We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Kid Friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed here for the fun amenities for kids, but nothing opened until 10am, which means we did not use any of it! The pool, the small water park, the play ground... EVERYTHING was closed until 10am. Our son wakes up at 6am. So we need things to do with him until the other parent wakes up. By the time those amenities opened, we were ready to do out and start our day. So we never used any of the amenities that we paid for. We should have stayed somewhere else for half the price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DominicCrapuchettes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I'm sorry to read you did not have the opportunity to enjoy all the amenities we have on property. You are correct that our pools and kid's crafts do not begin until 10am, but the pools remain open until 11pm and we have family activities every evening, 8pm or later. Over the years, we have found these times to be most popular with our guests. I certainly hope you will stay with us again and I would be happy to speak with you further regarding your stay. If you wish, please contact me: Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,491 - 1,497 of 1,714 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

Arrived in Lancaster without a booking and didn't want to stay in town. Looked up surrounding hotels and found this property. Called and they said they have vacancy with a fabulous price for two in a King. Arrived to wonderful front desk staff who quoted a price and we said we had just talked to reservations which was $30 less than offered. Our room was unusual with no windows but looked out to the internal ballroom. Lucky we were leaving as they were setting up for a wedding that nite and would have hated the noise from that during the nite. Fabulous room, great size with extra large spa in bathroom. Fabulous location and beautiful golf course attached. Very family orientated which is wonderful. Fabulous staff. Didn't eat in.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bingarakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

About half of our guest rooms look in to our indoor courtyard Palm Court, which is the view you had. We also have rooms that look outside. Guests may request which view they prefer when booking a room. I hope you will stay with us again and thank you for sharing your visit with the TripAdvisor community.
Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We came her to check out Dutch Wonderland and the Amish sites, a great hotel to stay at with little ones! Their indoor pool is really awesome and the kids did not want to get out--they have a large pool and then a smaller kid pool with a lifeguard watching (lifeguards were very helpful) and fun kiddie things in the pool. Best part of our trip! Staff was very friendly and the cookies were a treat (just to note that they have walnuts in them). I would stay here again if I got a good rate as I booked it last minute for the weekend and it was quite high. The room was great and clean but i was a bit surprised that they only had a small bedrail (have to ask) that comes up maybe 2 inches above the mattress. Since they are so child friendly, we thought they would have them and did not bring our own. Also the parking is a bit hairy at diff. times, sometimes we really had to hike and park far. But that pool would def. bring me back!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank chachibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor about your recent stay. I'm happy to read you enjoyed your trip and I will talk about our bed rails with our Housekeeping and management team to see if we can invest in different ones or find something more suitable for situations and families like yours.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again sooner than later! Enjoy the rest of your summer, Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations; (717) 464-7503, koconnor@willowval.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

It really is a very nice place to stay and whenever we go, I stay here. I have 4 kids and there was no problem in the room. The staff really is courteous and helpful and their cookies are wonderful. Our room wasn't ready when we got there after check in time and they comped us breakfast for the mornings we were there. I remember when it was Willow Valley and thought it was really the only place to stay in Lancaster.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4kidsandtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for your continued patronage! It's nice to build relationships with our repeat guests. DoubleTree Lancaster, while a different name, is still owned and operate by the Thomas family who opened Willow Valley in 1966. Looking forward to your next family vacation, Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations, koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I and our 3 kids (ages 7, 5, 3) stayed here while visiting Dutch Wonderland (12 minutes away from hotel).

Upon arrival, it was fast and friendly check in. We were given 5 free large warm chocolate chip cookies. YUMMY!

The room was spacious., We had 2 queen size beds plus a cot. It was perfect.

The best part of this resort is the kids indoor waterpark.(Must say my husband and I loved it as well). It also has a big adult pool and a hot tub. Outside the pool area there is an arcade area as well as icecream and snack vending machine.

There is 24 hour room service. And the food (a little expensive, but it's food service) was very good.

I have only one negative thing to say even though I loved this place. The tiles around the pool area are VERY VERY slippery. My my 3 year old fell 2 times while walking and holding my hand. (she did not get hurt) My husband's foot slip also but he was able to balance himself out of it. That is just a law suit waiting to happen. The tiles do have some sort of groves on them but apparently not enough.

I beleive if they fix this problem, it would definetly be a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NyJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for recently staying with us! We are happy to hear you had a wonderful trip and our recreation manager is working on additional ways to keep kids, and adults, safe around the pool areas. We hope you will stay with us again soon, Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations, koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The DoubleTree is a great hotel for families to stay at while visiting beautiful Lancaster County. I have been coming here since I have been a little kid (I'm turning 20), and each time we come we relive some precious memories that we have made here. Sure, it may be owned by Hilton Hotels now, but that is even better because our family can now build upon our Hilton Honors points here! I loved recieving the warm cookies upon check in. This hotel also has a great pool area for kids, and is just ten minutes away from Downtown Lancaster, Shopping, Dutch Wonderland, and more! Our favorite things to do while staying here include playing Tennis, visiting the duck pond, Eating our diets away. We had an interior facing room, which sometimes can get a little noisy, but luckily for us there were no events that night. My mom suffers has a bad leg, and the hotel was very accomodating of this. Anytime we needed extra towels or anything, the housekeeping staff was prompt to get us whatever we needed. There is also a good indoor pool area in this hotel, including a water park area for children (wish they had this fifteen years ago!) The adjacent Willow Valley inn & Suites also has an indoor and outdoor pool. If you're looking for a place away from all the hustle and bustle of Route 30, and a place where your kids can enjoy themselves, stay at the DoubleTree!

Room Tip: Rooms that face the golf course tend to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We love to be part of so many family memories and the background for many family vacations! So glad you are still visiting us now that you are all grown up! And while we may be part of the Hilton family of hotels, our DoubleTree is still owned and operated by the Thomas family who started Willow Valley in 1966! We just purchased a franchise in 2010...so HHonors points with Thomas family hospitality! The best of both worlds!

Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations, koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We had a wonderful weekend experience. We were able to see the Amish as well as go shopping, visit the Pennsylvania Railroad Museam, and take a ride on the Strasburg Railroad. It was quite relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Happy anniversary and thank you for your review! We hope to be part of many future anniversaries. Kristin O'Connor, Guest Relations, koconnor@willowval.com, (717) 464-7503

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
850 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
4 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
993 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $138 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Prestigia, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing