We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay we did not expect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Pa.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay we did not expect!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Fulton Steamboat Inn was indeed a surprise. We thought it might be a bit cheesy with the Steamboat theme. It was anything but. Wonderful place. Clean. Well appointed. Very nice staff. Decor was amazing. Just like you would find in a steamboat. Very comfortable beds.
Nice bathroom.
We stayed in the Sun Deck King. LOVED IT. Ceiling fan was nice because it was an unusually warm October day. Did not get to use the electric fireplace.
We had dinner in the restaurant and it was wonderful. The salad was very fresh. I had the Yankee Pot Roast. YUMMY. Everyone at my table loved their food. The next morning we had breakfast. The french toast is to die for. Huge servings, so beware. The bacon and sausage were high quality and done perfectly.
The room was surprisingly quiet at night. You can hear the cars when you have the sliders open, but it is very quiet when it is closed.
But remember, you are in Lancaster. There are cows everywhere. If you don't like the smell of them, then don't go to Lancaster. Don't blame that on the hotel. The view from our room was a beautiful field of corn. But also some of the parking lot. We really did not care.
They also have a wonderful pond filled with ducks. Gazebo. Fire pit. All well done and very relaxing. All in all, I plan to return. Thank you Fulton Steamboat Inn! Well done.

Room Tip: Ask for a King sundeck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    317
    77
    28
    17
See reviews for
855
651
24
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently stayed at the Fulton Steamboat Inn and just loved it. It was unique - looked just like a steamboat. They have really nice grounds where you can sit and relax and watch or feed the ducks. We arrived around noon and our room was ready. It was immaculate, as was all areas of the property. The staff was friendly and helpful. We're looking forward to staying there again when we visit Lancaster.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tango2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We reserved for 1 night, but ended up staying two nights. Unfortunately and fortunately we had to move rooms. Unfortunately because my 6 year old loved sleeping in a bunk bed, the decor was so cool like a little boat itself and much bigger than our second room. Fortunately, the room smelled bad like mildew, so it was good we moved. It probably wasn't good for our lungs. Even though the room was smaller the second night, they had us pay more since we didn't reserve in advance, which was a bummer. But I guess since they were high occupancy, it is okay, although when I worked in a hotel for and a guest needed to stay another night, we wouldn't charge them an extra 10 dollars plus tax for a smaller room even if they didn't haven't reserved the second night. We would have just kept the same rate, unless of course, the rate significantly changed because of weekend to weekday. The second room did not smell though. The pool was nice, had a hot tub as well. I really enjoyed the play area for the kids, my lil one loved playing there. Also, it is close to shops and putt-putt which we walked to. There is a ducks walking around too. The looks on the outside are really cool. We will stay there again I think. Although the restaurant was not good, except for one item, I will review restaurant separately.

Room Tip: Our first smelly room was towards the front desk, and our non smelly room was all the way down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikeChula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOlland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We saved up to stay in this hotel, and I am so happy to say that it was SO well worth it! We were rather early to check in, but this proved no problem at all, reception staff was very welcoming. Upon entering the room we were astonished by the room: so luxureous and so spacious.

Bar staff was beyond expectation and prices were reasonable. I particularly liked the duck pond and koi pond, being keen on animals.

The only slight disappointment was breakfast, which we booked in advanced. Nothing wrong with it, but being Europeans it was not quite to our taste (pancakes, hash browns, sausages) but this was only a minor thing!

I wish I knew such a hotel in Europe!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaasmeisje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

When in the Lancaster area, this is our favorite place to stay. The staff and "crew" are always friendly and helpful. Our most recent stay was 9/10/2012--9/16/2012. When I book reservations, I always ask for the King w/bunks. [our adult sons generally travel with us, and this is the best option for us] The rooms are a comfortable size and reasonably priced.

Unfortunately for me this trip, I ended up with a severe attack of the shingles in the middle of our vacation. The staff was extremely helpful in directing us to a local urgent care facility complete with directions to get us there when my husband went to the front desk to explain what was going on. The entire crew, especially Arlene Lapp was concerned about how we made out at the clinic and asked daily until check-out how I was feeling. Made me feel lots better knowing someone cared!

The meals at Huckelberry's were very good. . . .I always get the Belgium waffle for breakfast, and for the price, this is a good deal. Lunch and dinner specials are listed on the chalk-board outside the entrance, and there is always something good in adition to what is on the menu. Weekends, there is a piano player on site, and on weekends, reservations for dinner are recommended

Also on site, is an indoor pool and hot-tub. The area is always imaculate and a good place to relax. However, there is no lifeguard on duty, so be aware of that. The only problem here is the parents that tend to use the hot-tub as a swimming pool for their underage children even though it is posted that no children under the age of 12 are allowed to use the hot-tub. However that is the stupidity of the parents and not the fault of the Inn even though you report the problem to the front desk, these parents take the children out when the front desk comes into the area, and tells them it's posted, only to let the little ones back into the hot-tub once te staff member leaves. Again, the parents not the Inn.

There is a playground on site for the little ones with a solid wood playscape in the shape of a ship for them to climb all over. A Koy pond surrounding the Steamboat, filed with the Koy. You can get food to feed the fish in the gift shoppe. There is a duck pond with a fountain in the middle, and the pond is surrounded by a walking path. Sometimes, depending on the time of year, near the duck pond, they will have staff put a fire in the fire pit [good place to sit in the evening and relax. The time frame for the fire pit is 6pm--10pm, and you are responsible for adding wood once staff as it started for the evening. They don't always have it lit, so please check with staff first.

Fulton's Steamboat Inn is centrally located on Rtes 30 & 896 across the way from the outlet stores. Up the road a bit [896] one is close to Strasburg Railroad and the railroad museum. Also on 896 are te Living Waters, and Millieum Theater wit live shows of a spiritual nature. If you are eading there, please purcase tickets way ahead of time before eading down. Across the road [896] are the outlet stores, and if you are a "shopper" you will not be disappointed with the variety of shops, quality of the merchandise and the prices. You are also "up the road a piece" [Rte 30] from the American Music Theater [great music shows] Dutch Wonderland [good place, small amusement park for families with small children up to age 12] numerous resturants; newest to the area on our last trip, Arigato, Japanese Habachi
grill. . . . .excellent food for the price. Don't be scared away by hearing it's Japanese, even tho they offer Sushi and Shemei, there is plently to choose from that you will be pleased with. Please give this excellent eatery a chance!

Room Tip: call far enough in advance to be sure to get the type of room you want. Rooms with bunks are ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerusha2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just came back from the Fulton Steamboat Inn and my husband and I are looking forward to planning our next trip in a few months. The employees are warm and friendly (especially David who works in the Tavern). The room was clean and comfortable. We couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaimie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We checked into our room on the first floor and it smelled kind of musky, due to the fact it had been raining for several days. Scott apologized and immediately moved us to another room on the second floor. Later, we saw him putting in a dehumidifier into that room......the customer service here outshines all other resorts in Lancaster.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms Are awesome, first class!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
6.6 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.6 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
2.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lancaster / PA Dutch Country
2.1 mi away
Country Inn of Lancaster
Country Inn of Lancaster
#15 of 38 in Lancaster
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fulton Steamboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fulton Steamboat Inn

Property: Fulton Steamboat Inn
Address: Routes 30 and 896, Lancaster, PA 17602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lancaster
#2 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#12 Business Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fulton Steamboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book a passage today on the Fulton Steamboat Inn and discover the same style and dedication to comfort and fine dining that made the legendary riverboats famous! Experience the 19th century charm of Lancaster County at the perfect venue conveniently located within minutes of the American Music Theatre, Sight and Sound Millennium Theatre, over 200 Outlet stores, the Strasburg Rail Road, Dutch Wonderland and beautiful Amish Farmland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Fulton Steamboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fulton Steamboat Hotel Lancaster
Hotel Fulton Steamboat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing