We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice option in Downtown Historic Lancaster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice option in Downtown Historic Lancaster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I'm currently staying here for a business trip. The hotel is in downtown Lancaster, within walking distance of bars, restaurants, antique stores, galleries. The hotel is 20 floors and towers over most buildings in the immediate area. I am a Marriott Gold level and have a room on the top floor of the building. The view is nice and open of the surrounding towns. The room looks recently updated weith modern colors, wall hangings. The bathroom also has been updated. The room is average size, quiet (request a room on a higer floor as it could be noisy as the street it fronts is the main street through the downtown area). The beds are a little firm for my taste, I prefer the beds at SPG properties. The gym is a little bigger than typical for a hotel this size with nice updated cardio machines, and free weights. I did not use the pool but it looked very clean. The service in the hotel restaraunt is a little slow, although I'm a New Yorker and used to quick service. Overall, very nice property, and would stay here again if I need to come back to the area. Good option for business travelers and leisure traveliers.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Waitingforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    307
    77
    16
    12
See reviews for
207
191
30
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed at the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square two nights. Busy hotel, American Gold Star Mother conference and a couple weddings happening while we were there. Very clean hotel, room was very comfortable. Delicious breakfast in the restaurant each morning. Staff was helpful when we needed directions, etc. Walked downtown, which was closed off, and watched the fireworks on Friday evening. At night you could hear the city traffic but you are, after all, in the downtown area. All in all, a nice stay.

Green Features: Separate container in room to recycle plastic water/soda bottles.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SAnn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

As far as Marriott properties go, this is a gem tucked into a relatively small town. I have stayed here a number of times, beautiful lobby, nice bar/restaurant, great views from high floors. Have stayed for business and pleasure. A relaxing spot away from the strip malls of Route 30.

Room Tip: High floor facing West or North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajwalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Booked this room for a one night stay during Thomas the Tank"" weekend but I was there for my best friends wedding, and as they were staying at the hotel I figured it would be nice to be close with them. I've stayed @ Marriott before and knew exactly what to expect, great service, clean comfortable rooms and spacious bathrooms. However my best friends experience was a little different as they had their room paid for them which was to also include a bottle of champagne and some strawberries etc. for their first night as newlyweds, however there was some error and this did not occur. (disappointing to say the least) However! They did comp breakfast for their family the next morning in light of the mistake made earlier. Also just be careful with the charges on your card and be sure to know your rate before you book and sign in at the front desk! Great location to be in if you're in the area!

Room Tip: Higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My family took a weekend trip to Lancaster and picked the Marriott because of the name. The location is great with many restaurants within a few blocks.
The room although very clean and we'll maintained had no air circulation. And the bathroom was very spacious had not AC vents which made it necessary to open the bathroom door to disappate the steam from the shower.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam S, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback, we appreciate it. Our goal is to provide all of our guests with an exceptional experience and if you would like to discuss your experience further please feel free to reach out to me directly at (717) 239-1600.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer City, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My Grandson,Kyle McTavish was married at this Marriott on June 14,2014..everyone was so accommodating...the room was very clean..we loved the 2reading lights attached tIo the headboard..I was very pleased with our meals too... at the wedding and breakfast..if we go to the other side of the state again, I'd love to stay again!

Room Tip: We were in room 1208. It had a nice view
See more room tips
Green Features: The entire place was very neat, clean & smelled fresh! the staff all had sincere friendly smiles and were eager to accommodate everyone...
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Really liked this hotel. Service was excellent. Restaurant was also quite good by hotel standards. I would highly recommend. Seems to cater to conventions, so that was all I saw of other hotel patrons. That said, the staff was very warm and welcoming to a vacationer like me.

Green Features: Seemed to adhere to environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Eden Resort & Suites
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#17 of 37 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#3 of 37 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 South Queen Street, Lancaster, PA 17603
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing