We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel BUT... sketchy neighborhood!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel BUT... sketchy neighborhood!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I enjoyed 5 nights at this hotel with my husband and two young daughters (age 4 & 5). The pool area is lovely, the lobby is beautiful and rooms were very clean and included a little mini fridge. This hotel was a great value for what we paid and the ammenities offered. BUT.... beware of this neighborhood if you are traveling with children. We encountered many, many beggers. I have traveled with my children in and out of NYC and Philadelphia countless times and have never had the creepy feeling and experience we had in downtown Lancaster. (I work in downtown Newark, NJ so I am not some country bumpkin). Homeless people sleeping in the ATM outside and I was approached by several people pan handling when I was walking for coffee at 9am with my 5 year old. It was very uncomfortable. I would not stay in downtown again with my family I would opt for a hotel out near the parks. It is apparent that they are trying to create a hip downtown artsy vibe they are just not there yet if you are bringing children, I would stay again with just my husband and enjoy the hotel and a few of the area shops but this is not a "family" destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kmabutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    340
    94
    22
    14
See reviews for
234
213
34
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great location, beautiful hotel, but the pipes near our room were like a rattlesnake periodically during the night. Would have asked to move if I was by myself but kids were already settled & sleeping so had to suffer through it. I hate to ding them so much for one thing, but a good night's sleep is the main criteria for me...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtdidden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family stayed at the Marriott at Penn Square for our mini-getaway this week. The hotel is beautiful, and combines historical charm with modern amenities. We stayed in a corner room on the 16th floor, which had "executive double beds". Sadly, executive double apparently means extremely firm, narrow beds that my 9 and 13 year olds even felt too-close-for-comfort in. My husband ended up sleeping sitting up in the chair in the room! Realistically, the only people these beds are suitable for are those traveling alone, or not needing to share the bed- the rooms are plenty big, so the beds should be replaced!
Unfortunately on our first night (of two), my daughters got into bed only to feel that the sheets were grainy and sandy. We reported the condition to "at your service", and they informed the manager, who comped us breakfast the next morning and sent a housekeeper up to our room (she arrived with towels 1/2 hour later, but that was quickly straightened out).
The hotel staff were extremely friendly and responsive (especially Sam on the omelette station in the restaurant), and overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Lancaster itself is a city that seems in flux- super cool, hip artists community with great galleries and shops, but peppered in are what seem to be some downtrodden, down on their luck folks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbjimmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

As others have said this is one of those grand old downtown hotels with a large lobby and lots of staff, most of whom were helpful. The hotel is in good condition and everything worked in our room. Not sure why all the hotels now have HD LCD TVs and yet the feed is analog??? From my experience you pay for everything, parking, internet, breakfast at this type of hotel. My Google directions said south on Prince and left on Mifflin but, maybe I got this wrong, but I could not make a left since Mifflin was one way the other way! Anyway made a left on the next street, Vine and then left on Queen, the hotel is at King and Queen. There are lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. However, finding places for breakfast can sometimes be challenging. Would recommend Rachel's Cafe which is just a few blocks up on Queen, easy walk and a nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewnaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Well located hotel, great helpfull staff. Rooms are nice, amenities decent.
We had the corner room which does give you more space. They have just one restaurant in the hotel with a very small selective menu which does close by 10 pm on weekdays, so if you running late you have to go for room service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AshishV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware county, pa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here with a Travelzoo offer and in the end it was a great deal! When I bought the voucher, I had to buy the slightly more expensive voucher for the corner room because the $99 deal was sold out for the night I had chosen. But having a 3 yr old, it ended up being a great idea because the corner room offered more room and a great view, plus I didn't feel like we were disturbing others when she got a little rambunctious. The room was clean and spacious with 2 comfy beds. We did run out of toilet paper without extra supply by the next morning. We used the pool on the 5th floor which was nice. Check-in and check-out were super quick. My husband went down to the bar in the evening and said it was pretty full for a Sunday night. Parking was included in the voucher. We walked about a block or two away in the evening to grab dinner. There is a Rite-Aid very close by and several restaurants to choose from. Overall, it was great deal at a very nice place in a good location of downtown Lancaster (our first time from Philly!) Would do it again!

Room Tip: Corner room offers more space and windows. I would choose this type room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islandjumpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Uncomfortable beds. Requested a king but was told none available although booked several weeks prior to arrival. Two adults in very firm double bed induced lack of sleep. very stuffy and smelled like mildew. Charged $12.95 daily for wi-if, ugh. Not very customer friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort & Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#5 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hotel Lancaster
The Hotel Lancaster
#18 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lancaster (Amish Country)
6.1 mi away
Fulton Steamboat Inn
Fulton Steamboat Inn
#2 of 38 in Lancaster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#17 of 38 in Lancaster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Property: Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing