We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property - Dismal Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night in July. We arrived late and had a hard time finding someone to check us in. Further, the requests I had made earlier that day with the concierge were not honored or even acknowledged by the check in staff. The room was comfortable, quiet and nicely appointed. We were exhausted and had no problem sleeping. In the morning we had breakfast. The buffet was nice but the wait staff was also a bit fogged. They served me cold coffee, and then gave me the bill and said I just want you to know you can tip me. –Huh? Parking was a bit out of the way, and although the staff was iffy –at best – the hotel was beautiful and the downtown looked nice. We would’ve liked to stay another night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Windsor999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 875 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

This was the best hotel I stayed in while in PA. Fantastic historic building in the heart of Lancaster. Our room was huge, with amazing views of the city. We made the mistake of booking additional days at the Courtyard a few miles away, and the difference was night and day. Really wish we would have stayed here the whole time. An outstanding value overall. I would have expected our room to run about double what we paid for it. Highly recommended for anyone visiting Lancaster County.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erad73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

I can understand why someone visiting the beautiful, rural Amish area west of Philadelphia might want to stay in a charming bed and breakfast in the country. But for me, I like to hike and bike in the middle of nowhere, but then I like to come back at night to stay in the middle of somewhere.

For me, a perfect solution is to stay at the Lancaster Marriott in Penn Square. This being Lancaster there are no Ritz Carletons or Four Seasons, so this Marriott is the big dog, particularly in the heart of downtown. It is clean with gracious staff, good sized rooms and all of the Marriott amenites such as a business center, health club, spa, restaurant, bar etc. It is also a preferred business venue with a convention center for large events,as well as other somewhat smaller spaces for medium-sized conferences. At $99 per night as our conference rate, this is a fine value. The restaurant is really good for dinner and the breakfast buffet is plentiful and unlike so many buffets, the food is kept hot. There is a good omelet grill on the buffet line as well. The hotel is quite conscious of its historical location in this historic city. When it was built, instead of gutting the entire site, it actually incorporated the beaux art facade of the existing iconic Watt an Shand department store that had stood at the site prior to construction of the Marriott. And when I say "incorporated" I don't mean just one wall or one feature. This Marriot has the entire facade built around the outside of the hotel. So, you have the typical Marriott tower, but it looms behind and above the exterior beauty of Watt and Shand. Also pretty uniquely, the convention center portion incorporated on one side the facade of aniother old building known as the Montgomery House. It is really a little startling to be walking through this modern convention center and turn to see a real (Preserved, not "antiqued") facade of an entire old building pertruding into the hallway. And the excavation goes on. In a portion of the old wall, the hotel has dug out remnants of Thaddeus Stevens' (The famed abolitionist) former office. Shards of pottery and glass are already being arranged at the site, which according to Marriott officials will become the location of the Thaddeus Stevens Museum.

Lancaster City itself has very carefully preserved its rich heritage. The town was ever so briefly, the seat of the brand new United States Government and the non-Indian settlement dates back to the early to mid 1700s. I understand that before it was gentrified, Lancaster was a city in decline. But this neglect explains why so many historical houses and buildings never fell to the wrecking ball. The red brick colonial style houses are all over town. There is a distinctive central market that was built in bygone days and has functioned as such throughout this modern era. There are some examples still standing of the earliest houses built in Lancaster. Museums abound and there are plenty of great shops. museums restaurants and bars. There are also many art galleries and plenty of Amish lore and handicrafts.

When I was a young man (Long, long ago), my future wife and my friend Marty and I drove all the way from Boston just to wolf down the incredible breakfast Buffet at Millers out in the country away from Lancaster City. It was my first try at Shoo Fly Pie and Marty and I ate obscene amounts of tasty, rich comfort food. At my age, eating is no longer an Olympic event , but it was reassuring to see that Millers is still going strong, still winning awards and has been doling out that good fattening stuff continuously since 1929. Even if you are doing business take some time to sight-see in the country, take in the sights and good food of Lancaster and work it all off with some healthy recreational activity in one of the more scenic coutrysides in the Northeast.

Room Tip: High up is fine for a scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Walk out the front door and you are steps from Lancaster Central Market. Check out the website at http://www.centralmarketlancaster.com/ for the special hours. There are specialty shops and cute restaurants all within minutes from the hotel. We took the segway tour with Red Roses Segway which I highly recommend. Check them out at http://redrosesegway.com/.
The hotel itself has a beautiful lobby; our room was well appointed, very clean and the bedding was signature Marriott - so comfortable! Front desk - very friendly!! The hotel is wonderful for breakfast!! Great place for a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This Marriott is a great hotel. everything you normally expect and the icing on the cake: Location! Walking distance to everything. Restaurants, galleries, shopping, cool neighborhoods, and tons of history. They actually have great parking for a downtown hotel. Couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jvl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel has a great location as far as downtown sights and central for traveling to other parts of Lancaster. The Central Market is right there on the square and must see for great food. The check in went smooth and the room was great - comfortable beds, clean room and nice bathroom. Buffet breakfast is also a nice spread at $12.95 per person. Parking is expensive and internet costs as well. It seems geared for conventions and at night the bar is hopping. You need to use a room key in the elevator to access any room which we thought was a good idea. Stay there for a nice experience but be prepared to pay.

Room Tip: Ask for at least the 9th or 10th floor for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scwretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Its right in the center of town. Our room was nice and clean. The staff was very helpful. The only con was that we had to pay $16 a day for self parking.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneymooningDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lancaster hotels
2.2 mi away
Eden Resort and Suites, BW Premier Collection
0.8 mi away
Lancaster Arts Hotel
Lancaster Arts Hotel
#4 of 40 in Lancaster
984 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Lancaster
0.8 mi away
Cork Factory Hotel
Cork Factory Hotel
#18 of 40 in Lancaster
586 reviews
3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lancaster
Hampton Inn Lancaster
#5 of 40 in Lancaster
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square

Address: 25 S Queen St, Lancaster, PA 17603-3918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Lancaster
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lancaster
#9 Family Hotel in Lancaster
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lancaster
Price Range: $140 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic downtown Lancaster, the integrated Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square and Lancaster County Convention Center offers approachable grandeur and all the amenities discerning visitors expect. An exquisite combination of old and new architectural elements includes a 19th-Century Beaux Arts façade and breathtaking lobby with a city-block view down a magnificent interior street. All 299 luxurious guestrooms offer fantastic views, 37-inch LCD flat screen TVs, granite countertops, and deluxe pillow-top bedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lancaster Marriott at Penn Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Marriott At Penn Square Hotel Lancaster

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing