We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Long Weekend for the Family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Long Weekend for the Family”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

At just about 2 ½ hours from NYC, this is a really nice place for a long weekend for people in the NY/NJ area. The DoubleTree Resort and the Willow Valley Inn & Suites right next door share the facilities of both resorts, i.e., stay in one, use the facilities of both: golf course, two pools, tennis, basketball… We have spent several long weekends in both; the Double Tree is a little newer, we like both, but prefer this. Kids (up to about 11) will want to spend hours in the pool at the DoubleTree; there is one at the Inn too, but the Double Tree’s is kind-of like a small indoor water park. The meals are good at the Willow Tree Restaurant & Smorgasbord (part of the Willow Valley Inn & Suites) – it is the only smorgasbord our family visits in the area. But, If you happen to visit on a weekend when there is a Palm Court Brunch at the Double Tree, be sure to do that – it is really nice. These hotels are also pretty close to the Sight & Sound Theatre (http://www.sight-sound.com/WebSiteSS/home.do) which we always make part of our weekend; the quality of the shows there is more what one would expect from Broadway than Lancaster.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you very much for posting on TripAdvisor. We're happy to see you enjoyed your time with us and hope we have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    442
    188
    55
    42
See reviews for
965
239
18
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Had a great stay here in mid April with two children ages 3 and 6. The pool play area was great! The shallow area had a slide and sprinkler for the little one and the deeper(5ft) area had a palm tree sprinkler and a full water slide. Although the hotel was full, the pool was not overly crowded. There was also a larger pool for older kids and adults which helped keep things more calm in the kid pool. They also had scheduled daily crafts in a classroom for a small fee($4) which was great and unexpected! The hotel was very clean, and impressive, with large indoor palm trees the kids loved. There was also an outdoor playground, and a pond with ducks. The staff was very helpful throughout our stay. The location was great, right in the middle of Amish country and 35 minutes to Hershey. Overall a great stay and highly recommended! Enjoy the cookies!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aspenranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your review, aspenranch! We're a glad to hear your kids had a great time and hope you will stay with us again sometime soon!

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I recommend this hotel.Its very clean,great location and the kids had a blast in the pool.The highlight of my day was that warm delicious cookie i got at check in.Loved it.Will come back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bunny11c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
We have a plentiful supply of fresh baked cookies at our desk just waiting for your next arrival!

Thank you for your positive comments,

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

A bit expensive at the full rate. Breakfast buffet needs some real help - nothing fresh. Something as easy as potatoes came out of a bag - same with the fruit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments about our breakfast buffet. I spoke with our Executive Chef regarding your thoughts on both our fruit and potatoes specifically. Our kitchen staff actually peels, slices and grills all our breakfast potatoes and our fruit is from a local supplier, Kegel's. While we do no slice the fruit in our kitchen, the fresh fruit is sliced in the Kegel's warehouse only a few minutes from our kitchen.

I'm sorry you were disappointed with our buffet and hope you are willing to try us again soon. We often offer discount packages, hot deals and all inclusive packages with breakfast, dinner and attraction tickets. I'm confident you can find a great rate!

We look forward to the opportunity to serve your family again,

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We'd booked the Double Tree, Lancaster only a couple of days before arrival whilst on a trip from Washing DC to New York. The location is good, being a little outside the town of Lancaster and opposite a retail park with a supermarket and a couple of fast food places. From the welcome at reception, with warm chocolate chip cookies, through the visit to the lovely pool area and a great evening meal at the in house restaurant we had an amazing time and I wish we had been able to stay for more than one night. Our room with twin double beds and a sofa bed meant we all slept soundly and although its a huge hotel it was clearly well managed and a great choice for a family break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stressedoutmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
I hope your visit with us was able to de-stress you "StressedOutMama"! Sounds like you had a good time and we would love for your family to visit us longer than one night soon. There is so much to see and do in Lancaster and within our four walls. Thank you for choosing our DoubleTree Lancaster and we hope you can stay with us again soon,

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

my kids couldnt get enough of the indoor water park and the kids activities. We got the king suite and the kids slept great on the sofa bed. Only problem was there was only a shower, no bathtub.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you, rhir, for staying with us and posting about your experience on TripAdvisor. Our reservations team is able to recommend a room for your family with a bathtub next time you call. We have lots of options for room types and I'm confident we'll find one just right for your family.

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I are beginning to look at Doubletree as a 'home-away-from-home'. What a wonderful place to stay. The room was just about perfect and the staff was it's typically wonderful self. Jennifer, in particular, treated us with great kindness. We LOVE this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Thank you, Bill B., for your loyalty and kind words! So happy to hear you enjoy your getaways with us and we are looking forward to your next visit. I'll pass along your positive comments about Jennifer, our front desk manager, she is a true asset to our team!

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.4 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 39 in Lancaster
1,889 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
3.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing