We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fabulous service, very family friendly!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fulton Steamboat Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fabulous service, very family friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fulton Steamboat Inn for 2 nights last October while checking out the local attractions (the location was convenient to all in Lancaster). I chose it based on the great trip advisor reviews. We were not disappointed, nor were my two boys, ages 6 and 2. The hotel is made to really look like a cruise ship both inside and out. They have a fish pond running all the way around the boat (and the kids can feed the fish). The hotel is literally shaped like a cruise ship on the exterior. In addition, there is a large pond with lots of ducks next to the hotel, as well as lovely gardens and seating areas. There was also a fabulous, new playground shaped like a pirate ship. Inside the hotel at check in, my kids were each given paper sailor hats which they loved. The hotel also offers a free selection of DVD's that can be borrowed and watched in your room. The gentleman who checked us in asked if I would like a bed rail for my toddler (this had been a HUGE concern of mine since he no longer sleeps in a pack n play but is used to a bed rail on his bed at home). I was so suprised a hotel would even offer something like this (and without my asking), and it made my time that much better because I didn't have to be concerned about him rolling out of bed all night :) The rooms were spacious and clean. We had a room with 2 queen beds. They do have rooms with a king bed and then a bunk bed for the kids which would've been fun, but they were all booked. There is also a nice gift shop and a restaurant in the hotel. We ate breakfast here both mornings, mainly because it was convenient. The food was just average, acceptable but nothing special. There was also a nice pool which my husband and kids enjoyed. Overall great stay, very accomodating and lots to do on the hotel grounds for kids! Bonus - tons of outlets right across the street! Would definitely return if back in the area. *TIP - ask to join the captain's club when making your reservation, at least as of last fall they were running a Sunday night special to stay for only $50 if you joined the captain's club (which is FREE to do and really means nothing! :)

Room Tip: I would probably avoid the first floor rooms if possible - there is alot of activity on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spec784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    285
    70
    24
    15
See reviews for
786
592
22
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is our second stay here. We stayed a long while ago (10 yrs I'd say), so it was nice to see the upgrades.

It's in a perfect location for accessing all Lancaster has to offer. Even with the bustle of the surrounding roads and outlets accross the street, the property is situated so as you feel you are in the country (see pics).

Our room was cozy. It did still have a slight old smell as most hotels have from being open so long and having maybe a history of smoking, but it was clean and comfy. There was a coffee maker and fridge in room. We didn't get to swim, but the pool looked so inviting. The bar area is quant and the bartender was nice. You can take drinks back to your room too. There was fresh cookies in the lobby with coffee if I remember. They started decorating for Christmas, so the inside was so warm and inviting.

The outside is wonderful. I could see a nice summer evening, hanging by the pond at the fire pit, beer in hand after a long day of shopping. The bar keeps a local brew on tap. Good beer! There are various areas of seating around the pond including a gazebo with tables and chairs. Lovely for a picnic. The kids play area is nice too. The ducks know the second a person is there and will be out of the water just waiting for food. Bring lots of quarters :-).

Location within 30 mins drive or less to major shopping areas, crafts, antiques, Kitchen Kettle Villiage, both main outlets, Strasburg Railroad (will post pics), and Shady Maple (yum...in our opinion the best smorgasbord in town)!

Room Tip: Join Admirals club to recieve discount nights in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aerofan4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here last year and cam back becuase the Steamboat is AMAZING! The pool is fabulous. The room is decorated with the best furniture! The Staff is great! The restaurant ia the BEST! The entertainment is so charming! The location is wonderful! I highly reccomend this for couples, families and I'd love to have a business meeting here!

Room Tip: The 3rd foor is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyPam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We recently stayed here with two other families. The staff was superb, accommodating, and friendly! The front desk staff were amazing. The rooms were immaculate will definitely be back! Upon our arrival the asst manager who was checking is in remembered my daughters name because our friends had checked in several hours before and told her they were waiting for us! My daughter is four and she was all smiles after especially after she received her hat also! Wonderful stay! Wonderful staff!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just got home from spending 2 nights to celebrate our anniversary. All i can say is WOW !! From the time we checked in the service of everyone was fantastic. Our room was not ready but I think her name was Marissa came out to our car to catch us and say our room was ready . Upon arriving in our room was a split of champagne & a certificate for 2 desserts at dinner. I was stunned. We celebrated our 35th at Disney and not even a Happy anniversary. The inn is spotless . The food in both the restaurant and bar was GREAT!! My husband will be 60 in Sept. & he said he wants to go back to celebrate his birthday at the Fulton Steamboat Inn . So i will be seeing all of you soon Thank You for the best 40th anyone could ask for !!!!!

Room Tip: Not a peep was heard on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grammy520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband,our friends and I all agreed,that The Fulton Steamboat Inn was a wonderful experience. The staff could not have been more pleasant and accommodating.They were also FUN!! The hotel itself was spotless,the decor tasteful,and interesting. The food in both the restaurant and pub was VERY good. We all agreed that we would go back again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brownsmills, nj
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have been coming here since it opened. one thing has stayed the same. quality of the hotel has always been excellant. this time we stayed in a king room on the 3rd floor. a larger room with a sofa in front of the tv. room fully stocked. 3rd floor always nice and quiet and can have a better view looking out the window. checkin always quick and easy. plenty of parking. close to everything. the pool area just the right tempature. i use the hot tub which is just perfect. not many children around when you stay on a sunday. so it was quieter than usual. theres a burn pit out by the pond. if you want a fire by the chlily winter nights theres patio tables and chairs there. plenty ducks to keep you company also. everyone there so helpful. hotel has a nautical theme as it should for a steamboat. on thing missing is the steam whistle. i have always stayed here on my visits and will continue to do so in the future.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is adults only. is the quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank armydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lancaster
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
2.2 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#14 of 37 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing