We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed August 28, 2005

Stayed at the Hawthorne twice during the last 2 months -- once on a bus tour and once on our own. Both times everything was very satisfactory and would recommend staying there. Don't know where the noise complaints are coming from -- traffic noise did not bother us in the least and we were on the 2nd floor both times. good place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redtail196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,097 - 1,103 of 1,125 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2005

The suite was clean and the staff was very nice. The noise level from Route 30 is very bad. Plus you are in the middle of two thoroughways. I went out to get some fresh air and there was no place to walk except the parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2006

We want to thank you for your comments related to the noise. In response, we have just completed a major project that added an additional window in each window of the hotel. This has dramatically reduced the noise in the rooms. We have already received positive comments from guests. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay while visiting Lancaster PA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
13
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We recently booked a three day stay to attend a personal event. I grew up in the area and stay at various hotel usually the Hamton Inn. But, with evey place else booked at the last minute I decided to try the Hawthorn. Upon checking in we were greeted bya friendly attendant and told we would be getting a quiet room. Well with-in 30 minutes we asked to change to another room on a lower floor. The traffic noise is unbelievable with trucks down shifting all the time with two highway ramps surrounding the propery within 200 feet. We were then placed on the second floor and the noise was bad but managable. After returning at 11:00pm from a family event we found the parking lot packed a band touring bus behind the hotel. Once in our new room the noise from the party on the floor above sounded like alive concert. After an hour of trying to sleep we threw in the towel and complained. We were told to be patient becasuse the attendant had just arrived and hem would take care of the noise. An hour later and some time on the phone we found a room at the new Courtyard by Marriott and had a happy rest of the trip. This place was so unprofessional and noisy do not waste your money.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2005

Stayed there the night of August 2nd. The hotel property is triange in shape and totally surrounded by highways. Route 30 East runs parallel to one side of the hotel and is only about 100 feet away. Route 30 West runs past the other side of the hotel, and is about 300 feet from that side. A busy 4 lane road runs in front of the hotel entrance. It wouldn't be so bad if it weren't for all the trucks that use downshifing to slow down on the curve of 30 East, which causes that loud truck exhaust noise that shakes the entire building. If your a light sleeper, as I am, pick another hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DougieDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2005

Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. A breakfast advertised as a hot, full cooked breakfast means more to me than microwaved breakfast burritos, or a waffle, or a sausage biscuit -- on different days. Don't compare this breakfast to an Embassy Suites or Drury Hotels breakfast.

The rooms were spacious and clean; the staff was friendly; the physical location was convenient to many tourist attractions. The road noise did not bother my husband at all, but did bother me -- so if you are a light sleeper you may want to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2005

I would really rate this hotel average to slightly above average for a motel. I have stayed here a few times myself so it is not terrible or I would not have gone back. It is an adequate place to stay and must be fairly popular because it is often sold out. First, the pros: it is relatively inexpensive and you can even get a large room with a sleeper sofa and kitchen facilities for much less than other area motels. A decent complimentary continental breakfast is included. It is located in an area where it is easy to gain access to the highway and it is close to dining, shopping, entertainment and local colleges. Last but not least, it is one of the few local hotels that allow pets. (the main reason I have stayed there.) As for the cons: there are really only two. The location that makes it convenient also makes it somewhat noisy and certainly affords no view other than that of the highway. Second, some of the rooms could stand sprucing up; they are beginning to look tired. In fairness, however, my room was always clean.

  • Stayed: March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heyjude60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2005

The hotel is located in a small triangle-shaped piece of land between two major highways. As a result, no matter which side of the building you're in, you will hear cars and trucks zipping by your room all day/night long. If you are a light sleeper, do not stay here. We wore earplugs and turned the air conditioner on, but you cannot drown out the sound of the trucks/cars.

The rooms are clean, bright and spacious. The staff is super nice. The breakfast is so-so (there is a Perkins nearby, which is a better choice). There is a fridge and microwave in each room, which is nicely designed.

But you're staying at the hotel for a good night's sleep, which you will not get. Clean rooms but no sleep make for a tired traveller.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jane s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster

Address: 2045 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-3397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $78 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham is located in the heart of PA Dutch Country. Our spacious accommodations provide welcome relaxation whether you are here for business or enjoying Lancaster's famous attractions. Within a short drive you can find Sight & Sound Theatre, the Amish countryside, American Music Theatre, Dutch Wonderland, Rockvale Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Miller's Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Restaurant and so much more! We are conveniently located near most major corporate parks and businesses including Greenfield Corporate Center, Granite Run Corporate Park, High Steel, Johnson & Johnson, R.R. Donnelly, Lancaster General Health Campus and Auntie Anne's. We are delighted to offer complimentary amenities such as free local calls, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Hawthorn Suites Lancaster
Hawthorn Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing