We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay! Would recommend this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Patchogue, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay! Would recommend this hotel!”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I was traveling with my daughter, son-in-law and college age grandaughter. We did not have any problem with noise from the highways as mentioned in prev;ious review. In fact- we barely heard the traffice. The rooms are large and kept very clean. Breakfast Buffet was enjoyable. Staff friendly and helpful. We would stay again and would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanal60803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    416
    160
    60
    31
See reviews for
439
335
39
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

This hotel is nice, but a little too pricey for my taste. I had family with me so I did not go as cheap as I usually would have. We were in room 102 and I know that other reviewers made comments about traffic noise...where we were it was not too bad, but you do here it from time to time. Room was clean and good size. We brought a dog and had plenty of room. The hotel staff will not clean your room with a dog in the room, but we were only there two days so that was no big deal to us. Continental breakfast was quite nice with more variety than what I am usually accustomed to (hot eggs and bacon, waffles, bagles, cerial, yogurt, etc.). There is a large dining area which appears never to get crowded. Small kitchenette in room was nice and convenient. Location is good and near the outlets and dutch wonderland. There is really nothing negative I can say about this hotel...

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Norwich, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2010

My daughter and I just returned from Lancaster...We stayed at the Hawthorne...It was very clean, good breakfast, comfortable beds, nice little kitchenette, but most of all Sara at the front desk was very pleasent and most helpful...It was a pleasure staying there...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabn59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I think when I looked at Trip Advisor about this hotel, I just looked at the overall rating (4 of 5) and didn't actually read the reviews--bad idea. The hotel seems newly redone. The rooms are really very comfortable. The bed was very comfy, the room was a great size for my husband and I--we had a bed, a chair with an ottoman, and a couch, not to mention the sitting area with mirror and the in-room fridge and microwave. The curtains are thick enough to not let any light in, which is nice. The problem with the hotel is the noise. It was really unbearable. If I hadn't gotten such a good rate to stay for three nights, we would have switched hotels. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel is located on a small spit of land between the on ramp for Hwy 30 and Hwy 30--a very busy road that is used ALL NIGHT LONG. We were on the side of the hotel of the on ramp, and constantly heard brakes. We were on the second floor, which put us level with the road. Perhaps it wouldn't have been as bad had we been on a lower floor, but the 2nd floor was really bad. We were there on a Wed and Thurs night with no issues with in-hotel noise. However on Friday night, when the hotel was much busier, we could hear the conversations taking place in rooms all around us--both next door and above us, and the people were using normal voices, not yelling at all. We tried to drown out the sounds with the fan/AC unit, but the fan only option was pretty quiet and didn't help at all, and the AC would turn off and not actually cool down the room. Thank goodness we were there in November and not in the summer when we really needed the the AC. Overall, I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone who is not a very heavy sleeper. If night-time noises don't bother you, stay here. Except for the noise, the hotel is great and a great price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaMaLiPi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2010

We stayed 2 nights while taking the kids to Dutch Wonderland. Very hard to get in and out of hotel due to the location if traffic is heavy. Our room was clean and so were the bathrooms. We had a lower floor location due to having our 2 dogs with us which worked out great as they have a nice area to walk pets outside. They do offer a free breakfast which we didn't get either morning since it was so crowded. My only problem was the extreme noise above us that went on until 1AM. Stomping and screaming and doors slamming for literally hours. There appears to be almost no soundproofing between the floors at all. When I was checking out I could even hear people clomping around above the front desk! The highway noise didn't bother us at all.... it was the crazy loud people above us that ruined our stay.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank plm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We spent three days at the Hawthorn Suites and we had a nice time. The place was very clean and the staff very helpful and accomadating. If you are traveling with a dog they have a dog run area out back which made it very easy to take our dog out. Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and good. I also found the hotel quiet and not rally noticed any outside noise. We will be returning to Lancaster in December and will stay again at the Hawthorn Suites.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babar44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VirginiaUSA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Arrived at night and was a tad confused that I had an issue locating the hotel with GPS; finally found it right next to the highway. Have stayed all over the world so I did not let the location intimidate me. Facility was relatively clean and up-to-date and staff that checked me in was fine. Was assigned room 201 and had issues as soon as we arrived. Room was supposed to have 2 Dbls and a pull out; no pull out but I was traveling with 2 kids so I let it go. Tried to sleep but HIGHWAY TRAFFIC IS U-N-B-E-L-I-E-V-A-B-L-E !!! Come to find out, they are wedged between TWO highways on a long, thin strip of land just big enough for the building and some cars! (Think of a piece of pie with highways running along the long end; room 201 is in the tip of the piece of pie!!!). Was not looking for anything fancy but none of us could sleep a wink. We drew the drapes, put on the TV and blew the AC to try to drown out the noise; no luck! At 3am we were still awake and parched from running fan non-stop. Complained but was told there was nothing they could do and that the other side of the hotel was just as bad because the truckers put on their air brakes and all you hear on the other side of the building is loud squeeling. Just about gave up trying to sleep after a heavy truck rolled over a joint in the highway AND OUR BEDS SHOOK!! My 6 & 9 year olds sat straight up in bed. We finally dozed off around 5:15am and when the other guests started leaving their rooms, every time a different room door would shut, the door to our room would push inward! Both of my kids got in my bed because they thought someone was trying to enter our room. (If they had built the facility with tightly latching doors, this would not be a problem!).
Now, we weren't looking for anything fancy...just a quick get-away to visit the Amish Country and enjoy the beautiful fall weather. But this was completely outrageous!
The guy at the front desk at 3am basically said he was sorry I was such a light sleeper. And the lady at Customer Care (or something like that) at Wyndham Corporate basically said too-bad-so-sad but we don't control sites like these...they are franchised. When I explained that it has their name on the sign, she said "well, they seek out US.....we don't seek out THEM !!!" I flatly told her that it reflected on their reputation.
Needless to say, with so many options out there, we left first thing in the morning for a different place to lay our heads. And I would be hard pressed to EVER book at any Wyndham facility ever again.
I felt like I was robbed! We had spent the time & gas to drive...and with basically no sleep, it made it very difficult to relax and enjoy the calm atmosphere we made the trip for!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The4Rowans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
4.0 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#14 of 39 in Lancaster
503 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
0.6 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#16 of 39 in Lancaster
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Address: 2045 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-3397
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#11 Family Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham is located in the heart of PA Dutch Country. Our spacious accommodations provide welcome relaxation whether you are here for business or enjoying Lancaster's famous attractions. Within a short drive you can find Sight & Sound Theatre, the Amish countryside, American Music Theatre, Dutch Wonderland, Rockvale Outlets, Tanger Outlets, Miller's Smorgasbord, Plain & Fancy Restaurant and so much more! We are conveniently located near most major corporate parks and businesses including Greenfield Corporate Center, Granite Run Corporate Park, High Steel, Johnson & Johnson, R.R. Donnelly, Lancaster General Health Campus and Auntie Anne's. We are delighted to offer complimentary amenities such as free local calls, free Wi-Fi and a complimentary hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Hawthorn Suites Lancaster
Hawthorn Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing