We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice but don't get room service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice but don't get room service”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The hotel is nice and they have a large pool and kid's playarea pool. They also have kid's crafts at night which my daughter loved doing. (additional cost) We have stayed here 2 times due to it's close proximity to Strausburg Railroad. The first visit we had 2 queens and a sofabed all in the same room. The next visit we got a suite which was 2 small rooms divided by the bathroom. Both rooms had TV's which was nice, but the beds pretty much took up the entire floor space and we hardly had any room for luggage. We were really cramped with 2 adults and 2 small kids. The suite seemed smaller than the first room we stayed in by far.

My only real issue was the room service...the orders arrived without our drinks or any silverware. When I mentioned this to the room service person, her response was that since it was hamburgers she didn't think we needed any silverware. Well a knife would be nice to cut up my 2 year old's food. Then my husband's bacon cheeseburger came plain...just a dry burger. I called down and was told that you have to request bacon and cheese when you order this BACON CHEESEBURGER (labled as such in the menu). The upside to all of this was the manager on duty was very nice and sent us the drinks we were missing personally and offered a free dessert or glass of wine. She was very apologetic and admitted the staff needs some more training. Go elsewhere to eat and your stay will be fine!

Room Tip: try to stay on the top floor so you wont hear constant noise above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plm2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us last November! I'm sorry we did not get your room service order correct but I'm happy to see our manager was able to accommodate you. We are continually working to better our service and I'm confident our room service staff has improved since you were last here.

We look forward to your next visit and hope you will dine with us again.
Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
koconnor@willowval.com
(717) 464-7503
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    427
    181
    53
    39
See reviews for
920
224
17
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I recently was a guest at this newly renovated property and I have to say, it was a complete pleasure to stay here. From the great service at check-in (I was a weary traveler greeted by a friendly face) to a beautiful and comfortable guest room, the stay was perfect. I also was part of a professional development event held at the property and I was blown away by how nice the Palm Court and Statesman ballroom are! It was such a pleasant place to be a presenter! Excellent food too! I give two thumbs up to this property and will make a point to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you Chuck! We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to your next stay,
Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
koconnor@willowval.com
(717) 464-7503
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owings mills, md
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spent a weekend there with four couples, all with small children. The pool and breakfast were wonderful. Love the beds at this place too, and the family suite so that kids can have their own space to watch t.v. and play... Hotel staff were exceptional!! Great location, great value.

Room Tip: Family suite with door separating kids and adults - great room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samarabru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
We are grateful for our guests and so happy when we see reviews like this. It lets us know all our hard work is paying off! Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on TripAdvisor and we truly look forward to serving you again soon,

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
koconnor@willowval.com
(717) 464-7503
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Let me start by saying that the best part of my meal was the bottle of Michelob Ultra I drank. My husband and I started with the "grilled" wings. If they were grilled, it was at 10am that morning. They were beyond greasy and had almost no sauce. Very, very fatty. My husband had the flat iron steak. More like chuck, definitely not flat iron. His fries were over done on the outside and under done inside. I had the crab "cakes". They were maybe a 1/4" thick and about 2 inches round. More like silver dollar pancakes. It came with cole slaw which was mostly raw onion. If that isn't enough to keep you away, the prices will. My husband's steak was $18. My crab cakes were $27!!!!
At least it was entertaining,,, it was karaoke night:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arabask2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Goodness, Arabask2, you had an awful experience in our restaurant. Our Executive Chef works hard to prepare unique dishes that feature locally sourced entrées and one of our most popular dishes is our grilled wings with tomato glaze! Please contact me when you have a few moments, I'd like to see how your visit was to our hotel and talk further about your restaurant experience.

Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

The DoubleTree is a great spot for a family vacation in Amish country. It's got a bunch of amenities: two pools, an arcade room, a nice on site restaurant and it sits directly next to a golf course. During school breaks, like spring or winter vacation, the hotel offers crafts and an evening carnival with games, face painting, snacks and giant inflatable bounce rooms/slides. The best part are the pools. There's a full size adult pool with an adjoining hot tub and there's a very large kids pool perfect perfect for little kids and even older ones. Bigger kids will love the water slide and parents of infants and toddlers will love the wade in part of the pool with sprinklers. For our family, this was like having an on site water park included in the room rate. We paid about $150 a night including breakfast. That's pricier than nearby options but we think it's worth it. The hotel appears newly renovated so the entire premises sparkles and the rooms are clean and modern with flat screen TVs and coffee makers. This may seem like standard fare for lots of folks but there are plenty of old, run down chain hotels in Lancaster and this definitely isn't one of them!
Another plus is that the DoubleTree is in a quieter part of Lancaster, off the main shopping and amusement strip, surrounded primarily by upscale condos, a retirement community and local farms. There's a supermarket directly across the street as well as a takeout pizza place. One note: Avoid the smorgasbord at the Willow Valley hotel next door. The food is very mediocre. Bottom line: The DoubleTree is a find!

Room Tip: Book a family suite which separates the parents and kids sleeping areas and gives the kids their own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMBK731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi bkl2! Thank you for taking the time to review our DoubleTree! We're glad to hear you found such value in our product and we really enjoy doing our Winter Fest with indoor carnival in February. Our hotel was recently renovated and our Housekeeping staff is top notch!

I'm sorry you did not enjoy our Willow Tree smorgasbord. We are well known for our PA Dutch foods and our delicious smorgasbords. I would be happy to speak with you further on ways you feel we could improve it.

Thank you again for your review! We look forward to serving you again soon,
Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Double Tree Resort in Lancaster is overall a very nice hotel for families. It has many amenities including pool, exercise room, restaurants, bar, family friendly crafts and activities, and the location to nearby Amish-oriented activities cannot be beat but it is a bit overpriced. We paid $380 for the weekend including breakfast at the 2400 Restaurant. The rooms are clean and the staff is wonderfully attentive. The air conditioner in our room, 2015, was sooo loud that it woke me up several times went it went on during the night. The beds are very comfortable and the pillows are soft and abundant. There is a lot of noise in the hallways and from the rooms above, but that is expected because this is a very family friendly resort. This was our 4th stay there and we will go back again; however, I am really not certain that the stay was worth $400.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for your review, Pattypete520. I would like to speak with you further regarding your stay. You mentioned the price was a little high; were you here during our Winter Fest which included the indoor carnival, karaoke/dance party, dive in movie and more? I'm glad you enjoyed our accommodations, comfortable bed and understand our hotel is family friendly. Feel free to contact me and we look forward to serving you again soon:
Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

This was our third stay at the DoubleTree Resort and we continue to be impressed by the amount of family activities and fun this resort offers. Our children really love the crafts and the indoor pool - much more than what you find at other hotels! The staff is friendly, helpful and the rooms are clean and comfortable! We will be back again during Easter week!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traysee7413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WillowValley, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your continued business and glowing review! We have a great schedule of activities over spring break including Easter Egg Hunts, Breakfast with the Bunny and more. Looking forward to your next visit,
Kristin O'Connor
Guest Relations
(717) 464-7503
koconnor@willowval.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
5.3 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
895 reviews
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Address: 2400 Willow Street Pike, Lancaster, PA 17602-4849 (Formerly Willow Valley Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#6 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#14 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch Country, our friendly service and host of on-site amenities promise a productive yet relaxing stay. The DoubleTree Resort by Hilton is proud to offer a host of amenities including a golf course, indoor and outdoor pools, indoor water playground, two restaurants, state-of-the-art fitness center and much more. From the warm DoubleTree chocolate chip and walnut cookie that greets you at check-in, to the moment we say good-bye, the welcome never ends at Lancaster County's premier hotel, conference center and family resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Resort By Hilton, Lancaster Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing