We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had an Amazing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel is beautiful, and nicely situated in town. We stayed at the Lancaster Marriott during a sold out weekend, with a few weddings, etc. Even though they were busy, they made us feel very special. The staff at the front desk were very friendly, and in conversation, discovered that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. After that, we felt even more special when the hotel clerk threw in a few "extras" for our stay. I was not surprised by the parking charges, because most 'downtown' hotels charge for parking.
I didn't worry about internet charges because I have my own mifi. Most Marriott Hotels do not have complimentary wifi.
The rooms are spacious and clean and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are also nice. Pillows are ultra-comfortable.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Lancaster Marriott and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PickytravelerCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 862 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for a very good price with government employee discount, so I can't complain about the price. It was a walk to parking garage,unless you chose valet parking, which we usually do not like to do. Internet was an increased cost of $12, so I chose not to get online. Parking would have been $18 per day for self park, but with government discount was only $5. Great deal!!! Unfortunately there was a concert right next door, Five Finger Death Punch, which let some pretty weird looking characters within the hotel. My husband rode down the elevator Monday morning with a man in a hoodie with a pretty beat up face. I suppose a casualty from the night before. There was a fight going on when we got there with police on horseback at the ready, which was pretty cool to see for this rural gal, but made my husband kind of nervous.

The room was everything you would expect from a Marriott. Not as nice as a J.W. Marriott, but close. We did not eat here or order room service, so I can't comment on other amenities. We did watch an in-room pay per view movie to kill a couple of hours at a cost of $18. (The Butler, with Oprah Winfrey, etc.). Total cost for this visit of 2 nights, with the movie, was around $250.00. We did not get out to walk around downtown, but did eat just down the street at Annie Baileys Irish Pub. Great Food.

Room Tip: Check the Marriott website directly and look for discounts. I tried AAA, but the government rate ble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakeloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had stayed there in Aug of 2013, We had two rooms although it was very crowded do to the fact that there was two weddings going on at the same time.The Bedding was excellent firm extra pillows The ac worked great also .Lavishly appointed Bathrooms with all things that you would need if staying overnight or for a few days as we did ! The gym downstairs was nice lots of cardio to do huge flat panel plus many smaller one's while you work your pounds off ! The indoor pool was nice although only 3 & 4 feet deep .We were there for FIRST FRIDAY, Which was very cool and feels like the Village /NYC vibe. Each first friday of each month year round.The Breakfest brunch was not as expected Wasn't worth the money, Tastier and cheaper at any local joint, Terrible food at such a classy Hotel. And the $30. per night Valet parking, OUCH !! I FEEL LIKE I'm in Boston Mass, or NYC 4 NIGHT $120, WITHOUT TIP FOR PARKING ONLY !! Had the parking been free for hotel guest that would make a world of difference .If self parked then $18.00 per night walk 1/2 block away. ?? Checkout priceline.com better than rack rate plus everything else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in August. Being that we were out and about most of the time this hotel was very accommodating. We were able to check in a bit earlier and get ready in time. The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Spent some time at the hotel bar after the wedding and had a great time. This hotel was not too far from Hershey park (about 45 minutes) so we were able to go there the next day. I would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rosemary513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice facility is nice location. Good facilities and great service. Very hospitable staff. Centrally located and adjacent to nice restaurants and bars. Local ghost tours in and around Penn Square. Nice spa, pool, and jacuzzi.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel itself is nice, with the same general Marriott experience. In fact, our 2 year old commented that it was the same as the Washington Marriott we stayed in earlier. But $18 + tax per day is way too much for parking in Lancaster, when almost any other hotel (granted, not in downtown) is free. The service (check-in, crib) was nice but not exceptional. For families, I'd probably go elsewhere, as this is geared toward business travelers (as might be expected).

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed on a Saturday with friends at the Marriott Penn Square to enjoy dinner and drinks in the market district. The hotel was beautiful and ideally situated. The hotel bar had a great crowd as well. Parking was a little salty, but otherwise a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
965 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $166 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing