We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, stay on top floors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cork Factory Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cork Factory Hotel
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Alapaha, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great place, stay on top floors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

Found this place on trip advisor. The outside and grounds are great. The lobby and rooms are awesome with high ceilings and exposed beams. I will agree with others that soundproofing is an issue. We were on the second floor and some kids above made for some problems getting to sleep but were a good wake up call.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgaskins43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    212
    80
    27
    16
See reviews for
131
207
13
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

The atmosphere is incredible! Though completely renovated, you can still feel the history. The continental breakfast was very nice, and beyond expectations. There was some noise from the floor above, due to the fact that they kept original ceilings, but the little bit of noise was worth the ambiance!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alwaysawigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell junction,ny
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I travel extensively for my business and have stayed at nearly every high end hotel in Lancaster,Pa There are three that merit everyone's consideration and the Cork Hotel is one. Centrally located near every attraction and activity in the area plus unquestionable quality of the staff and all the hotel amenities : lodging ( I always stay in the honeymoon suite and I'm there every two weeks);the restaurant : The Cap & Cork always hits the mark and especially the lovely Sandy who is there to make my breakfasts an absolute joy;the nicest bar you will find anywhere in the area attended by the Goddess's Michele & Jasmine and the very attentive and well mannered staff. Plenty of parking everywhere and clean spacious rooms. Great value and refreshingly hip/modern/classic all in one. For those of you that commented about the lack of curtains to block the morning sun : go to bed earlier so you have more time to enjoy the next day or put some of the extra big pillows provided in every room over your head. None of you who complained could ever do a better job than the family who put their hearts into this amazing place so just shut up and give credit where it's due. Greg @ The Car Store

Room Tip: Tell them you saw my review : that should do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsthateasy5813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

No qualms about the esthetic appeal of the hotel- chic, hip look of exposed brick and wood from the structure's past life as a factory. But they did not give much thought to soundproofing when they remodeled the building. This is by far the noisiest hotel in which I've ever had the displeasure of trying to sleep.

My conclusion is that as a historic preservation/repurposing project the hotel is worth seeing, but if you want to sleep you'd be better off in a Motel 6 (or in the backseat of your car.)

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamblyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel is an old factory which has been converted into a very nice hotel. These kinds of properties usually have a unique charm and atmosphere, and this one was no exception. There were a few quirks, but they were charming, and should be expected in a property like this. We had a handicapped room with a kind-size bed, which was apparently the last room they had available (we were walk-ins). The room was a large comfortable size. The bed and bedding were very comfortable, and we slept well. The room was very clean, and we liked the modern decor. The bathroom was huge (I suppose to accommodate wheelchairs), and was fully equipped for handicapped use. We didn't hear much noise during our stay, however in the morning we could easily hear someone walking around in the room above our room -- floor boards creaking, foot steps, etc. This didn't bother us at all, but I can imagine that it might bother someone who's sensitive to this kind of noise. Bathroom: Very nicely tiled and very clean, however there is no where practical to put your toiletries -- they should consider installing at least a shelf in addition to the towel rack near the sink. The restaurant: We had drinks and dinner in their restaurant, which we really enjoyed. The night we were there, the bar was fun and active, and the bartenders were helpful and charming! The restaurant was very good - we like the food and the service was professional and attentive. Overall, it was a good experience at the Cork Factory Hotel -- we recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess1043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Such a cool place in Lancaster City. The breakfast was above and beyond what we expected. The hotel was beautifully done and very chic. Great place for the price!! Will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I am going to keep this brief.
Staff is extremely curt and unfriendly.
There are NO CURTAINS on the windows- only blinds, so if you're sensitive to light, tough luck, you will be woken up when the sun comes up. I guess curtains are a luxury.
There was a MURDER right across the streeet while we were there- I mean directly across the street! The news crew, police, yellow tape etc, and coroner were outside for 2 full days. Very shadey neighborhood.
They have no shower caps, toothpaste, or anything like that in case you forgot something, nor are there any stores within walking distance to buy them.
The gym has 4 old rusty machines with no airconditioning.
Do I even have to mention the lack of insulation for sound-proofing, since everyone else already did? Well, you can hear everything- I mean everything.
I went down to ask for a manager to speak with- but surprise surprise, there is no manager! No assistant manager, no GM- absolutely no one to speak with.
The restaurant downstairs closes at 9pm, so if you're hungry at 9:15- they won't let you in- and room-service- forget it! That is not an option.
The bathroom had hair all over the tub when we arrived. I went down to complain, and the front desk person was doubting what I said, saying that their housekeeping staff is very good. Yeah, well if they were so good, there wouldn't be hair all over the bathroom upon check in! We stayed for 3 nights- they never once vacuumed our room- despite the fact that we spilled some crumbs on the carpet, big obvious bread-crumbs, and they made the beds, but couldn't be bothered to vacuum.
Breakfast consisted of stale, day old pastries and bagels, and unripened fruit- and cold coffee. Disgusting- and there was no Dunkin' Donuts/Starbucks or anything where one could go to get a decent bagel and coffee, nevermind a real breakfast.
Water pressure in the shower was pretty minimal.
I left there exhausted, miserable, and sleep deprived.
Upon check-out the front desk person asked how our stay was, and I replied it was the worst hotel I've ever been to in my life, and I'm a very frequent traveler. She said ok, printed out my receipt and sent me on my way.
I'm not sure why she asked if she didn't really care.
I am writing this review to save the next weary traveler some money and aggravation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolaEastGreenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.9 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cork Factory Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cork Factory Hotel

Property: Cork Factory Hotel
Address: 480 New Holland Ave, Suite 3000, Lancaster, PA 17602-2291
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cork Factory Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Cork Factory Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing