We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place, Unhelpful Policies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place, Unhelpful Policies”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I recently stayed here with mt husband and children. The place was fantastic, clean, and the staff (especially the night staff at the front desk) was extremely helpful. The only thing that I thought you should know before staying and that really bothered my husband was that they have a policy now that if you are a local to the area they expect you to put down an extra $200 deposit to stay here. We thought that was really strange as many other hotels we've stayed at in the area give discounts for being a local, not charge more. My husband was never told about it when we booked it.
Anyway, we stay at a hotel every few months to get a mini vacation away now that my in-laws have started living with us. We would definitely love to stay at the hotel again as our whole family loved it but unless their policy changes we will definitely look for one a little more friendly to locals before we book again. Being charged differently just based on where you come from is a pretty big deterrent.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lancaster2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country_Inn_Lancast, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country), responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a guest response and sharing your wonderful comments about the Country Inn & Suites by Carlson. We strive to give each and every customer exactly that experience. I would like to clarify our deposit policy as it sounds like it was explained incorrectly. All hotel guests are required to have an additional $200.00 held as an authorization, not a charge, for incidentals. This policy was put into place to benefit each and every guest. If we do not charge a smoking fee and just allow guests to smoke in our rooms than we are not being honest when we call our property a non-smoking facility. There are times when a room will have to go 'off market' for 24 hours or more to thoroughly bring it back to a smoke free room. You will find this policy across all hotel brands, and all hotels that take pride in their property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    276
    69
    35
    13
See reviews for
612
245
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I stayed here last week when our power went out due to the storm. We booked the room last minute. We have never stayed at any of the other hotels in town however we were very impressed with this establishment. The staff was very accommodating to all of our needs. The young girls who staffed the front desk were very nice and always had a smile on their face. Check in was a breeze and we also had some freshly baked cookies and hot coffee by the fireplace while my husband checked us in. The rooms was very spacious and very clean. We appreciated the call after we arrived in our room as well to make sure everything was up to par. It was a nice personal touch. The pool and hot tub was very relaxing. It was clean and inviting. My husband and I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Lancaster, PA, and had an excellent experience. The rooms were cozy, the continental breakfast had a nice variety, and they also provided fresh baked cookies and coffee in the lobby. The only downfall was our room was located on the side of the building that faces the highway, and there was a lot of traffic noise at night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMcDougal87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Our stay at the hotel felt like home. When you walk in the fireplace made it feel like you were in your living room and the ladies at the front desk were sooo nice! After we went to our room we were surprised by how big the sitting room was with the TV. It felt like a living room and the bathroom was huge. We had a king size bedroom. My husband had a little trouble showering b/c he is 6'1" and he had to bend a little, but the hotel was great. We found a quiet sitting room where you could play checkers or chess and it was so cozy. There were a lot of children in the hotel and the walls are pretty sound proof we didn't even hear them. Breakfast was great, but you need to plan your time with seating, but that's with any where when you go for a free breakfast. During the day there was always hot coffee, tea or hot chocolate and don't forget about the free cookies!!! The only thing I will say is you need to be careful making a left hand turn out of the hotel because of how busy route 30 is, but there is a center lane you can turn into to wait to merge into traffic. Other than that you are directly across from Dutch Wonderland and sooo close the shopping outlets. I would recommend this hotel for anyone!! Enjoy.

Room Tip: We requested a King Size room and we had no regrets. I also called to confirm the room was availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I recently stayed here only because our power was out, but moved to another hotel as soon as one opened up, which luckily was the next morning. The hotel is SO loud. The cars driving by kept us up all of the night and the "neighbors" on our floor sounded like they were in our room. The hotel is outdated on the inside, but not the outside. I did like the "country" feel it had to it. The continental breakfast was poor and they were out of everything, and we were early risers! They only have old DVD's, which they make you pay $3 to rent. That should def. be complimentary. The room was clean and the 2 Tv's are nice if you are traveling with a bigger group. The location is ideal if you are there to shop. There are many restaurant choices around the hotel. The bed was not comfortable. We went swimming and could not use the hot tub because of how dirty it was. The pool had way too much chlorine in it and it was hard to breather in their. I will never stay here again; plenty of other better options in the area.

Room Tip: Do not pick a room with a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPGMember1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country_Inn_Lancast, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country), responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment. What a crazy few days we have had with 85,000 people being without power in our area. We did have a school come to us without power that housed the sweetest group of adults and children. They were so happy to be here that they refused to leave, shouting that they were coming back. With the displacement of families from their homes and the uncertainty of frozen pipes, school closings, jobs, pets, and financial burdens from the storm, I think it is fair to say that our guests did seem to be a little loud and rambunctious. Certainly for everyone including the hotel, the power outage took us by surprise. I can say without a doubt this is not the norm for our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We visited the Lancaster area with some friends and this was the hotel they were staying at, so we stayed here too. This hotel was just OK! We have never stayed at a Country Inn & Suites before so I am not sure if they are all like this or not. I read the reviews which seemed average complaints about road noise etc. we were on the back side of the hotel which was recommended if you didn't like noise. The hotel was more costly per night than other big chains in the area and outdated. Keep in mind we stayed here only because our friends were here and this way the kids could keep each other company. The beds and bedding were rough and uncomfortable. The pool and hot tub were a nice touch but way over crowded. The walls in the bedrooms were very paper thin. The guest staying in the room next to me had all their TVs going until 2am when I had to call the front desk twice because we could hear word for word the show they were watching. I could hear when they were peeing in the toilet and every time they coughed or sneezed! When I say peeing in the toilet I do not mean the flushing of the toilet...we could hear the actual peeing! We have stayed at a lot of hotels and have never ever experienced anything close to this kind of noise in our room. The snack/refreshment area in the lobby was a nice addition and the breakfast was nice too. If we were ever to visit the area again I would not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank family3forme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PENNSYLVANIA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay very much. We come to the Lancaster area several times a year and will probably make this hotel our first choice. All the employees were nice. Check in was easy which included a call to the room about 45 minutes after we got in to be sure everything was ok. We had a king suite which was large with separate sitting & sleeping areas which is nice as I get up earlier to watch the news (TV in bedroom & sitting room). Everything was very clean. The pool & hot tub were nice as we'll with good hours (6:00am to10:30pm). Complimentary breakfast we consider to be the best of all the different hotel chains we have stayed at, including the fact there are real plates & silverware, not paper and plastic. Late check out (noon) is standard. And the price was really good ($89, AAA rate). We will be back..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NORMARK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
4.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,889 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Amish Country
Comfort Suites Amish Country
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
498 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Address: 2260 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#4 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country) 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
While visiting the Country Inn & Suites hotel in Lancaster, PA, you will enjoy friendly service, beautiful Amish décor and a variety of excellent amenities, such as complimentary high-speed Internet access and a free breakfast buffet. Our Lancaster, PA lodging also offers a premium location across from Dutch Wonderland amusement park, just minutes away from the Amish Farm and House, the Dutch Apple Dinner Theatre, American Music Theatre and Sight & Sound Theatres. In addition, our hotel features an on-site Fitness Center, an indoor pool, flexible meeting space and much more. Reserve your room today and discover all the amenities that make the Country Inn & Suites one of the best Lancaster, PA hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Lancaster
Country Inn & Suites Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Country Inn
Country Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing