We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Pam”
Review of Cork Factory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cork Factory Hotel
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Reviewed August 19, 2013

First of all , we would like to point out that The Cork Factory is a very beautiful hotel , well situated near all the main attractions ( Amish farmlands, Hershey park, ....). The rooms are nicely decorated and the breakfast is ok . We were however really impressed by Pam at the reception! We forgot our passports in our safe ...when only realized when we arrived in New York. Pam suggested to take them with her to Connecticut (our next stop) during her free time so we did not need to do extra traveling and all worked out fine in the end. We were really very happy she did this for us. Thanks Pam.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Miguel186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Cork Factory Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 571 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Cork Factory Hotel (and conference center) is located less than five minutes from downtown Lancaster. As the name suggests, the hotel once was a cork factory. The conversion was magnificently done, preserving many of the structures original features while adding modern amenities. The hotel boasts a bar and restaurant as well as a "baker's table" for coffees, teas and goodies. Local pubs and breweries are walkable. Rooms are large and the fourth floor was very quiet. Rooms on the second floor may be subject to occasional noise as guests use that entrance to the hotel's ballroom.Staff is quite helpful and rates are very reasonable. Parking is onsite and free. The only negative -- and it is not major in view of the number of floors and conveniently located stairwells -- is that there is a single large elevator.

Room Tip: Room 410 was spacious, quiet, and near the elevator and stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A friend and I were on a shopping expedition in the Lancaster area and decided to try a different type hotel. We found the Cork Factory and her sister actually stayed there over the w/e and we arrived on Monday. It seems like weekday and weekend experiences differ dramatically.
During our stay it was very quiet and the room was well appointed, attractive and very comfortable. We had 2 double beds and a lovely new bathroom. We were pleased with the accommodations. We arrived about 8:30-9pm and at check in asked about the bar and the fellow showed us a lovely bar down the hall. We told him we would go drop our bags off and come down for a night cap. Looking forward to relaxing with a night cap in the lovely bar area never became a reality! We got back downstairs (about 10 minutes after check in) to find the bar closed!!!! I asked at the desk what happened? He said oh if it seems slow they just close it. I reminded him we said we were returning in 10 minutes for a night cap. He just sort of shrugged. This did not make us happy. THAT IS POOR MANAGEMENT. The breakfast was nothing to write home about. Some danishes, muffins, dry cereal. Personally I wouldn't waste my time at breakfast here. I will however stay here again during the week without any expectations of the bar being open designated hours or rushing to get to breakfast.
My friend's sister had a different experience as they attended a wedding so they were subject to a lot of noise in the building along with a lot of people. They left earlier than scheduled due to the noise and crowds. So....since they are a catering facility and you are looking for a quiet getaway just check to see how many weddings they have on a w/e you plan to go there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gourmand101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is a great hotel, and being that it is a former cork factory, it has a lot of character. Everything about the hotel is really nice, although the sound proofing between rooms could be improved. This hotel also is located about 15 minutes from the Amish Country and about ten minutes from Penn Square.

Room Tip: Very nice complimentary continental breakfast
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foodiedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I am glad to say that we had a great four night stay at the end of July at this hotel. I have read some of the negative reviews and we did not experience any of the bad things that some people have stated.

We had a 1st floor room, which was extremely quiet. It was a large room, with 2 queen beds and plenty of room for 4 people (2 adults and 2 teenage kids). The bathroom could have been bigger, but the room was extremely clean and had everything that we needed.

The continental breakfast was exactly that, a basic breakfast, but was very nice. The breads and pastries were not just Costco type like you see in other hotels, but nice pastries. Nothign to rave about, but in my opinion, nothing to complain about either.

We found most of the front desk staff to be very nice, and helpful. There was one front desk person (female) that was not as pleasant, but the other workers more than offset her with their congentiality.

Our only issue was parking... it was very busy while we were staying and sometimes parking was an issue. Other than that, we had an excellent stay.

While we were there, the rock band, the Script was staying there as well. Usually successful touring bands like to stay in convenient hotels, that are quiet, roomy, and where they can have some privacy. We felt that this hotel did exactly that.

Room Tip: We stayed on this first floor and it was very quiet!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgreen1178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The idea of a hotel in a factory worked out very well. The location, building, rooms and decorations are very nice. The room was good, only the AC was a bit too noisy. But, when we arrived at the breakfast around 9 (breakfast till 10), most of the food was gone and there were almost no refills. Somebody asked for a knife, but instead of a knife she got an attitude from the waitress. When we checked out I mentioned that the breakfast was not acceptable (I only ate cakes) and that the attitude of the staff at the breakfast was unacceptable, they didn't seem to care about this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisHeiligers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Front desk was not helpful, I request feather type pillows and was told we do not provide any other pillows except the ones in the room, which are the hard rubbery. I had a terrible nights sleep. The A/C is very loud. I would find another hotel if you was a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Top Floor is best
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 39 in Lancaster
954 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.7 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#1 of 39 in Lancaster
1,936 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cork Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cork Factory Hotel

Address: 480 New Holland Ave, Suite 3000, Lancaster, PA 17602-2291
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range: $146 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cork Factory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Cork Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing