We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with service only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are always happy with Marriott hotel brands especially with our favorite
Residence Inn. We tried this Marriott and were impressed right away with the
cleanliness and comfortable bed that Marriott is famous for.
Our only disappointment is when our bags were brought to our rooms.
We had 4 bags and one of the bags was not ours and informed the bellboy
right away.
He went down and brought another bag which is still not ours. I had to describe
to him how our bag look like, and finally, we got the correct bag.
I informed him that our bags were tagged and they should match the tags instead
of guessing.He said that there were no tags.
Later on, I reported the incident to the front desk who tagged our bags
and told her that the tags were missing
The excuse that was given to me did not make sense and was really disappointed
with the way my complaint was handled.


.

Room Tip: We got the front entrance view on the 11th floor which gave us a good view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 888 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stayed here for a dance competition so i didnt choose the location but would stay here by choice in the future. The place is clean, comfortable and convenient. They offer discount parking rates with valet options. The restaurants have good, reliable food with entertainment and a busy bar scene. Just a suggestion, more staff for weekends when its known there will be full capacity. We love your food but we need to be able to eat it. The restaurants have some of the weirdest rules I've ever encounter. The town is historic and quaint with several restaurants and stores to walk to.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissygirlrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Very clean hotel. Visited on a weekend in late spring with family. Front desk had some issues finding our room, as we checked in very late. Juan and Ken from the front desk quickly fixed the issues, and provided us with a beautiful corner room on the executive level. The views from the room showcased superb perspective of the downtown area. Room was clean, comfortable, but did have some road noise overnight from the city (clock bells, sirens, horns). Abby from the house staff was quick to bring several chilled bottles of water and soda for us to recover from our trip. Corey from house staff brough us extra towels, toothbrushes, and extra soaps. Bathroom is larger than average, and provides ample space for getting ready. The breakfast in hotel restaurant offers an extensive selection and all the fixins. Omlets to order, waffles, bacon, sausage, eggs, potatoes, fruits, breads, cereals, yogurt, pastries, and cheeses. Beverages are equally expensive. Overall, this property is a reasonable choice when staying in the area.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank Joe7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is located in downtown Lancaster making it centrally located to many restaurants and shops.

Staff: very friendly and accommodating
Location: in the heart of downtown making restaurants and shops accessible by foot vs. needing a car
Property: very clean and modern; massive and caters to events, weddings and conferences
Room: large and equipped with mini fridge which is ideal for families; lovely views of the city.
Price: fair considering location and accommodations

We were only there for one night but would definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors provide great city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAYEYEDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is in the heart of downtown Lancaster, allowing guests to walk to local shops and restaurants. It's modern decor and clean rooms were very pleasant. The evening I was there, a DJ played great music in the bar area, which I enjoyed while relaxing on a lobby couch. People in Lancaster are extremely friendly, and this extends to the service within the hotel. The city was unexpectedly gentrified - with hip restaurants and boutiques, while the surrounding area is rural and agricultural. It was lovely to stroll around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5heartfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here over a weekend. It was a lovely stay. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The staff was friendly. Only complaint was the restaurant for breakfast the next morning. The service was a little slow. The food was good though.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisT77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Rooms are nice and clean. Its centrally located, just across the street from the great Central Market. The staff is very nice, very helpful. But I guarantee you that you will have trouble getting breakfast here. I stay at this hotel all the time and I cannot remember a time when I got good service for breakfast. Never enough servers/wait staff. Not sure why they can't crack the code on how to run this restaurant. The food is very good if you can get it. So, there are some nice coffee shops and breakfast places in the neighborhood, Commonwealth on Queen, etc. The bell captains will help you. Also, they charge a ridiculous fee for parking. Drop off your bags and park around the corner in a garage for half the price.

Room Tip: The higher up, the further away you are from the loud bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lydia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
998 reviews
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#16 of 40 in Lancaster
596 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#20 of 40 in Lancaster
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $165 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing