We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not best place to stay in Lancaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Family Resort
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
PA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not best place to stay in Lancaster”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Recently attended a conference at Lancaster Resort and Convention Center in Lancaster, PA. We were booked to stay at the Ramada in Lancaster very close to the conference. This hotel is very run down. The elevator to the rooms is scary. It shakes and makes noises and there are signs that tell you not to hit the buttons too many times or it will shut down and will have to call maintenance to turn it back on. The room was also scary. A stained couch that is tilted downwards. A door to a balcony where the wooden slats are all rotten with moss growing up between them. The door is missing the deadbolt and the chain lock. It only had the lock on the regular handle. The bed itself was ok. Appeared to be clean but had four very lumpy pillows and the shower had good pressure. But the paint was peeling on the walls and ceilings. Just didn't feel very clean or safe here. Will definitely not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank las0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    51
    95
    140
    203
See reviews for
254
94
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

For $60 - $70 a night, one cannot expect too much for a mid-July stay. We stayed at this Ramada to enjoy Dutch Wonderland right across the street (which was, by the way, great for kids age 2 - 7). The room we stayed in on the golf-course / pool side had a balcony. It could be a much nicer view, but the balcony and grounds / pool areas were VERY undermaintained.
Rooms:
We had to stay in two rooms as we decided to stay one additional day on the day of checkout and they were unable to keep us in the same room (our fault). Both rooms were clean, but looked dirty due to the wear on the sinks, floors, tub, counter, etc. Both tubs also leaked water from the faucet constantly. Climate control was great as we were very comfortable as the temps outside were approaching 100°. Note: If you have a good deal of luggage, do not stay on Floor #3, which is the main level. There is no way to take the luggage cart from the main level to the room. In fact, there is no way to get a luggage cart to the main entrance of the hotel. I cannot confirm whether or not this is true for the first or second floors. There is an elevator in the main lobby.
Pools:
There are two: one indoors, and another outdoors. The indoor pool was extremely cloudy and not suitable (IMO) for swimming (or looking at, for that matter). The outdoor pool is huge and very nice temp and clarity. The pool, however, is in need of patch work on the gunite (or concrete). Again, maintenance is not being done really anywhere on this property. Old trees stumps litter the area. There are two tennis courts with weeds, peeling paint, and broken nets.
Staff:
The counter and complimentary breakfast staff were excellent, polite, and accommodating. The property managers / owners, however, were seemingly unpleasant. My wife and I walked by the property manager / owner a couple of times and he never smiled or acknowledged me or any other guest when I was around.
Overall:
Take these comments as they are to help you make an informed decision. There are other hotels very close that cost more, and will likely be better maintained. The property has great potential if the owners would make room updates and very easy, simple outdoor cleanup and maintenance.

Room Tip: Golf course, pool-side rooms have a better view than the street side, unless you want to see Dutch W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lancaster hotels

Winchester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Would not recommend this hotel. Outdoor pool had ducks swimming in it which cannot be sanitary. Indoor pool was slimmy and couldn't even see the bottom of the pool. Tennis courts were run down . Never got wash clothes after asking repeatedly. Elevator was so small and noisy. You felt like it would not make it. Our room AC never did cool our room. Just not a good hotel to stay in. I will say the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Hotel old and musty, rooms big but don't feel clean , shower rusty . Elevator old to point of safety hazard. Continental breakfast included, however served with paper plates/cups/ plastic utensils. Very basic .staff was very nice. Will not go back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rane2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Ok where do I begin, This hotel should either be shut down, or have a complete overhaul. Before I stayed here I thought "maybe these people are just being hard" after being here I say "no, these people are just being nice. We had to have our room key redone 4 times. The first room they put us in had a cracked refrigerator, the key would not work in the door, the lamp on the one side of the bed didn't even have a switch to turn it on, the lamp by the window had the light bulb hanging. I was amazed to see how outdated this place was, the second room they put us in looked like housekeeping never went there, there was coffee stains on the back of the toilet tank which with a damp cloth came right off, the TV had a coat of dust on the screen. I figured after seeing the pictures and the name like Ramada it would be a nice place. Boy was I wrong, when we went out to the pool the first thing you see is the tennis courts and basketball court, oh wait that is not right it is a court area but the tennis courts have weeds growing all up in the center of the court, the nets are knocked down, and the basketball court is just a rusted pole where a basketball hoop must have been years ago. Everywhere you look the hotel is dilapidated, paint chipping, cracked pavement, and anything else you could possibly think of.,

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you know what is good for you. I have to say though the people we met here an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
2 Thank Sntimentildy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Service stinks. 2 calls to get repair in room. Made to.wait 1 hour for.rep told be @ 9. Desk clerk said will.be in when she is finishing rounds when will.that be "when.she.is.finished"

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alancohen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I reserved 15 rooms for June 26/12 on arrival checking in was very professional and efficient.
Rooms were large, clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms and beddings were clean.We had
daily room service (clean towels etc). The staff was very helpful and acted in a professional
manner. We had continental breakfast daily which was well serviced.
The location is great - adjacent to Tanger Outlet Mall and across from Dutch Wonderland
Amusement Park - many restaurants close by - major attractions with 15 - 20 mins drive.
Under New Management - upgrades to building are ungoing. On completion of the upgrades
I believe this will be a 4 Star hotel.

Room Tip: Book rooms face gulf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grifficyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
Rodeway Inn Amish Country
#28 of 39 in Lancaster
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lancaster East at The Outlets
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
Red Roof Inn Lancaster
#25 of 39 in Lancaster
653 reviews
0.6 mi away
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
Knights Inn Lancaster PA
#27 of 39 in Lancaster
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Inn
Continental Inn
#26 of 39 in Lancaster
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Family Resort

Property: Lancaster Family Resort
Address: 2250 Lincoln Hwy E, Lancaster, PA 17602-1112 (Formerly Ramada Lancaster)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lancaster Family Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Family Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Lancaster Hotel Lancaster
Lancaster Quality Inn
Quality Inn Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing