We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Anabaptist Genealogy Source” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society

Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society
Ranked #27 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Attraction details
Lancaster
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Anabaptist Genealogy Source”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The library at the Historical Society is probably the premier Anabaptist genealogy source in the nation, since so many passed through Lancaster county on their way west. The resources are not as complete for other Protestant denominations, but that is not their focus. The staff is very helpful. There is a museum display and bookstore as well. They host a genealogy conference every spring with expert speakers on Pennsylvania German heritage.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Ravensburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Get the Tour Guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We called ahead and requested a Mennonite guide, Lois, to ride with us. We watched the Postcard movie but it did not really explain the difference between Amish and Mennonites. Lois did a wonderful job explaining and taking us to authentic Amish stores. Sadly, they also sell crafts that are not made by them. Their prices are just as high as the souvenir shops in Lancaster County. We did go to a great bake shop and quilt stores that we would have never found on our own.
I did like the gift shop in the Historical Society. It is all fair trade goods and at least it is labeled with the country of origin. I bought many gifts there at great prices. Beautiful jewelry and Nativity scenes. Overall, we were very pleased with the tour. $49 for 2 hours is a bargain. Our time flew by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MLEPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice small museum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

If you have interest in the Mennonites and the Amish and their differences, The Mennonite Historical Society and Mennonite Information Center (they are right next to each other) are a nice stop. They are located right next to the Tanger Outlets, so if Mom wants to shop and Dad and the kids need something to do, this is a nice place to visit. The Information center has two video presentations and a small display, the Historical Center has a small museum. Good places to kill about 2 hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Alright”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our visit was alright but for five dollars I was expecting more. There is one room with some very nice displays set up, but we only spent about half an hour there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MandyC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinton, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Nice Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

It was very interesting and well presented. The guide was very knowledgeable. It was a very nice experience..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society also viewed

 

Been to Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing