We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot get better in Lancaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot get better in Lancaster”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

One of many Marriott's i can recommend, however this one needs to be commented in written. Stayed in many Marriott's but this is a big plus. Location is top, the building is immaculate (love the mixture between old and new), service at the reception is lovely, room is spacious and great views (if you don't have fog...). As we were tired from a long trip, we decided to eat at the hotel restaurant. Not really something we do normally, but did not feel líke looking... And what a surprise... Great service, great food (innovative), good recommendations and we loved the uniforms of the staff... So nice to see a perfect hotel! It's that Lancaster is not in Europe, otherwise you would have seen me more... Tanx

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss-Dutch-cheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    347
    101
    25
    14
See reviews for
242
221
35
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2010

What a surprise to enter the lobby from the square in Lancaster. For years as a child, I came with my parents to shop at Watt and Shand. What a beautiful hotel inside the facade of the old store. We had a great conference and the hotel was wonderful. The staff was very accomodating. I am looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sm3m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

I attended college in Lancaster years ago and have been returning as a visitor a few times a year to see old friends and revisit the area. For years, my partner and I stayed in a local B&B which subsequently closed. We then stayed in a series of Route 30 motels.

I have stayed in the brand new Marriott Penn Square twice since it opened late last year. It is closer to a four than three star hotel. Great beds, large LCD TV, perfect central location, excellent staff and service, and, of course, everything is NEW.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jagmiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

The lobby in this hotel is beautiful and the holiday decorations were gorgeous. The staff was friendly and the hotel is spotless. The room is clean, and the bedding is luxurious, the bed being the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in (until this hotel the most comfortable bed was the Marriott Marquis in Times Square). The room does not have a refrigerator, microwave or coffee maker (other than the one cup maker which is useless) and at 240 $$ for the night was overpriced. There is a restaurant and large bar area downstairs and the hotel is walking distance to Annie Baileys a terrific restaurant/bar.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyjoool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2010

This hotel has a very welcoming feeling with excellent service. The room was lovely and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast at the hotel restaurant every morning. We also enjoyed the restaurant bar area that served light meals and appetizers. The hotel is located in the heart of beautiful Lancaster, and we could walk to the Opera House, market place, restaurants and shops. It made for a lovely vacation. We also enjoyed the nice fitness center within the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzyJacksonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

Have stayed twice since August on business. There's much to like, but, i'd have to put at the top the high level of customer service. In August I was having difficulty with entering my room due to a problem with the door lock (the hotel had just opened for business and was experiencing a few birthing pains). Everybody from the manager to the maintenance man made me feel like my problem was the most important thing they were dealing with and made certain that I was resituated in a premium rooom for my inconvenience.

On my retunr in December, I found the staff to be as welcoming and caring as they were during my first visit.

Hotel is in a great location; right in the heart of downtown Lancaster. Convention Center adjoins hotel. Rooms on upper floors have great views of the area.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bnslmt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2010

This brand new hotel is beautifully appointed, with one of the best fitness centers I have seen at a Marriott, or any hotel of a similar price point. There is a small spa, too, although I did not have occasion to use it and it needs to be booked in advance. The pool is lovely, on a high floor with nice views. All three amenities are on the same floor. The rooms were spacious and quite nice also. The restaurant was excellent, with both an interesting menu and a stylish sense of place. Good for both social and business gatherings.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bnslmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#6 of 39 in Lancaster
926 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#19 of 39 in Lancaster
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing