We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Mahopac, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Had an overnight stay at the steamboat inn on May 17th. We had a passport package which included 2 alcoholic beverages, 2 dinners, and breakfast for two. We ate at Huckelberrys, which is a restaurant on the premises. Food was good,as was the service. The hotel room was on the third floor with a private deck which was nice, king size bed with a electric fire place. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The third floor is for adults with no children,the indoor pool is open from 10-midnight for adults o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    330
    80
    29
    17
See reviews for
897
674
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We usually visit the Lancaster area about 3 or 4 times a year for day trips, but we've never stayed overnight before. We've driven by the Fulton Steamboat Inn for years and always thought it looked so nice - it has an ideal location, so when we decided to say overnight, this was our first (and only) choice.

Our first impression of the lobby was how beautifully decorated it was - elegant and charming. I had made a reservation online so check in was a breeze. During the time we were checking in, there was a small table in the lobby with chocolate chip cookies and ice water.....what a nice touch! Our room was on the second floor and was just beautiful. We had two queen beds, and two very comfortable wing back chairs to enjoy. The beds were so comfortable, I felt like I was sleeping on a cloud. We left our window open to enjoy the cool night air and enjoyed hearing the ducks outside our room. Did I mention there were ducks on the property? They're free to roam around (outside) wherever they wish. Our bathroom was also very nice. There was an extra sink outside the bathroom, which is always a nice touch. The room also had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron/ironing board and flat screen TV with DVD player. There was an ice machine located by the elevator. Even the hallway was gorgeous - plush carpeting and gorgeous light fixtures on the ceiling. At the end of the hallway, we were able to look down and see the indoor swimming pool. We didn't do any swimming but the area looked very nice with several lounge chairs, both inside and out. Being we were looking down on the pool, we could see they painted a few pictures of Koi fish swimming in the pool. Cute idea!

The outside is just as charming. We enjoyed a walk around the property and seeing the beautiful surroundings. There's a small pond for the Koi fish and ducks - alongside there's a fire pit and Adirondack chairs to relax and enjoy the stunning country views, or enjoy a good book! There are two gazebo's with tables and chairs - perfect to have a snack or cool beverage. There's even a small playground for kids that looked really fun. (Oh, to be a kid again!)

We didn't try the restaurant, Huckleberry's, but we peeked in and it looked really nice. Next time we definitely plan on having dinner there. It would be nice if the hotel offered guests 10% off their bill, as many hotels do.

I just want to mention one more thing. This place is IMMACULATE. From our bedroom and bathroom to the hallway, lobby and outside areas, everything is super clean and in good repair.

There are many places to stay in the area but if you want something different, I would highly recommend staying at the Fulton Steamboat Inn.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences Aboard Lancaster County’s Most Unique Full Service Hotel! We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodations with us, and look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

We truly appreciate your thorough review of our property and we are glad that you decided to join us for an overnight stay! You will be happy to hear that all of our passengers receive a 10% discount in Huckleberry’s Restaurant and Tavern. Our First Class Passengers, those on the Sun Deck, receive a 15% discount in Huckleberry’s Restaurant and Tavern.

Don’t forget to check our website and Facebook for new and exciting events in Lancaster County! We look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have made this unique inn our Valentine's weekend destination the past five years. I say unique because the hotel itself is patterned after an old time steamboat, in regards to the design of the exterior of the building but this is hardly the only feature which makes a weekend getaway here extraordinary. The entrance foyer is appropriately old fashion but very ornate and quite beautiful, as is the rest of the lobby and all of the guest rooms. The entire inn has been totally renovated over the last five years and is well maintained by the management and staff. This establishment includes a restaurant, lounge, an all glass pool/jacuzzi area and the weekend reservation packages are very reasonable. The surrounding area has a number of outlet malls, dinner theaters, restaurants and attractions for all ages. My family and I would highly recommend the Fulton Steamboat Inn to anyone planning a weekend trip to the Lancaster, PA area.

Room Tip: All of the accommodations are extremely nice but if you want total room silence, do not book above t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Had a bad experience at another hotel up the road. Called here and they were very willing to accommodate us. Restaurant within the facility was delicious. Amount of food unreal. Couldn't have asked for anything nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shortymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences Aboard Lancaster County’s Most Unique Full Service Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations with us, and look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

We apologize that our neighboring hotel did not meet your standards, but we are happy to hear that were able to accommodate you. We look forward to your return!

Best Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed at the Fulton Steamboat Inn several times and I just love coming back. It is centrally located. You are able to reach any attraction in Lancaster in no time at all. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are beautifully decorated and very clean. The hotel itself is gorgeously decorated inside and the grounds outside are beautiful and relaxing. The scenery is eye catching. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mantua, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here! The hotel itself looks just like a steamboat and the whole theme is carried throughout. Beautifully decorated rooms, clean bed, lots of thick towels, great grounds outside,central location. Nice staff, nice resturant inside. We did the huckelberry breakfast ..way too much food( I guess that's a good thing!!) and delicious! The hotel is a bit pricey but we think its worth it. Wish we had time to enjoy the beautiful indoor pool but we didn't...Would definitely stay here again! would definitely recommend it! L& L NJ

Room Tip: Stay on 3 rd floor,, no children allowed,, very quiet ,,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experiences Aboard Lancaster County’s Most Unique Full Service Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations with us, and look forward to welcoming you aboard again in the near future!

Our outdoor areas are beautiful this time of year; we are thrilled to hear that you were able to enjoy them.
Don’t forget to join out Captain’s Club, which offers great discounts to those who travel with us frequently!

Best Regards,

Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I first stayed here in 2011 and returned in 2012. The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated and the service is great. This is a great hotel for families. At check in, kids get some wooden coins to exchange at the gift shop for bags of corn to feed the ducks at the pond. The grounds have a playground, gazebo and a nice pond. This is Lancaster, the heart of Amish country, so there are farms in the area. There is a bit of a smell of freshly fertilized fields, but it's not repulsive. I find it a refreshing change from smelling garbage, urine, cigarette smoke and all those lovely odors in NYC. I love how you can see the blue sky on a sunny day and clean air without all the pollution from cars, etc..There is an indoor pool, a tavern and a restaurant. I personally like the family style breakfast at the restaurant.

I found that the king size room was bigger than the double queens room(my point of view). The king room had the bed in a separate area and a small living area with a full pull out bed. The double queen just had the 2 beds. It felt a bit cramped. I will definitely be back. The rates are a bit high, especially during warm months. They do offer AAA discount rates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing