We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Lancaster Marriott has very spacious, sophisticated, comfortable and clean rooms. Service upon check-in was spectacular and I was most pleased with the service I received from the front desk staff. The location is very great since you are Downtown and are near many great bars, restaurants and other attractions. Now, with most Downtown hotels, you will have to pay a bit more due to location, but here at the Marriott, you are going to look at $200 or more a night for a basic room. Overall, my experience at this location was very good, the only complaint I have is the high prices for the room and various other amenities. I am a local here in Lancaster, and I would suggest that if you don't mind driving a bit to get to your hotel, check out the Eden Resort instead. Their rates are very competitive and they have superior service and very clean rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank yeaitsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (854)
There are newer reviews for Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 854 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at the Lancaster Marriott before but always on business. This visit was for some R&R and we had a wonderful stay. When I have thought of accommodations in Lancaster in the past it's been some sort of 1960's time wrap with a motel type accommodations across from an aging amusement park and horse buggy holding up traffic on a two lane road. The Marriott has changed this narrative. The room is what I have come to expect from Marriott. The room was was a nice size. The bed was above par, comfortable with just enough firmness to give a restful night sleep. The bathroom shower was invigorating. We stayed in a corner room on the 18th floor which give wonderful view of Lancaster and beyond on two sides. While there a thunder and lighting storm came up Wow. The service was great and very attentive. The complimentary Whoopie pie during check in is a nice touch. The bar and restaurant have a real electic feel while still paying homage to there Amish roots. Two areas that could be a little better are
1. The parking: If you plan to self park the garage entrance is round the corner there is a bridge from garage to the hotel but it can be a considerable walk to front desk and even further to your room there could also be better signage on how to get to the front desk. If you plan to valet allow 20 min or more especially if they are busy to retrieve your vehicle.
2. The internet was at the slower end of what I have come to expect. ( but I am here some R&R right) but it was still on the slow side. I think the Lancaster Marriott has become my top choice while in Lancaster and I am looking forward to returning.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Marriott need to get better customer service when it comes to price match. When you make a room reservation with Marriott it could not have been better, but trying to get price match, it could not have been worse. Emails back and forth and still not the correct dept.
Marriott need help in this area. I have a Marriott reward card but it does not help. My Hilton card is much better. Marriott need a lot of help in this area.
Roger Rohrs

Room Tip: Do not try to use price match
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Rog S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Thank you for your response and I apologize for any inconveniences that you may have experienced with Marriott. If you would like to further discuss your concerns please contact me directly at 717-207-4009.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed at this truly excellent hotel from the curbside Valet to checkout , our service was truly excellent . Location in Downtown Lancaster meant we didn't see the car till we were ready to leave which was perfect after our 2 hr drive from NJ. We went for Dutch Wonderland with the kids and my wife got the treat of an outlet mall we didn't realize was across the street from Dutch Wonderland . Price at the amusement park was extremely reasonable . We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: We stayed on 7th floor, it was fine.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I was attending a convention at the Lancaster Convention Center, so was glad to be able to stay at this adjacent hotel. The staff was very friendly, and our room was clean and comfortable. The one criticism I have of the hotel is that they simply don't have enough elevators for the number of rooms - particularly when the hotel guests are conference attendees on the same schedule. The elevators were slow, and we often found them full when the doors opened. In our last day there, one elevator seemed to be out of service, which aggravated the problem. I did find the stairs, and used them whenever possible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MaybeMBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night . The hotel is very nice in a nice area of Lancaster. The staff were very nice when we checked in and out. The only negative for us was the elevators, we waited for about 15 minutes for an elevator. We were on the 19th floor so we did not really want to walk down the stairs with a suitcase. I was very happy with the hotel and had a nice stay.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments in regards to your stay, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

we had a 2 day business meeting in Lancaster. The hotel is fairly new, less the 7 years old. the drive up and entrance to the hotel is a bit small with limited parking. the staff was pleasant and helpful. the room was nice size, although the bed was not as firm as i would like. the food was good, not anything special. there are a number of bars and restaurants nearby, but we only visited one, for a beer on its deck, an Irish Pub, the name escapes me now.

Room Tip: Parking is not well defined. Most people have to drive around the block 2 or 3 times to find the par...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ejkiup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 39 in Lancaster
954 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $176 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing