We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not like the pillows”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Did not like the pillows”
Reviewed February 7, 2007

The pillows in the hotel were not at all clean. All four pillows in our room were stained. It was necessary to put towels over the pillows. With pillows this dirty, makes me wonder about the
cleanliness of the rest of the bedding.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pillows/bedding
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CtRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    186
    107
    53
    96
See reviews for
222
204
29
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2006

Stayed at this property in June; was not very happy to see that it was still under construction; carpets laying on staircase etc.; plus bathroom had mold on the ceiling; breakfast items (marginal at best) ran out early 'had problem with cancelling one night of reservation, charged for night despite fact that front desk assured me reservation did not exist and they would credit if a charge really appeared - was charged...manager (hold-over from the original Red Roof chain-ugh!!) refuses to credit - AVOID!!! Worst Accor property I ever stayed at!

  • Liked — location near services
  • Disliked — hotel management
  • Tips/Secrets — stay at the Holiday Inn Express across the street - very nice property
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Californiagirl388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2006

You can't beat this place for the money. The staff was nice. The pool area was clean. You can actually walk to Dutch WonderLand.

Helpful?
2 Thank TheFamilyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage NY
Level Contributor
249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2006

The couple we were traveling with had a small dog and we had to choose between the Host and the Red Roof Inn. After checking this site we choose the Red Roof Inn. It really is what you would expect, Small clean rooms, friendly service, nothing fancy, nice contenential Bkfst. I placed 3 children in a room next to mine. I would say that 4 preople may find the room a little tight but for our needs it was fine. Rate was inexpensive and once again there were no oders,mold,mildew. The room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2006

This stay was pretty good for the room rate we paid - $67 + tax - booked via the Red Roof Inns' web site.

We were there 3 days in June of the most torrential of rain falls(remember the Pennsylvania floods?), but we still enjoyed the comfort of the Inn.

Our room was well appointed on the 3rd floor with queen size bed, sitting area, individual A/C, TV, mini fridge and of course, en-suite bathroom.

The included continental breakfast consisted of:
2 x cereals
2 x fruit juices
doughnuts
bread
coffee/tea
assorted fresh fruits

BUT, you had to be early or quick. We normally get up early and were OK but we noticed the replenishment of the goodies was pretty slack with some guests complaining to management that they missed out.

Note the photos both on their official web site and Expedia, although typical of the chain, are NOT of this property.

Overall, we were happy with this choice, the location was handy to all the major attractions of the area and we would stay here again.

Regards,
L & M from Oz

  • Liked — Convenient to major area attractions, clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast servers reluctant to replenish stock
  • Tips/Secrets — Get to breakfast early
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

We planned our trip to Lancaster one week in advance and chose the Red Roof Inn based on its price, proximity to both the Strasburg RR and Dutch Wonderland, and the top 10 rating it received on tripadvisor. We checked in at 6 pm and overheard the clerk say that the motel was overbooked. Fortunately for us our room was still available. The lobby is nice and appears to have been updated, but we didn't spend any time there. The Red Roof Inn is, in my opinion, your standard motel. Our room was on the 2nd floor and had 2 double beds, alarm clock, mini fridge, cable TV, bathroom--but no hair dryer! The room was clean, but in need of updating. The outdoor pool was refreshing after a long day outdoors. A continental breakfast is included and was adequate for our appetites. The motel sits on Route 30, which is heavily traveled, and traffic was a little loud, but I can only assume that this is true for all the Route 30 hotels/motels. We only stayed one night, and this motel met our needs.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrugalMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2006

My family and I chose to stay at the Red Roof Inn for one night after having read the glowing recommendations below.

The hotel is not bad per se - but you do feel disappointed, if you expect it to be as as "fabulous" as someone wrote:
"The hotel lobby has a great entrance with granite and hardwood floors, they add a fireplace with a huge plasma TV on above it, my wife and I just spent of our evening relaxing in the lobby."

The "huge plasma screen" is an ordinary TV-set, the "great entrance" is a normal door, and if you decide to spend your evenings "relaxing" in the couch in the lobby, you must be really bored. The staff (all very helpful) looked puzzeled when I asked for a room with a view of the Amish farmland - I was told that "no rooms have views of the farmland", though one of the other reviews says so?!
I suppose this is the weakness of the Tripadvisor review system (which I always use before traveling anywhere) - you cannot be sure that the reviews are all truthful...

My opinion is that the Red Roof Inn is an OK, clean and well-located hotel, but there seem to be plenty other hotels in the immediate areal that are cheaper and probably just as nice. The breakfast was above average. The internet connection worked fine.

- the staff recommended "Ed's Buggy Rides" located a few miles from Red Roof Inn as a good way to see the Amish countryside and visit an Amish farm. We had a great trip and we/I kan easily recommend Ed's to others wanting to learn more about the Amish!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ulrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.1 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#24 of 39 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
1.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#26 of 39 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#27 of 39 in Lancaster
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lancaster

Property: Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Address: 2307 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1113
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lancaster 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is a gem in the heart of Lancaster County's Dutch Country. The hotel is made up of 95 newly RENOVATED spacious rooms. The recently updated property also features handicap accessible rooms, deluxe rooms and Jacuzzi suites. Red Roof Inn of Lancaster is ideally situated amongst the greatest Lancaster County theatres, attractions, eateries and shopping centers. A seasonal pool, ample on-site parking and location adjacent to Golden Corral and Texas Roadhouse adds to our convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Red Roof Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Lancaster Pa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing