We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just love this place a stop on your president tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wheatland

Wheatland
Ranked #6 of 71 things to do in Lancaster
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Costumed guides conduct tours of the historic mansion of the 15th President of the United States, James Buchanan.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just love this place a stop on your president tour”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wheatland is a really neat house to see the have been doing some great events here.

Helpful?
1 Thank TheHauckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    83
    17
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“President Buchanan”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The estate of President James Buchanan, the only president from Pennsylvania. Call for tour times. reservations are recommended

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice Presidential home to visit”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We visited Wheatland and enjoyed our visit at this Presidential home. The tour is long but informitive. We found it interesting there is a small piece of crystal in the stairway bannister to symbolize " the mortgage was paid off " There were a lot of small informitive items such as this one throughout the home. The gardens are small but nice. In my opinion they could to a lot more with this property to attract more visitors. Plan on spending about two hours here.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank murphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable slice of history”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I live about an hour from Lancaster and go there often for a nice day trip getaway. I hate to admit I never knew Wheatland was there! Found it online accidentally and went to visit this past weekend. While it isn't a full day destination, it was a very enjoyable 1 1/2 - 2 hour stop. Lovely grounds, an interesting short film with info about the period, and a one-hour tour of the main house. I knew nothing about James Buchanan but the guide really made him (and his family) come alive.
If you go to the Lancaster area, there are a LOT of Amish and Amish-themed attractions. This is something totally different to round out your visit. I would highly recommend.
However - 2 downsides - they had classic rock 70's music playing in the little gift shop/museum which detracted from the feeling of the period, and, as another commenter said, the attendant at the gift shop talked loudly with another customer while the film was playing, which was very distracting. I read that comment and wondered why someone would bother to mention it, but the exact same thing happened to us, and it really was a problem. They definitely should correct those two things and it would make it a more enjoyable experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank AmyK41129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Home honors often forgotten President”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Wheatland is the well maintained home of President Buchanan. I must admit I knew NOTHING about him before our visit. The home is furnished with the original furnishings. The museum/bookstore has some nice displays telling about his life. Our tour guide was the sweetest lady and very knowledgeable. I wish she would have told us more about his life than the furnishings. Overall, well worth the visit. Our 3 teenagers were able to stay interested for the one hour tour and our tour guide worked to keep them engaged.

Tours are given on the hour, so we had to wait a while for the next tour. They show a movie at ten til the hour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank AdventuresinOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatland also viewed

Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 
Lancaster, Lancaster County
Lancaster, Lancaster County
 

Been to Wheatland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing