We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“real Irish fare with a new American twist” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quips Pub

Quips Pub
Ranked #39 of 567 Restaurants in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“real Irish fare with a new American twist”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Quips is a great little spot with great food and drink. Located in an historic building, the inside reminds you of a real Irish pub. The list of beers and ales is good and the food is excellent. Try some of the traditional Irish dishes. They're all good. But they also have good American bar food as well.

The best part may be the ambiance. Friendly people; good music (live bands on weekends!), and a nice atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank daxenpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    37
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Lancaster restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were looking for someplace different to eat during our stay in Lancaster, and selected Quips Pub based on the recommendations in tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The chili appetizer and fish and chips were both outstanding.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aberdeenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“British Pub bland british food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Last evening my Husband and I were out and about and decided to drop into Quips for dinner. We were less than thrilled with our experience. Service was slow to start, and once we ordered there was quite a delay in getting our meals. The food was just bland, lacking any kind of flavor profile. My husband ordered chicken wrapped in bacon which was dry, and was served with plain white rice, and not just regular white rice asian sticky rice which doesn't go with pub food. I ordered fish tacos which was the special. As is was spelled out it sounded as if it was going to be so flavorful, but not, no salt, no pepper, nothing to give it any taste. I had to use my husbands left over salad dressing to flavor it. They were served with black beans and rice.....Same sticky rice with black bean mixed in, same bland no salt taste and weird texture. I guess since they bill themselves as a British pub they are trying to live up to the reputation of British food, success on that level. Mixed up my husband beer, which the waitress made right. The highlight of the evening was we had a coupon so we didn't pay full price. Won't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome pub!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped by here both nights that I was in town. I loved the atmosphere. They had a good selection of beers. I also tried their pretzels with mustard dip and it was delicious. I would highly recommend this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coug88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food and brews”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Quips has very good pub food- fish and chips are authentic, as are many English treats- bangers and mash, shepherd's pie, and a very good selection of beers by draft or bottle. I have never strayed from the standard pub food so can't comment on other entrees, I've been told their burgers are good. Take a little trip across the pond to Quips and save on the airfaire!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ToYourHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quips Pub also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Quips Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing