We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ship in a Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ship in a Storm”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Here we go again, had ti evacuate the Jersey Shore with the pending Hurricane Sandy. The first time was last August, 2011. Call the previous GM Peter, who said come on out. This time I called the new GM Joseph, who also stated to come on out. It is nice to know that the Fulton Steamboat can be our port in a storm.
We had stay here two weeks ago for our normal Fall get away (never planning on being here so soon). We notice that under the new GM things were running as good as our previous stay. The new GM has firm grip on the ships wheel and the Fulton is being steer in excellent course.
The staff here as in the past are still great, friendly and helpful. The Building and grounds being maintain by a caring staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,873 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    322
    77
    28
    17
See reviews for
868
658
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We recently stayed at the Fulton Steamboat and had a wonderful time. The service, front desk, bar, restaurant and housekeeping was great. We were on the 3rd floor which is reserved for adults so it was very quiet and restful. The decor is great and makes you feel like you are on a ship. The food in the restaurant was great.

We will stay there again on our next trip to Lancaster.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is our first trip back to Fulton Steamboat Inn in a few years, it has been newly redecorated and it shows. We had a king size "sundeck" room on the 3rd floor with fireplace. We found it very clean and well appointed. The third floor is reserved for adults, so it was also quiet but it is also a family-friendly place. The only problem we had, and it was very minor, is the pool and hot tub are supposed to be adults only from 10 pm - midnight. It was well past 10 and there were two families with small children there running around and in the hot tub. I realize the hotel staff cannot police this and is not responsible for inconsiderate guests. Overall a nice stay. We did not eat in the restaurants, but did get a drink at the bar; service was good.

Room Tip: Adults who want a quiet stay should choose the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nana3lov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Immensely happy with our stay here!
Loved every inch of this place; I think I had a smile plastered on my face from the minute we walked in the door all the way to our room. All the decor (furniture, tin ceiling tiles, woodwork, ornate door knockers) makes you believe you walked into a regal hotel in New Orleans. Our room was just as amazing with a king sized bed, fireplace, beautiful drapery treatments and furniture. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful to everyone and they even had fresh chocolate chip cookies and lemonade in the lobby to snack on while you waited or just passing through.
I highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenzebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

There's a new crew at Fulton and they either won't, don't or can't speak English. Therefore, don't expect to have any verbal request or question answered in English. My usual reservation is for two rooms, made months in advance. After three years it was last year's stay that broke the camel's back.

My daughter's room had broken cookies on the window sill and in the frame. When the housekeeping person knocked and was told not to enter, she did anyway. They made over the lobby and neglected the housekeeping. The management needs to know CLEAN IS IMPORTANT!!.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LONGISLANDER21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay in November 2011, aboard the Fulton Steamboat Inn. We aim to provide all of our guests with a memorable experience, and I apologize that we uncharacteristically fell short last year.

Room cleanliness is a top priority and our staff works diligently to uphold the standards set in place. We are confident the Fulton Steamboat Inn remains one of the cleanest hotels in Lancaster County but we will continue to find ways to improve.

As your experience is not indicative of our superior focus to guests, and our teams' dedication to creating memorable experiences, I would enjoy talking with you further about your past experience and hope we can welcome you aboard the Fulton Steamboat Inn again in the near future.

Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.


Kind Regards,


Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Joseph@FultonSteamboatInn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, NJ
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My sister and I take my mom to the Steamboat every October for her Birthday! We shop, see a show, sightsee and have dinner at Huckelberrys' We have been going to this hotel for about 20 yrs. We started going when our kids were small and the ladies at the front desk were dressed in long dresses and hats like in victorian times. The hotel was great then and very clean. Then it went through a period of mismanagement and it went down hill. ripped rugs were held together by tape, rooms were damp and dreary, walking in the hallways was actually scary. We stopped coming for about 7 yrs. Then it came back to and it was wonderful! But this trip we were disappointed! The linens were not changed in one of the beds. Full of hair and you could tell the difference between the two beds! The sheets are supposed to be white but are dingy and dark. The bathroom was not that clean either. The hotel itself is so beautiful it is a shame. We paid $200.00 for the one nite and was so disappointed with the uncleanliness of the room! We told the front desk upon checkout and all she said was ill tell my manager. Well I dont think we will be back. There are alot of hotels in lancaster to stay in and they have cleanliness guarantees!

Room Tip: We were given room 217. Make sure you dont get this room. The view from the window are the ducts o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hadfunatbayside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JosephChiccarine, General Manager at Fulton Steamboat Inn, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Steamboat Passenger,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay aboard the Fulton Steamboat Inn. We aim to provide all of our guests with a memorable experience, and I apologize that we uncharacteristically fell short on this occasion.

Room cleanliness is our top priority and our staff works diligently to uphold the standards set in place. Our guest rooms are decorated to fit the theme of the Hotel and each room is unique in its offerings right down to the linen. Many of our guest rooms feature bone white linen, rather than crisp bright white linen. We are confident that we will resolve any cleanliness issues in our guest rooms, and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to the Fulton Steamboat Inn.

We would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future, as your recent experience is not indicative of our superior focus to guests, and our teams' dedication to creating memorable experiences. I would enjoy talking with you further about your experience and hope we can welcome you aboard the Fulton Steamboat Inn again in the near future. Please contact me directly at your earliest convenience.

Kind Regards,


Joseph A. Chiccarine
General Manager
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Joseph@FultonSteamboatInn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The picture on the internet was enticing and looked like you were really on water. Well upclose was a different story. There is pond like water on one side but nothing like the photo. Some of the lights were burnt out so at night it just kind of looked weird. The inside was decorated beautifully and the front desk was not as friendly as I thought they would be. Our room was nicely decorated but when I peeked inside the room beside of us I felt my upgrade was lost. The other room flowed better with the old time look down to the antique rotary phone. We had a business looking phone that really ruined the antique look I feel they were going with. The bed was not comfortable and for some reason went down hill a little so the covers at night were at the bottom.

I will say that the breakfast was wonderful at the Huckelberry and the service was great and friendly.

The stay was not worth the price with the other options available.

Room Tip: Stayed on the sun deck and had room 311. Make sure to ask that you DONT get this room. It is directl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pjwilliams69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.7 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
915 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Lancaster
2.1 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 39 in Lancaster
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing