We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great historical gem.”
Review of Wheatland

Wheatland
Ranked #6 of 72 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Costumed guides conduct tours of the historic mansion of the 15th President of the United States, James Buchanan.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great historical gem.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I am so glad we finally visited. Both the museum and the house tour were very informative, and it is well worth the stop when in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kimgar61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    89
    17
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“James Buchanan's House Tour - Very Nice!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

In the past few years we have become very interested in American history, so when we heard that Wheatland was only a 10 minute drive from our B&B, we decided to visit and take the tour. Upon arriving at the visitor’s building and after we purchased our tickets, we were directed to view a brief (looped) video of President Buchanan’s life, which we all found very informative. After the video, we walked over to the house where we were greeted by our docent, Joyce, who was dressed in period clothing. Joyce was friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the home and James Buchanan’s life. She conducted us on a one hour tour and told us more about Wheatland and President Buchanan than any of us knew. The mansion is furnished and has been restored /maintained in beautiful condition with many of its original furnishings and artifacts. I only wish the tour had lasted longer and we could have seen more. We all enjoyed the tour of this home very much and found it well worth the $8.00 senior admission fee they charge. I recommend visiting Wheatland to anyone with an interest in our past presidents and American history. You should plan on spending about 2-21/2 hrs. there in order to see everything.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank juddann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great tour of James Buchanan's home”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were lucky to get a good tour guide the day we stopped. Apparently, they're not all that good, as my sister and her family went the next day, and the tour guide was not very good. Too bad, as it's an interesting place to visit. Give yourself about 2 hours. And it's only about 2 miles from downtown Lancaster.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank arabis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellendale, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good, informative tour”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For $10, the tour of the house was very good and the guide was very knowledgeable and informative. The house tour was approximately an hour and worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable but needs better signage on the road”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our 10 year old daughter is crazy about Presidential history and historic homes. We are lucky this gem is only an hour from our home in Wilmington. The house is beautifully restored and the period furniture is original to the house. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, she kept our daughter and two other little girls engaged and entertained. Of the homes we have toured this is one of the more extensive tours. You see just about every room in the house.

When traveling to get there, there is no signage to point you in the right direction. Use the directions from the website and be advised that the sign for "Presidential Avenue" is blocked by another sign, so trust your odometer and when it says 1 mile make the right. Then look for the sign that says "LancasterHistory.org" That is where you go in to get the tickets and tour for Wheatland.

The staff were very friendly and so helpful in answering lots of questions from a very inquisitive husband and daughter!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ily911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatland also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Wheatland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing