We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well preserved late 1700's home”

Rock Ford Plantation
Ranked #12 of 82 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Rock Ford Plantation is the 18th Century mansion and estate of Revolutionary War General Edward Hand, who served as Adjutant to George Washington. Built circa 1794, over 90% of the original historic fabric of the house, including shutters, woodwork, floors and glass, is intact. During the guided tour of the mansion, visitors will learn about Edward Hand's personal and military history as well as the background of the mansion and the artifacts contained therein.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A little hard to find, but well worth the visit. You get a guided tour of the interior of this home built by one of George Washington's contemporaries. It is extremely well preserved with all of the original woodwork, and walls restored to the original paint colors. Due to rumors of the house being haunted, the house was only sporadically occupied. There is a room on the second floor that was left untouche, since the house was built.

If you are a fan of Architecture, this is a can't miss building to tour. You are even allowed to take pictures of the interior, which is very unusual for historic homes.

3  Thank NJBLUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are delighted that you were pleased with your visit to our house museum and enjoyed your comments on the mansion's architecture and history. We wanted to clarify that only non-flash photography is permissible in the mansion due to the sensitive nature of the artifacts and textiles in our collection. We hope you will visit again if you are in the Lancaster County area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"revolutionary war"
in 12 reviews
"georgian style"
in 5 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 10 reviews
"sleepy hollow"
in 3 reviews
"colonial history"
in 2 reviews
"amazing condition"
in 2 reviews
"visiting rock"
in 2 reviews
"grounds are gorgeous"
in 2 reviews
"tours start"
in 2 reviews
"basement kitchen"
in 2 reviews
"left untouched"
in 2 reviews
"period furniture"
in 2 reviews
"takes about an hour"
in 2 reviews
"great tour"
in 5 reviews
"the barn"
in 3 reviews
"special events"
in 2 reviews
"lancaster area"
in 4 reviews
Filter

75 - 79 of 111 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

In April I wrote a review stating we couldnt find the site. On our most recent visit to Lancaster we tried again and yes dont follow gps and you will be fine.. More importantly we are so glad we did try again. The docent was great , so informative and yet not the typical rote information you get at many historical sites. She had a flair and quirkiness that was especially entertaining while educating. The building itself is lovely , extremely well maintained and the lively colors Catherine Hand used make it a really special gem to see. The setting is so nice , situated in a city park. On the day we visited , there was some sort of horse trials going on and a constant stream of riders to be seen as well.

3  Thank mowog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are delighted that you tried to find our site and had success this time! We appreciate your kind words about our historic site as well as our docent who conducted your tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Visited Rock Ford Plantation, it was so beautiful, learned alot personnel were wonderful, friendly and very knowledgeable. Great place to visit, a must see when in the lancaster area.

1  Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you so much for your recent review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are glad that you visited our site and had an enjoyable time talking to our docent and personnel. We hope that you will visit again in the future. It was a pleasure talking to you during your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were impressed that we received a personal tour of this plantation. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and told us all about this Edward Hand who defected from the British army to join the Patriots. He was practicing medicine and became also Adjutant General. His older brother in Ireland had inherited their parents' estate. In the new country, Edward was able to build his dream house. When I entered that home the colors and the light made me think it was just build recently.

Edward was happy here, but died 8 years later, probably from an intestinal bug. His wife died not much later. His son John B. committed suicide shortly after that for some reason. Since then the house was considered haunted.

I was impressed how this house was build. The stairs crosses the view of one of their large windows. The reason for this window to be placed there was to give ample light in both the main hallway and the upper hallway. Ingenious! It's unbelievable how much light comes into this house from the outside.

It was a worthwhile tour!

5  Thank Robby G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review of Rock Ford Plantation. Your enthusiasm for what you learned as a result of your tour experience shines through! Thank you also for sharing the lovely photos which you took during your visit. We are glad that you enjoyed your time at Rock Ford and hope you will return again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stopped by briefly at Rockford while on the way to another location. We walked the grounds around the house and took a few pictures. We did not have the time to go inside. That being said, if the inside is as nice as the outside, this place is surely worth a visit. We plan on making time for a return visit next year and taking the tour.

Thank Trailblazer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Assistant to the Director at Rock Ford Plantation, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your recent Trip Advisor review of Rock Ford Plantation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your walk around the grounds and sincerely hope you will return one day to take a tour of the inside of the mansion as well to learn more about the General Edward Hand and his family and the beautiful 18th Century artifacts contained inside Rock Ford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Ford Plantation also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Rock Ford Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing