We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern amenities in historic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Modern amenities in historic setting”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Amidst the row houses and historic buildings, the Marriott Lancaster is an impressive structure in its own right. The 19-story building towers over Lancaster, and, at the same time, blends in with the surroundings. The entrance preserves the historic shell of an earlier generation, and then the main hotel emerges in the backdrop.

I received an enthusiastic greeting from the front desk associate. In fact, the check-in experience was so welcoming that one would think that the associate has a significant financial stake in the hotel. He recognized my platinum status and offered the welcome gift. He proactively apologized that the concierge lounge is not open on the weekends, and without missing a beat, handed over two breakfast coupons. Finally, he was pleased to inform me that they had upgraded me to corner room. While I’ve received similar benefits at other Marriott properties, the associated delivered the information in an upbeat, amiable manner which made me feel like the hotel’s VIP.

Upon reaching the room, my wife noticed that there was a dirty glass at the doorstep. The key didn’t work, and she returned to the front desk. The associate awarded us a different corner room and offered that if we weren’t satisfied with the view, we could change again. Minutes after settling into the new room, another hotel associate stopped by to check on us. It was evident that this hotel takes pride in a superior customer experience, and I haven’t encountered this level of follow-up at five-star hotels.

The room would easily fall into the top quartile of Marriott hotels and not just because it was a corner suite. The standard Marriott ensemble is in place – flat screen TV, large work space, white comforter and sheets, speaker phone, and adjustable reading lamps. The bathroom offers generous counter space. The towels are soft, fluffy, and plentiful. The shower temperature and pressure were just right. And the lineup of bathroom products was in place. The room décor was bright but not overbearing. There were a few signs of wear. Specifically, one of the walls showed extensive scratch marks. It looked like someone had taken a fine object and exerted frustration on the unassuming post. But this isn’t a functional or cleanliness issue – just evidence of use. The selling points for the corner room are greater ambient light and greater space. Regarding the former, there are windows on two sides which usher in a wave of natural light. Regarding the latter, there room is about 15% larger.

Outside the room, the leisure spaces are excellent. The fitness center seemed right for the hotel’s size, and the equipment was up-to-date. I was pleased to see sanitary wipes, a water station, and even fruit. My breakfast coupon gave me unrestricted access to the buffet. There were enough options to satisfy just about anyone’s taste – cereal, oatmeal, fruit, eggs, waffles, potatoes, and meats. There was also a made-to-order omelet station. The dinner menu was more limited than I expected. There were small plates and $32 entrees but nothing in between. If you’re looking for a burger or sandwich, the bar or room service are your best bets. And on the plus side, you can still get late night room service. I ordered a burger after 10pm.

Finally, parking is easy. A walkway connects the hotel to the parking garage. It’s covered but not enclosed. In essence, you won’t get wet, but you will feel the outdoor air. Self-parking costs $18. My rate did include parking, so take a look at the package options when you book.

In summary, the Marriott Lancaster offers modern amenities in an historic setting. If you’re looking to be near Penn Square and the town highlights, you’ll be pleased with the location. And you’ll be even more pleased with the hotel’s accommodations and service.

Pros:
• Superior customer experience not encountered at even five-star hotels
• Room in top quartile of Marriott properties
• Corner suite offers greater space and greater light
• Breakfast options enough to satisfy anyone’s taste

Cons:
• Few signs of wear in the room
• Limited dinner menu at restaurant

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and usher in a wave of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    349
    102
    25
    14
See reviews for
242
223
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice hotel. My room was clean and the lady who checked me in was nice. You have to pay for parking so keep that in mind, unless you have AAA. I had AAA so I didn't have to pay for parking when I selected the AAA package. My only complaint is I wish they had a room with extra Whirlpools for adults only. The one in the pool room is a joke and really small and if there are kids around (as in my case) it is not a relaxing environment at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for business. My room was clean and well laid out. Loved the small refrigerator. The staff was very nice. The restaurant and bar was very nice. Wifi was not free but worked well. Several restaurants and bars close by. The Lancaster Central Market across the street was a great place to shop for souvenirs and grab something to eat.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank txbellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful city and that you got the chance to spend some time at Central Market. As you may know, Central Market is the oldest, continuously-operated farmers' market in the United States and we are blessed to have this gem located just a stone's throw away from our front entrance. We look forward to serving you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Just stayed here one night but room was very clean and comfortable. The room was large enough for two people not to be crowded. The linens were clean and comfortable as was the mattress. The lighting was conducive to getting some work done. We also used the restaurant and were very happy with the breakfast buffet on Saturday morning. Check out was easy. Couldn't ask for more.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0peful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My son booked this hotel as his first solo trip to attend a conference. I was concerned that they would not be helpful to a college student on his own but from the time he spoke with the reservation agent until the time he checked out, everything was very nicely done. He got a conference rate so the hotel was very reasonably priced, as well as the parking. The self parking is a few minutes walk. The valet was very helpful in explaining where he should go to park and the difference. Check in was very polite and nice and helpful. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. There are a lot of small cafes and restaurants within easy walking distance. The hotel provided free coffee in the mornings but I am not sure if this was part of the conference or not, but it was much appreciated. He did not wind up eating at the hotel this trip but definitely would do so next time. When he checked out he lost the invoice so when we requested a new one to be emailed to us, they replied very quickly. I sent an email request to clarify the invoice and they replied immediately. Overall very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnNJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Marriott. We were there for a conference so price was very reasonable and parking was discounted. We did not eat at the hotel. The hotel is within waling distance of many restaurants and interesting historical sites. Unfortunately we were there on a Sunday and Monday when most shops were closed and many historical sites didn't open for tours until April. But still, the hotel is quite beautiful having incorporated the outside walls of a former department store and a historical home. As an added historical attraction, the home of Thaddeus Stevens and Lydia Hamilton Smith is next to the hotel/convention site - renovation of the property currently on hold.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you like conventions and families and lots of amateur dancers and people talking about religion at you in the elevator - hurry on over. Come pay 18.00 to self park only about two city blocks from the entrance or pay 31.00 per night for valet service and then you'll have a nice spot near the hotel bridge. The room is beautiful. The view is spectacular. But there are not fans or heat lamps in the bathroom where the hot and cold labels are worn off. WiFi is only a mere extra couple of dollars 14.95 per night - for your convenience. Everything is additional. How nice. The staff seem more concerned about their conferences and families travel for dance competitions and folks there to see whatever speaker is in the theater. I liked my room. I just wish I didn't have to hear children running up and down the hallways at all hours of the day and night - or riding the elevators with no parental chaperones. I've stayed here now and Lancaster Arts and Hilton Garden. The Hilton was the nicest but requires driving -taxi service is deplorable in Lancaster. Lancaster Arts has thin walls and a little bit of a walk from the town center - and pretentious in its way - but it has Free WiFI, Free Parking, Free Buffet and heat lamps/fans in the bathroom. I didn't hear any children running anywhere or conventioners or whatever you'd like to call them. So I think next trip I know where I'll be staying. If you like noise and to be charged for every last blip, then stay at the Marriott. Although the view - spectacular. So sad. It has such potential.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor away from any groups that might be staying in the hotel. Guests are very friend...
See more room tips
Green Features: They have many little signs asking you to re-use towels. I don't re-use towels. I'm sorry if I cost them the extra money to wash clean towels for the two nights I stayed, but they can just take it off my parking bill.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle R, Manager at Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square during your recent trip to our historic city. We sincerely appreciate your business and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay.

We are indeed fortunate to be able to offer our guests some of the most spectacular views of Lancaster City and are happy to hear you enjoyed them!

Our entire team is constantly striving to improve our guests’ experience and we welcome the opportunity to address any concerns directly. I can be reached at 717-239-1600.


Kind Regards,

Michelle Reynolds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 39 in Lancaster
939 reviews
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 39 in Lancaster
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing