinitly be returning here shortly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro NC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

A good value and well maintained B and B off the beaten track of Lancaster. We had a very comfortable stay. It rained and we were cozy in our comfy bed. Breakfast was delicious too. Our Innkeepers know how to treat their guests.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HRMommaGreensboroNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Was a perfect way to end our trip. Our two days were flawless. The food was made even better by Lynn's company as we ate. The room was a beautiful gem. Appreciated the suggestions for our time in Amish country. Made the most of time in Lancaster.Planning on a stay next year. Highest recommendation , Lynn, see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo16175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Absolutely loved staying at The Australian Walkabout Inn! This was our first trip to Lancaster County and Lynne mapped out our wish list of places to visit as well as giving us tips for authentic Amish quilts! The room was amazing and the extra touches with the robes, Comphy sheets & water bottles in the fridge were so appreciated! We were excited to make our way to the dining table each morning to see what our delicious breakfast would be and we were never disappointed! This Inn is located so close to each village in Lancaster County as well as downtown Lancaster...shops, restaurants & tours. Loved the total experience at The Australian Walkabout!

Room Tip: Room was quiet and private and quite comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuneBJones, Owner at The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are so pleased when we get the opportunity to be someone's first B&B experience. We hop that you will seek out and stay at other B&B's when your travel plans permit. They are truly the Better Way To Stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz
1 review
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I had a great 1-year anniversary at the Walkabout Inn. My wife has some dietary restrictions and Lynne and Bob are so understanding and cook a delicious meal that we can both partake of. We really appreciate their friendliness as well. They make you feel very welcome. We had a great time staying in the Outback Cottage and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cneidermyer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

This past weekend we enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Australian Walkabout Inn. This has become our "go to" place for staycations! As always, Lynne and Bob were our fabulous hosts. We stayed in the Barossa suite, which was immaculately clean and über relaxing. We love the Comphy Company sheets! After the most restful sleep I have had in months, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the dining room. We just can't speak highly enough of Lynne and Bob or the Australian Walkabout Inn! Whether you are planning a weeklong vacation, or just a romantic weekend getaway, the Australian Walkabout Inn is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
6.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
5.3 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
926 reviews
2.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,896 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
24.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 837 Village Rd, Lancaster, PA 17602-1626
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casual elegance in the heart of Amish Country. We offer 5 unique suites with private bathrooms. Hot, hearty breakfast included in rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Australian Walkabout Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing