We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't wish for more fun in a one night stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We recently visited this hotel on a one night stopover on our East Coast road trip and this hotel was great! It is so themed there are jaunty tunes playing when you arrive and it really does look like a boat, except it's not! The reception were very helpful and offered us a choice of rooms, we stayed on the middle floor in a nice room with 2 queen beds. The rooms were enormous! We went straight out for dinner across the road at the Olive Garden and then we went back and enjoyed almost sole use of the lovely pool and hot tub, which are in the glass-paned area at the front of the 'boat'! There wasn't any complimentary breakfast unfortunately so we went to McDonald's. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to go back and stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

stayed at the Steamboat Inn one night while attending the nearby Sight and Sound Theater..very convenient to the theater and eating places in the area...the hotel is a novelty and very attractive in the steamboat motif..rooms were clean and comfortable..the kids enjoyed the bunk beds in the room which is a great addition for travelling families..the amenities were standard fare...beds were comfortable...and generally the room was typical hotel fare..noise in the hallway was easiy heard in the rooms in spite of reminders by the staft via signs posted in the hallways to be respectful of sleeping guests...so the hotel attempts to minimize noise...the indoor pool area was clean and very nice....no real complaints but just thought the cost was a bit high for an otherwise standard room in winter season.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderer69_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent one night here on our way from Philadelphia to Washington DC. The hotel is on actual land though built to look like a steamboat. We booked a room on the Sun Deck, which is for adults only - no kids allowed.
Check in was painless and the staff were friendly. We asked about some local tourist attractions, (in particular quilt stores) but they were not able to answer any of our questions.
The rooms are lovely and spacious as well as exceptionally clean. The only downside to the hotel is the entire place reeked of cinnamon - which unfortunately I can't strand the smell of. I understand wanting to get into the "fall" atmosphere but they really need to lay off the scent.
The hotel is located on a main intersection, but we couldn't hear any traffic noise from our room.
We used the laundry facilities while we were there and my husband used the pool, but I didn't. We did have breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next morning. The food was wonderful and reasonably priced.
I'm marking the hotel down on sleep quality as the cinnamon effected me so much I spent half the night sneezing and wheezing.
All in all we had a good stay and I would recommend the hotel if you are planning a visit to Amish Country.

Room Tip: Stay on the sun deck so you don't have kids running up and down the hall ways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stay here every year and it just gets better and better year after year. The staff is wonderful! The rooms are always clean and comfy. The playground is so fun (and safe!). My kids LOVE feeding the ducks! The pool and hot tub are a plus. The Inn is also so close to the outlets as well as plenty of restaurants... but I highly recommend eating at Huckleberry's. The food is SO good!! We just love eating there and the bar is great too. It's just an overall fantastic time for literally everyone!!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Love the Victorian period decor in this Inn. Very warm and inviting atmosphere, quaint little shoppes and delicious food in the restaurant all add to the charm of The Fulton Steamboat Inn. We also enjoy the indoor pool every time we stay here.

Room Tip: Higher floors are larger and decorated more elegantly. First level great size and atmosphere for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ANTHONY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a quick mid-week getaway. Our accommodations were so luxurious that we decided to stay another night. The Fulton Steamboat Inn is a far cry from ordinary hotels. The Inn is by far one of the cleanest and well-maintained properties we've ever stayed at. And the little touches in the room did not go unnoticed. There are ceramic coffee cups and real glasses for beverages (none of those plastic wrapped squishy styrofoam or plastic cups), luxurious bathrobes, an abundance of thick oversized towels, and Bath and Body Works lotion, soaps, shampoo, and conditioner. Our room was huge, well-appointed, and the king bed was extremely comfortable. And the bathroom was large enough to dance in! (We were on the Sun-Deck which we highly recommend.) As for the hotel amenities, we enjoyed the hot-tub, the game room, fresh-baked cookies, cocktails in the lounge and, in particular, the fire pit...our absolute favorite! We cannot say enough good things about our stay and we are already planning another visit there. We highly recommend The Fulton Steamboat Inn as an alternative to an ordinary hotel stay in the Lancaster area. It is evident that the owners, management and staff take great pride in the Inn and everyone we spoke with indicated that they loved their jobs. We had an awesome time and would like to thank management again for all they did to make our stay enjoyable. We will be indeed be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa_Bowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This summer, my family spent a night at The Fulton Steamboat in Lancaster. It actually looks like a steamboat, but I was pleased to find it very tasteful, welcoming and not at all exploitative of its kitsch factor. Their Huckleberry breakfast was truly fantastic. The service at check in, the gift shop and restaurant were exceptionally friendly. Arlene in the gift shop was even caring for an injured duck. Speaking of, there are tons of ducks to feed. The landscaping outside is well thought out and offers a large pond, a cow pasture, an inviting stone fire pit, several gazebos, plenty of well placed Adirondack chairs, a pirate ship playground and machines with duck feed. The room was clean and decor, appropriate. We all found the beds warm and comfortable, which is always a huge plus. It is a great value for families and I can see why it is one of the top hotels in Lancaster County.

A few more on site perks at Fulton Steamboat include ragtime and jazz music gently filling the hallways. A very nice pool area that has both family hours and adult only hours. The top level offers suites decorated in period furniture but are still very affordable. There is a convenient room filled with helpful brochures of area history, maps and attractions. They also offer a lot of local discounts for being hotel guests including major theme parks. Not to mention they send you home with a nifty "I Slept On A Steamboat" postcard to commemorate your stay. Great for scrapbook geeks like myself.

The Fulton Steamboat is in a fairly busy area close to the shopping outlets and a number of chain restaurants. We got a late night snack at The Waffle House, which was a first for us. It is across the street from Lost Treasure Adventure Mini Golf. This was open until 11pm, so we enjoyed a night game on their cave course. Tough course and very cool layout. They also offer a pirate ship course and adventure maze.

The next day we explored the various ill named towns around Amish Country, each prettier than the next. I have been through here quickly a time or two in my life and always wished I had more time to spend. A lot is closed on Sunday's, but we really enjoyed what was open. We went to a few kitschy but fun trading posts and gift shops like Dutch Haven and Plain & Fancy. We would have stayed at the latter for a meal, but they had a 45min wait. We visited the Choo Choo Barn, as my father has always had a love for model trains. None of us could believe how much love and detail went into this monumental setup. Many of the figures around the scenes of the train tracks moved and were engaged in intricate scenes. We saw a circus, the Dutch Wonderland Amusement Park, dramatic fire rescues, a farmer being outsmarted by a ground hog, a parade, replica service stations and so much more.

We were very impressed with our stay at the Fulton Steamboat. It was affordable, convenient and charming and we will happily return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Lancaster (Amish Country), PA
6.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Lancaster - Rockvale Outlets
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $94 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing