We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food had potential but horrible service”
Review of Addisu Ethiopian Restaurant - CLOSED

Addisu Ethiopian Restaurant
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food had potential but horrible service”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My friend went with her husband and suggested we all go there together for a dinner out. We went on a quiet week night and it took over 2 1/2 hours to have dinner. The woman who waited on us was extremely rude and you could see and hear her microwaving our meal. This was my first experience with Ethiopian food and I thought it had amazing potential to be delicious but obviously microwaved anything isn't going to be a great example of any ethnic cuisine. I would not recommend this place and my friend who had been before was shocked by the horrible service and food her second time there, as she had a much more positive experience the first time around.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theatricalgal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
harrisburg
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What fun!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've been to Addisu's about 3 times, and we've always enjoyed it. The new location is much better-roomier, and nicer decor. I just love the food-tasty, healthy, different. It's a fun experience. Addisu is always very nice too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Totally new experience of the Ethiopian food!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Being vegetarian, we have limited options to explore food from different cultures, and I am not complaining ;-) But, when we had lunch last weekend while visiting Lancaster-PA, at Addisu, we were so surprised to have really tasty food that is similar to Indian food – yet, unique and lots of verities. It’s spicy and delicious. Also, you don’t use any utensils (spoon, fork etc) to enjoy food here! Very pleased to eat here and meeting the owner of the restaurant. Good service, good food, good prices compare to other Ethiopian restaurants, experiencing a new culture – what else you can ask for!! Must try this....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rutansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who thought?”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Great place for a good dinning experience, Staff was very helpful with the selections. Eating without utensils was just fun, great chance to play with your food, good tastes, you have to try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Great New Experience”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This restaurant is a fun experience. The food is served family style on a big platter. There are no utensils, but you use the special spongy bread called injera. You rip off a strip and then pick up the food with it. The fun part is to taste familiar foods prepared in a different way with new spices. My 68 year old mother enjoyed it very much too, so it wasn't overly spicy or too hot.
The owner/waiter informed us that they just expanded the restaurant. He was very friendly and helped us with suggestions and explained the food quite well.
There is also a small Ethiopian grocery there and when we were there we noticed several people coming in to buy things from the store and get take out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cante87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addisu Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing