We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Nice and surprisingly large hotel reasonably convenient to Franklin & Marshall. Was there over a long weekend so was very quiet in the hotel and in the area. Convenient attached parking garage (for a fee). Didn't get a chance to explore the neighborhood but looks like a number of nice restaurants and artsy boutiques in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGosivetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 862 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while attending a conference at the adjacent convention center. The hotel is perfectly located to explore down town Lancaster. There are many restaurants, bars and attractions within a few block radius. The staff at the hotel were all extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were large, clean and well furnished. The bathroom appeared to be almost brand new. The bed exceedingly comfortable. Great room 1236. There is a nice fitness center on the fifth floor as well as a decent pool area. We enjoyed drinks, apps and live music in the pleasant lounge area. The chicken wings were great, the drinks fairly priced, $6 for quality draught beer, and the service pleasant and accomodating. The self parking garage was adjacent to the hotel and will cost you about $15. Other parking options are limited.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrAccurateReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Located in the heart of Lancaster, near the excellent Central Market, the Marriott has a comfortable upscale feel to it. The service at the front desk was welcoming and the room, with a king bed, was spacious and clean. The bathroom toiletries were a cut above the usual hotel soaps. Only complaint was the shower drain was slow.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and heard absolutely no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank equinoxWashDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

First, this hotel is in a great location. Don't miss the market across the street, nor the eclectic stores further up Queen Street. We had a good experience in Lancaster, and the drive through the rural areas to reach the hotel was just as enjoyable.
The hotel is not a standout. It is a typical hotel with a surcharge for everything. A sputtering and small coffee maker that seemed to gasp for air as it pumped the water through itself. A hair dryer that sounded like it survived a five story fall to the ground. No refrigerator or microwave, not even a shower cap in the bathroom. Extra for the in room Internet, parking, and coffee. Not even a trash can in the common area to toss an old coffee cup - I guess they fear that only terrorists have a need for a trash can, or it costs too much to empty trash cans. We were somewhat relieved they hadn't yet found a way to charge for the air.
It was not the worse hotel we've ever stayed in, but not the best either. Therefore I rated it a "three."

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Traveled to Lancaster, PA to do some family history research. Didn't have a reservation at any hotel --- this hotel was suggested. I must say I was a bit skeptical as we were driving downtown Lancaster and had to go thru some rather "iffy" neighborhoods. But once we arrived at the Lancaster Marriott, we are totally won over!!! We were greeted by the bellman as soon as we drove up to the door. Ushered us to the reception desk where we were told there were rooms available --- given the AAA discount and another discount that gave us a free breakfast buffet and free parking. The customer service at this hotel is top of the line. Every employee greeted us with a smile and asked if they could help .. or was there anything else they could do. The front desk personnel helped us with ideas of where to do our library research (genealogy). The breakfast buffet was excellent --- everything from cereal and oatmeal to fruit .. to eggs/bacon/sausage/french toast/waffles, etc. The room was large with plenty of space -- safe in the closet; refrigerator; coffee maker. Nice office area in the room.

I can't stress enough how pampered you feel at this hotel. The customer service is extraordinary and the accommodations are wonderful. Do yourself a favor and stay at this hotel!!

Room Tip: We are on the 17th floor and truly enjoyed the view out the window. No noise noted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swocean7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Great place to stay. Centrally located in downtown Lancaster. Rooms, service, and the bar are outstanding. The restaurant is just ok..... So.... Apparently, I can't put in a short, quick review,... The trip advisor app is making me input 200 characters, minimum. I will add that I love the valet parking staff, the front desk staff, and the bartending service....... Atmosphere is great, too. Modern rooms, great beds and pillows....

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, and nicely situated in town. We stayed at the Lancaster Marriott during a sold out weekend, with a few weddings, etc. Even though they were busy, they made us feel very special. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, and in conversation, discovered that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. After that, we felt even more special when the hotel clerk threw in a few "extras" for our stay. I was not surprised by the parking charges, because most 'downtown' hotels charge for parking.
I didn't worry about internet charges because I have my own mifi. Most Marriott Hotels do not have complimentary wifi.
The rooms are spacious and clean and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are also nice. Pillows are ultra-comfortable.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster Marriott and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickytravelerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
965 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $166 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing