We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice facility with a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed June 14, 2004

The Lancaster, PA Hawthorn Suites is an adequate hotel that could be a good hotel with a little work. As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is built on a triangle of land between eastbound U.S. Route 30 and westbound U.S. Route 30. As you can imagine, this makes for a noisy location. The even numbered rooms are about 40 feet from the eastbound lanes which are downhill at this location. The odd numbered rooms are about 30 feet from the westbound lanes which are uphill. Thus, whichever side of the hotel you are on you hear trucks braking or gearing up to go up the hill. The windows appear to be double paned which reduces the noise somewhat. The room A/C unit is no help as that is very noisy when the condenser starts up.

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted in a friendly manner by the front desk staff who checked me in quickly.

The breakfast room off of the lobby is large and has many tables. This worked out well as I was with my family and another family with kids and we were able to get carry-out and eat dinner in this area instead of in our room.

The carpeting on the first floor needs a serious cleaning. The hallway carpeting has dark spots on it and looks like it has not been cleaned since the hotel opened. The carpet in the room was not much better.

When the sofa bed was opened, it had many crumbs in it. Apparently the housekeeping staff does not bother to open the sofa between guests to check. There were also no sheets on the sofabed. The front desk clerk provided me with sheets and blankets for the sofabed.

There was food left in the refrigerator in my room from a previous guest.
Other than the refrigerator and the sofa bed problem, the room was clean and did not smell.

The free breakfast was great. Scrambled eggs, bacon, waffles, cold cereal, bread and bagels, juice, yogurt, etc. The staff continually refilled the containers to make sure there was plenty for everyone. Breakfast was very good.

Hawthorn Suites advertises that some of there hotels have high-speed wireless internet access for their guests. This location does not offer this service.

Overall, if you are not a light sleeper, I would recommend this hotel. It will adequately address most travelers needs and the breakfast that is included is very good. It is near most of the Lancaster attractions such as Dutch Wonderland. There is a Wal-Mart across the street for anything you forgot. Many restaurants near-by. If a little noise does not bother you, go for it.

9  Thank SPFEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,107 - 1,113 of 1,125 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
39
Reviewed April 22, 2004

After the cost of NY this place was a god-send. If you go to the PA Tourist Information Centre you will probably get a discount voucher for the Hawthorn. We paid just $50 for a massive room fully equipped with fridge, microwave and kitchen sink. OK it's not in the most beautiful of locations and we were awakened by the four lanes of traffic either side of the hotel but the double glazing windows kept the majority of the sound out. It's a great location though for seeing the numerous attractions that Lancaster County has to offer. Would recommend this "inn" to all that want a good quality hotel on a budget. The waffle maker at breakfast was great fun!!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
South Carolina
12
Reviewed January 25, 2004

Hawthorne Inn and Suites was just wonderful! They seemed to have everything that any other hotel wouldn't have. To everyone out there you have to stay at lease 2 nights at this gand and wonderful hotel because its the best hotel ever. I didn't really expect it to be this great. I was soo suprised with the sevice and there are no long lines for breakfast at all. They even give you a complementary note pad so you can write down anything you want done and when you look around its done. In your rooms you get a refridgerator, a microwave, plates, utensiles, and local channels and I didn't even have a suite. Everyone must check it out!: )

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scarsdale, NY
323
Reviewed August 31, 2003

The rooms were fine and included a decent breakfast. The location was convenient, but not nice. It was right off a highway which proved noisy. It was also in the middle of suburban sprawl. It served its purpose, but that's about it.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington, DC
11
Reviewed August 26, 2003

The staff is very friendly. Kelly always ensures a great time. Clean rooms and good breakfast buffet.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New Creek, WV
12
Reviewed August 26, 2003

This hotel has very large, clean rooms. There was a microwave & refrigerator in our room. The beds were queen sized and very comfortable. And best of all, the continental breakfast featured more than just toast & cereal. We had sausage, eggs, & waffles in addition to all the usual offerings. Our stay was very quiet with no road noise at all. The only complaint we had would be the location was a little confusing at first. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2003

We had reservations at this hotel for June 20 & 21, 2003. After driving for 400 miles in the rain, we arrived at 2PM only to be told that there were no rooms ready and wouldn't be for at least an hour and didn't we know that check in wasn't until 4PM. Given the lousy location of this place and the fact that the hotel wanted to charge us 100% for a 3/4 day stay, we decided to find another hotel that cared about its customers, which we did.

6  Thank garypcsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.1 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster

Address: 2045 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-3397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $79 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham is located in the heart of PA Dutch Country. Our spacious accommodations provide welcome relaxation whether you are here for business or enjoying Lancaster's famous attractions. Within a short drive you can find Sight & Sound Theatre, the Amish countryside, American Music Theatre, Dutch Wonderland, Rockvale Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Miller's Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Restaurant and so much more! We are conveniently located near most major corporate parks and businesses including Greenfield Corporate Center, Granite Run Corporate Park, High Steel, Johnson & Johnson, R.R. Donnelly, Lancaster General Health Campus and Auntie Anne's. We are delighted to offer complimentary amenities such as free local calls, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Hawthorn Suites Lancaster
Hawthorn Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing